We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Beach Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Sandpiper Inn on Longboat Key. This was a wonderful location walking distance to three different restaurants. Only about 10 or so rooms here so it is very quiet and right on a beautiful beach. We would definitely stay here again. Reasonably priced for the area, understand that Longboat Key is not inexpensive, but it is very quite and beautiful and worth a little more for a "laid back" island visit. We had a room with a full kitchen, living area and a king bedroom. Everything was well appointed and we were very comfortable, even had a big screen TV if you happened to want to watch. Nice individual patios where you can sit and enjoy your morning coffee or an evening glass of wine. Beautiful beach with plenty of beach chairs, also a very small fresh water pool if you just wanted to cool off. I would recommend this Inn to anyone wanting a quiet place to get away.

Room Tip: I liked room 108 it was on the end close to the beach, but there are two rooms that actually face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights here to celebrate our 20th anniversary. W stayed in room 201 facing the ocean and loved it. Everything about the place made you feel at home. We also loved the fact that there was no smoking anywhere in the rooms or on the hotel grounds. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful, and relaxing escape from reality I highly advise staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Love this place. Right on the beach. Lush landscaping. Yes it has a very small pool....but we came for the beach. Nice & clean. We rented a 1 bedroom and it was perfect. Will bring the kids next time. Close to restaurants too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Loved our stay here. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. I was mistaken previously when I reviewed there was no hot water. The management was so pleasant. Very knowledgeable to be of service to attending to our needs. Thanks so much.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your stay. Harold & I are glad you got to relax at our awesome beach property in Longboat Key. We will continue the renovations to the rooms in September ( the less busy season) by adding flat screen HD TVs with Direct TV in the bedrooms. Hopefully we can also finish the restoration of the lobby so folks can have a little more room when they check in.
We hope to have you back soon.
Sunny Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
Longboat Key Florida
Life is always better @ the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We got here early and enjoyed the georgous quiet Beach. The grounds were so beautifully landscaped. Loved the tiny pool. Its just enough and very clean. Parking lot a bit tiny but they told us ahead of time. The room was so quaint and just perfect enough for the amount of time we stayed. Loved the loungers with the cushions we could drag to the beach. Lots of showers outside to cool and rinse off with. Loved the fountain and the little ceramic signage covering the grounds. The huge beds are comfy and inviting. The fully stocked kitchen really made it a pleasure to keep it nice. Loved the TV and AC was a blessing and very quiet too. The only thing is the showers did not have hot water and I would have also liked a small TV in the bedroom. Definetly definitely definitely coming back . The manager owner Harold was quite resourceful to and pleasant. Oh loved that small pets are welcomed too


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofallon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice small inn on the beachfront. It's more like a condo than an Inn. Rooms and premises are very pretty. Quiet and relaxing - no problems and owner on premises... Good restuarants nearby and Publix not far away. We stayed 5 nights and everything was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our 5th visit but the 1st with our kids, we stayed in 102, and they love the Sandpiper as much as we do. We love the no smoking anywhere policy and the beautiful landscaping. Always clean, quiet and relaxing! We look forward to our visit in August for our anniversary.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.