We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Old Florida Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Old Florida Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is our second stay at Sandpiper Inn and couldn't be happier. I will review both stays one back in March 2014 and May 2014. Our first stay was in the studio unit 100 it was nicely remolded queen bed which was good but bed might be a bit soft for those with back issues. The room has a small kitchen no stove just a microwave, toaster oven and fridge. The bathroom is spacious with a shower. We liked the room for it had all we needed but the noises were a bit much. The bed is next to sliding door which needs to be replaced since its old and its somewhat loose so noises sip through it. Also one can hear road noise and other guest outside talking. Our second stay was in unit 107 also nicely remolded had full kitchen and a separate bedroom with a king bed which was ok comfort wise. Both units were clean and tidy. No noises this time since it has the separate room which sits toward back of unit. The only thing was the sheets were stained so we addressed owners and got us some other sheets and bathroom fan did not work so it got very steamy had to open bathroom window but it gets hot if its hot outside no a/c in bathroom. The beach is only a few yards away which is so nice and relaxing. The grounds are nicely kept. Owners Chris and Harold are very hospitable and try to accommodate your needs. There are some restaurants close by or one can bring your own groceries/food and cook in unit. Overall our experience has been a good one only some minor things but definitely recommend the Sandpiper Inn and will be back.

Room Tip: Units with One bedroom are quieter than the studio 100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your stays we do appreciate your business and your continued stays at the Sandpiper Inn. We have renovated this wonderful "old Florida property directly on the beach in Longboat Key Florida. But although we are completely upfront on our website we need to clarify a few items. First, we have a very small pool, it is basically a hot tub with chlorine . Next we do not do daily maid service, we will swap out towels, linens , (unfortunately we as well as our fantastic
cleaner missed a small stain on a bottom sheet which we replaced right away) & beach towels, but we will not make your bed or sweep. We upgraded the mattresses, the tile floors, all the appliances & kitchens and air conditioners , but only a few of the baths tubs were upgraded & they are not air conditioned , we did notice after your post that the new fan in the bath was was running slow so we replaced it.
The sliding glass doors have been here since the '60s and will probably out live us! If air conditioned baths, Hugh vanities , maid & room service are important to you we suggest you travel a few miles south to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota and pay the" Big bucks "for those services.
If you are looking for a pet friendly, low key, "old Florida , one story building directly on the Gulf of Mexico you have discovered our paradise !!
Life is Always Better At The Beach
Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn l
Longboat Key Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    21
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
36
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The gardens and beach setups were very nice. The rooms were remodeled nicely. However room 103 smelled very strongly of mildew. There were no other rooms available. I am allergic to mold. We would have left if we had not prepaid.

Room Tip: Don't take room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

Room 103 is a favorite of many of our long-term guests who come every March, and have booked already for March 2015! This is the first mention of a "mildew" odor since we completed the major renovations. Perhaps the damp weather we have had this season contributed to your sensitivity.

We would like to clarify that upon checking in, once you mentioned this condition to Harold,( the owner on site), he was willing to cancel your reservation with Expedia at no cancellation charge. Since we were full, you could have left and received a full refund.
Harold assumed that you were enjoying your stay on our beautiful beach, since you never mentioned the strong smell again even at checkout.

Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Innkeeper/Owner Sandpiper Inn
Longboat Key, Florida
"Life is Always Better @ the Beach"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
43402
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I got married at Sandpiper, 4 yrs ago December. We had a small private ceremony at sunset on the beach. Its was an experience I'll never forget. The owners and office staff were wonderful, allowing us the opportunity for our marriage. We stayed in room 201, right on the beach. When my wife walked from the room to the heart that I made in the sand, it was a jaw dropping experience. Sandpiper is probably the best kept secret on Longboat. Its intimate, very private, and the beach is FL's finest. Convenient to St Armand's Circle, Publix, and anything else you would need, Sandpiper offers one of the finest offerings anywhere in Florida.

Room Tip: Room 200 or 201 face the beach and are the closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

After seeing previous reviews, we anticipated an outdated facility that would be just barely acceptable. At first glance, that seemed to be the case, but we quickly realized there were many, positive changes over the past few years. The heating/air conditioning is exceptionally efficient and quiet, the kitchen appliances are new, the TVs are new, the beach lounges provided are plentiful and comfortable, and it is clear that the innkeepers are continuing to make significant improvements to the property while working to retain some 'old Florida' charm. This is the place you want to be if you're looking for a beachfront location, a sandy path to the waves, and innkeepers who are pleasant, helpful, and exceptionally knowledgeable about the area, the birds, attractions, and so on. The rooms may not be luxurious, but they are very clean and well-equipped. Our bathroom was quite small but we had a large, walk-in closet. The inn is in a great location, with two or three very good eating places near by and a bus/trolley stop almost at the front door.

Room Tip: A lot of variety in the rooms. Talk with the innkeepers about your needs, but this is a small place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Orlando and our son suggested we visit Longboat Key. We made a reservation here for an overnight stay. The entrance exudes the old Florida feeling and the room was extremely clean and well appointed. The units, each with their own patio, were picturesque. The short stroll to the ocean offered lush landscaping with flowers and a waterfall. The ocean with it's sugar sand and abundant shells extended in both directions for our walking pleasure. The sound of the surf was calming. We would love to stay here next year for a month, however it would be nice if the rates were more accommodating for monthly visits.
In short, I have an appreciation for the preservation of "old Florida" by the owners of this resort.
Marilyn Bennett

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your stay at the Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key. Harold & I truly appreciate your kind comments about the restoration/preservation of this wonderful "Old Florida" property directly on the Gulf of Mexico.

The Sandpiper Inn does give discounts the longer you stay with us. The nightly rate for staying 28+ days is 19% less than the single nightly rate, during this busy 3 month winter season (FEB,March, April), and 24% off for the rest of the year.

Unlike most properties we do not raise rates during holiday periods. In addition, we have "last minute booking" rates, (which you experienced), and a 5% Returning Guest Discount which you can enjoy on your next stay.

We are glad you had a pleasurable visit at our beautiful garden, Gulf Front property and relaxed on what I consider to be the Best Beach in North America.

Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida
"Life is Always Better @ The Beach"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Sandpiper is a nice quiet restful place. a stones throw from the beach. Owners were away when we were here for first part of visit, the innkeepers who were there could not have been kinder. Very comfortable and easy for beach. The split air units are new and are a bit confusing and hard to regulate for comfort, but we finally figured them out. Very nice overall. As I said, quiet, very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Christmas week. The positives were a fully equipped kitchen, Very quiet high tech air condinioning units. quiet location, miles of beach to walk on, good beach loungers with pads, lovely landscaping, and a great restaurant ( Lazy Lobster ) within walking distance. The negatives were a bathroom that needed serious updating as there was no counter space ( a medicine cabinet would have helped.) The facility is NOT comprised of bungalows, but attached units like an old style motel. Bring your own paper towels and napkins as none are supplied. You might want to also bring your own toilet paper and tissues unless you are a fan of third world paper.

Room Tip: Two units directly face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

Previous Trip Advisor posts from both new and our vast Global returning guests have wonderful comments about our "Significant Improvements" to this "1960's Old Florida", non smoking, pet & family friendly motel, directly on the Gulf of Mexico, which we saved from "extinction" in 2005.

10 of the 11 efficiency apartments have been renovated with new tile floors, kitchens, cabinets, king mattresses, flat screen TVs, sound proving walls, painting and best of all, energy efficient & extremely quiet air conditioners in the bedroom and living areas. ( the 11th unit will be completed by the end of the month, just in time for another visit from one of our long term, of over 20 years, friend/ guest ).

For the past 15 years, as Innkeepers, we have been totally & quietly committed to being "environmentally friendly" at all of our properties. This is why we have energy efficient air conditioners, washers & dryers, pool heaters and light bulbs. We recycle, provide cloth towels instead of paper, and use "Green by Design" facial and bath tissues (the same product I find when I stay at the Westin Hotel in Boston & New York City) .

We are glad you enjoyed our new & upgraded lounge chairs and were able to relax on one of the Best Beaches in North America!

Best Regards & Happy New Year
Christine Gorman Cullison
SANDPIPER INN LONGBOAT KEY, FLORIDA & SPRING LAKE, NJ
"Life is Always Better @ the BEACH"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.