We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, small place with great beachfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Ofallon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, small place with great beachfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice small inn on the beachfront. It's more like a condo than an Inn. Rooms and premises are very pretty. Quiet and relaxing - no problems and owner on premises... Good restuarants nearby and Publix not far away. We stayed 5 nights and everything was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    21
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
36
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our 5th visit but the 1st with our kids, we stayed in 102, and they love the Sandpiper as much as we do. We love the no smoking anywhere policy and the beautiful landscaping. Always clean, quiet and relaxing! We look forward to our visit in August for our anniversary.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good Niche property for Quiet R & R , or Gulffront that offers 2-3 REAL sleeping Areas.
Individual Cooling Units & stocked Kitchenettes are a plus. NO Daily Maid service. Very Small plunge pool near front road entrance. Restaurants Nearby. the Circle @ Sarasota & Bradenton Beach are just a few miles away in opposite directions. Central Grill on Premises.

Room Tip: Their Website is decent with different rooms denoted by Room #'s & Rates ** Accurately** 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a fine and simple place that offers a pleasant contrast to the surrounding large sterile condos with pretentious names. The Sandpiper's attraction is its simplicity: one checks in and relaxes. The beach, with its wonderful birds, is yards away. The kitchen offers everything necessary for meals, and a massive supermarket is four miles away. The place is clean, and there are plenty of towels. If like me you don't like AC, the fans keep the air moving. This is a perfect place in which to relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just spent a wonderful two weeks here. We stayed in unit 108 on this visit which was our second and we look forward to many more holidays here. The setting is superb, right on a lovely beach. It's quiet and relaxing and you can just unwind and enjoy the views. I have to say that I think some of the negative comments are downright nasty and I totally disagree with them. The units are a good size, you have everything you need and they are very clean. Towels are changed as you require, beach towels are provided, other little things are provided too which you don't always get such as washing up and dishwasher liquid. Harold and Chris have done a great job here, we have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for your stay, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Harold & I truly appreciate your support of this wonderful "old Florida property". Again we would like to apologize for any inconvenience when replacing the mattresses lasts week. The delivery guys from Macy's were outstanding and kept the inconvenience to the absolute minimum on a fantastic beach day. We hope you had safe travels and we will see you soon.
Sunny regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key Florida
"Life is always better@ the beach"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is our second stay at Sandpiper Inn and couldn't be happier. I will review both stays one back in March 2014 and May 2014. Our first stay was in the studio unit 100 it was nicely remolded queen bed which was good but bed might be a bit soft for those with back issues. The room has a small kitchen no stove just a microwave, toaster oven and fridge. The bathroom is spacious with a shower. We liked the room for it had all we needed but the noises were a bit much. The bed is next to sliding door which needs to be replaced since its old and its somewhat loose so noises sip through it. Also one can hear road noise and other guest outside talking. Our second stay was in unit 107 also nicely remolded had full kitchen and a separate bedroom with a king bed which was ok comfort wise. Both units were clean and tidy. No noises this time since it has the separate room which sits toward back of unit. The only thing was the sheets were stained so we addressed owners and got us some other sheets and bathroom fan did not work so it got very steamy had to open bathroom window but it gets hot if its hot outside no a/c in bathroom. The beach is only a few yards away which is so nice and relaxing. The grounds are nicely kept. Owners Chris and Harold are very hospitable and try to accommodate your needs. There are some restaurants close by or one can bring your own groceries/food and cook in unit. Overall our experience has been a good one only some minor things but definitely recommend the Sandpiper Inn and will be back.

Room Tip: Units with One bedroom are quieter than the studio 100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your stays we do appreciate your business and your continued stays at the Sandpiper Inn. We have renovated this wonderful "old Florida property directly on the beach in Longboat Key Florida. But although we are completely upfront on our website we need to clarify a few items. First, we have a very small pool, it is basically a hot tub with chlorine . Next we do not do daily maid service, we will swap out towels, linens , (unfortunately we as well as our fantastic
cleaner missed a small stain on a bottom sheet which we replaced right away) & beach towels, but we will not make your bed or sweep. We upgraded the mattresses, the tile floors, all the appliances & kitchens and air conditioners , but only a few of the baths tubs were upgraded & they are not air conditioned , we did notice after your post that the new fan in the bath was was running slow so we replaced it.
The sliding glass doors have been here since the '60s and will probably out live us! If air conditioned baths, Hugh vanities , maid & room service are important to you we suggest you travel a few miles south to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota and pay the" Big bucks "for those services.
If you are looking for a pet friendly, low key, "old Florida , one story building directly on the Gulf of Mexico you have discovered our paradise !!
Life is Always Better At The Beach
Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn l
Longboat Key Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The gardens and beach setups were very nice. The rooms were remodeled nicely. However room 103 smelled very strongly of mildew. There were no other rooms available. I am allergic to mold. We would have left if we had not prepaid.

Room Tip: Don't take room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

Room 103 is a favorite of many of our long-term guests who come every March, and have booked already for March 2015! This is the first mention of a "mildew" odor since we completed the major renovations. Perhaps the damp weather we have had this season contributed to your sensitivity.

We would like to clarify that upon checking in, once you mentioned this condition to Harold,( the owner on site), he was willing to cancel your reservation with Expedia at no cancellation charge. Since we were full, you could have left and received a full refund.
Harold assumed that you were enjoying your stay on our beautiful beach, since you never mentioned the strong smell again even at checkout.

Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Innkeeper/Owner Sandpiper Inn
Longboat Key, Florida
"Life is Always Better @ the Beach"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.