We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sandpiper Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
central florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sandpiper Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed at the Sandpiper Inn in July. What a wonderful destination ! Our room #108 was absolutely perfect. We enjoyed a king size bed with a full kitchen and many extras. The television has a dvd player and the Inn offers free wi-fi. The room was very clean with tile throughout. In front of our room was a private patio with a beautiful fountain directly across from it. The fountain came alive each night with the sounds of many frogs - what sweet music ! The Sandpiper is located directly on the beach and what a wonderful beach it is.....very quiet and lovely. Beach chairs are provided. We parked our car and did not move it for our stay. Restaurants are within easy walking distance. This is a perfect spot for those looking for a quiet laid-back beach experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The place was like a trip back in time before condo's and high rise hotels took over. It was secluded and the grounds were beautiful. The place was very clean and well kept with beautiful flowers and waterfalls. The caretakers were great and helped us with all our local questions. The sunsets on the private beach were awesome. The inn had a safe, secure feeling and everyone there was so friendly as if we had known each other for years. We would surely recommend it and hope to go back soon. Val and T.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon in
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010 via mobile

Thank you Mary Lou and Richard. You saved the day after we had been mistreated at the Hilton. This is the real retro Fla motel. Location 50ft from gulf. Not a resort but that's perfect trade off for the privacy and the Family feel. We loved the innkeepers and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This was our first stay on Longboat Key, and we found the Sandpiper Inn ideal for our week-long vacation. It is intimate - only 10 units, - and very friendly. We got to know just about everybody else staying there. With no large resorts around, we had the long, lovely beach practically to ourselves. Great for relaxing, swimming, walking, and especially bird-watching. Amazing birds (and occasional dolphins). Units are cozy & comfortable. NOT elegant, but well-kept & clean. Located walking distance to some fine restaurants & shopping. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

stayed at Sandpiper Inn for the last 2 years and have just booked again for this summer. The grounds are beautiful and the gulf is fabulous, the beach is quiet, my son and i go shelling whilst my husband fishes, Richard and Mary Lou the managers are great and are so helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy - wish i was there now !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I am a repeat visitor to the Sandpiper Inn and I am outraged at the last review. The property is a beautiful, tropical oasis and the owners and managers take great care of the property. They recently put in new beds in all the units andI understand they are getting new furniture soon as well. There are many repeat visitors to the Inn and they want the "rules" because it makes it a quiet and safe property for all the guests to enjoy. Ther are always a few people that think they are above the others and don't respect or care for the rental property they visit. The guests usually meet each evening by the "cabana" and bring snacks and watch the sunset. Richard and Mary Lou even coordinated a group of visitors to go out for breakfast at a local restaurant while we were there this year and they always make everyone that wants to participate in the "social scene" at the Sandpiper feel Welcome! We always return every year and wish we could come more often. Sincerely, Sandpiper Lover

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The liberal use of exclamation points following their posted rules should have been a clue. We have been there twice and actually like the place, although the rooms and furnishings are close to austere. What finished it for us this year was simply the attitude of the female innkeeper, Mary Lou. Seems that a coffee-spotted $1.00 dish towel was the most important issue for her during our $7000.00 stay. It was necessary for her to come to our room at 9PM to discuss very irritatingly how we were not keeping them clean enough and the spots forced her to throw them away. NOTE---this was at 9PM and over a couple of cheap dishtowels. Funny thing---she never came to us to ask how our visit was going. The reason for the 9PM visit, as she says, was that she works during the day---but, the very next night she was seen at the outside hut at 5:30PM. Sorry, Mary Lou, but your actions, over a few cheap dishtowels, cost you another $5 or $7,000 visit by us. Maybe you are more concerned by petty things than for making your customers visits relaxing---sure seems like it. I would recommend this place, but not as long as this attitude exists.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.