We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sandpiper Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
central florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sandpiper Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed at the Sandpiper Inn in July. What a wonderful destination ! Our room #108 was absolutely perfect. We enjoyed a king size bed with a full kitchen and many extras. The television has a dvd player and the Inn offers free wi-fi. The room was very clean with tile throughout. In front of our room was a private patio with a beautiful fountain directly across from it. The fountain came alive each night with the sounds of many frogs - what sweet music ! The Sandpiper is located directly on the beach and what a wonderful beach it is.....very quiet and lovely. Beach chairs are provided. We parked our car and did not move it for our stay. Restaurants are within easy walking distance. This is a perfect spot for those looking for a quiet laid-back beach experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The place was like a trip back in time before condo's and high rise hotels took over. It was secluded and the grounds were beautiful. The place was very clean and well kept with beautiful flowers and waterfalls. The caretakers were great and helped us with all our local questions. The sunsets on the private beach were awesome. The inn had a safe, secure feeling and everyone there was so friendly as if we had known each other for years. We would surely recommend it and hope to go back soon. Val and T.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vals56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon in
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Thank you Mary Lou and Richard. You saved the day after we had been mistreated at the Hilton. This is the real retro Fla motel. Location 50ft from gulf. Not a resort but that's perfect trade off for the privacy and the Family feel. We loved the innkeepers and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breadamgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This was our first stay on Longboat Key, and we found the Sandpiper Inn ideal for our week-long vacation. It is intimate - only 10 units, - and very friendly. We got to know just about everybody else staying there. With no large resorts around, we had the long, lovely beach practically to ourselves. Great for relaxing, swimming, walking, and especially bird-watching. Amazing birds (and occasional dolphins). Units are cozy & comfortable. NOT elegant, but well-kept & clean. Located walking distance to some fine restaurants & shopping. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laidbackBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

stayed at Sandpiper Inn for the last 2 years and have just booked again for this summer. The grounds are beautiful and the gulf is fabulous, the beach is quiet, my son and i go shelling whilst my husband fishes, Richard and Mary Lou the managers are great and are so helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy - wish i was there now !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caihooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I am a repeat visitor to the Sandpiper Inn and I am outraged at the last review. The property is a beautiful, tropical oasis and the owners and managers take great care of the property. They recently put in new beds in all the units andI understand they are getting new furniture soon as well. There are many repeat visitors to the Inn and they want the "rules" because it makes it a quiet and safe property for all the guests to enjoy. Ther are always a few people that think they are above the others and don't respect or care for the rental property they visit. The guests usually meet each evening by the "cabana" and bring snacks and watch the sunset. Richard and Mary Lou even coordinated a group of visitors to go out for breakfast at a local restaurant while we were there this year and they always make everyone that wants to participate in the "social scene" at the Sandpiper feel Welcome! We always return every year and wish we could come more often. Sincerely, Sandpiper Lover

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachl0ver73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The liberal use of exclamation points following their posted rules should have been a clue. We have been there twice and actually like the place, although the rooms and furnishings are close to austere. What finished it for us this year was simply the attitude of the female innkeeper, Mary Lou. Seems that a coffee-spotted $1.00 dish towel was the most important issue for her during our $7000.00 stay. It was necessary for her to come to our room at 9PM to discuss very irritatingly how we were not keeping them clean enough and the spots forced her to throw them away. NOTE---this was at 9PM and over a couple of cheap dishtowels. Funny thing---she never came to us to ask how our visit was going. The reason for the 9PM visit, as she says, was that she works during the day---but, the very next night she was seen at the outside hut at 5:30PM. Sorry, Mary Lou, but your actions, over a few cheap dishtowels, cost you another $5 or $7,000 visit by us. Maybe you are more concerned by petty things than for making your customers visits relaxing---sure seems like it. I would recommend this place, but not as long as this attitude exists.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PittMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.9 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
13.6 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing