We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Club Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portofino Club Restaurant
Angel Severo Cabral, No. 3, Ens. Julieta, Longboat Key, FL 809
8096218245
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We choose this restaurant after a recommendation by the concierge at our resort (we are staying at the Longboat Key Club). After reading the so-so reviews, we were a bit wary. Nonetheless, we are from a land-locked state and wanted to eat somewhere with a view. It was a rainy evening so we chose to sit inside. Our reservation was for 5:30 and we requested and got a window seat.

The views from inside the restaurant are limited even sitting directly at a window. Nonetheless, we were able to enjoy a nice view of the marina.

Initially, because of the mediocre reviews we planned on wine and appetizers only. However, upon review of the menu, decided on two entrees. I ordered the risotto ($25) with scallops and shrimp requesting shrimp only; and my husband went with the pasta bolognese ($19), we split a caprese salad and the bread pudding for dessert.

The salad was split onto two plates for us and there were two tomato slices with fresh buffalo mozzarella and basil for each of us. There were some fresh greens on the side and a lovely balsamic vinaigrette. The bread basket appeared average until we dug to the bottom and found some incredible sun dried tomato/basil bread that was absolutely to-die-for.

The risotto came as I ordered, with 5 very large shrimp atop. The risotto was cooked perfectly with a slight lemon but mostly cheesy flavor (I did opt for a sprinkle of Parmesan). The quantity was just right and because of the size of the shrimp, fish-to-rice ratio was perfect.

My husband's pasta came with tagliatelle pasta (wide noodles) and an ample amount of meat sauce. He said it was "good", "not too tomato-ey", a nice hint of oregano - a unique flavor profile. The quantity, like my dish, was just right.

We ordered the house red wine by the glass which was a very nice Sangiovese for $8 a piece.

We settled on the bread pudding dessert ($6) which was a delicious apple-pie-like concoction with ice cream and a caramel drizzle. There wasn't much ice cream and when requested, we were provided with another scope without charge.

Overall, the meal was very good. We go there again if in the area but would wait for a nicer day so we could sit outside. After our meal we walked around the exterior of the restaurant and the outside seating was lovely. I recommend choosing an early seating. The restaurant filled quickly around 6:30pm. Our service was excellent. We didn't have wait for a server or our order any more or less than any other restaurant (I saw this was a complaint in previous reviews).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
B, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Only ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We sat at the bar as we usually do. The bartender prefers to wait on those that are regulars or owners in the resort. The menu is limited. Pizzas are probably the best bet. Appetizers are good too. Too bad they add the gratuity, "mr I'm so wonderful" didn't necessarily deserve what he got.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Have been here several years and found it consistently good.
Was surprised to read a previous review of poor service - we were there last night, it was very busy, yet our service was excellent and all the servers were bustling about and taking care of their tables!
We shared the calamari - very good indeed - very light tempura batter and highly tasty!
We both had the shrimp and scallop risotto, which was delicious but more than a little on the short side! 2 shrimp and 2 scallops on a short bed of lemon flavoured rice for $26 was a bit of a surprise, but it was very good, the little of it there was!
I had the semi freddo which was nice but was too frozen, and we both had coffee, which was OK at best.
Good wine list with prices for everyone and the Montepulciano we had was very nice.
Service, as I said earlier, was excellent throughout.
This is a nice restaurant, with a couple of little niggles for us, but not enough to stop us going back again!
Well worth trying it out!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“Just Black & White”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Never had anything quite like this one. The food was great and the service was abysmal. People exaggerate, but after we were seated and given table water, it was 19 minutes until our drink order was taken - 14 minutes before drink service, and 15 minutes before meal orders were taken. Our waiter could not give us the slightest info about the wine list and so we called in the maître d which resulted in the wine delay. Another curious aspect of this restaurant is that there are several staff (hesitate to say wait staff) whose only function seems to be glad-handing and back-slapping the regulars - most of whom live in the resort and are a "captive audience." However, to give credit where due, our 5 meals (stuffed veal chop; filet mignon; cioppino; flounder and grouper) were nicely presented and well-received. Italian décor is also nice. But for goodness sakes, do not expect a well-paced experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The view was incredible - we sat outside and had a sunset view. The food was amazing and the staff was terrific. They were accommodating and so nice to the kids. Bring bug spray!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino Club Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Portofino Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Club Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.