We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite beach weekend destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite beach weekend destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We usually stay in Anna Maria for our long weekends and summer vacations, but for this trip we needed to be a little closer to Sarasota. Found Sandpiper Inn, and based on the great ratings, decided to give it a try. This is a wonderful little gem, and is now our new favorite place to stay! The room was super-clean, well-stocked, and the air conditioning was extremely quiet and cold. The unit also had the biggest, best quality TV of any beach rental I've ever seen (may not be important to everyone, but it WAS the first game of football season!). So close to the beach, and a very private beach at that. The lounge chairs provided on the beach were an extra-special treat, as were the fluffy beach towels the owner gave us at check-in. The only negative - and it's a small one - is that the pool is really small and needs a little attention. Again, not that important since the gulf is so close, but the kids like to play in the pool from time to time. Overall, a great weekend trip to Longboat, and we will return to the Sandpiper Inn next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongboatSandpiper, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the the Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida and that you were happy with our vast improvements to this "Old Forgotten Florida Gem", directly on the Gulf of Mexico! Yes, as we state on our website & brochures, the pool is very small, in fact, it is a hot tub with chlorine. However, in order to replace the pool, we would have to destroy our beautiful tropical gardens, not a good option in our, or our many long time returning guests, opinions.
Unfortunately, the pool has gotten a lot of attention and tons of money, since Harold & I purchased the property in 2005. We replaced the heater several times, it is hard to believe how salt and sand affects stuff! We most recently replaced the heater last year with an energy efficient natural gas heater. We have resurfaced the pool several times at a cost of thousands of dollars, yet the tiles and pool surface continues to show marks. The many "kids" of all ages continue to use the pool as it is very clean, despite the cosmetic defects.
As you state, how important is a pool when you get to spend quality time on one of the BEST BEACHES in North America!
Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will return soon.
Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key Florida & Spring Lake, New Jersey
"Life is Always Better @ the Beach"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    22
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
39
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is perfect! It is only one floor, 11 rooms, and steps from the Gulf! We practically had an entire stretch of the beach to ourselves! I went with my husband and 2 small children. It was easy to go back and forth from the beach to the room. There is a full kitchen and a brand new publix 4 miles away. The pool is very small, but it turned out to be perfect for our boys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

SandPiperInn: Pretty good place to stay, a lot better than a hotel room & It has wifi , a tv, & it has a living room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom so I give it a five star. ~~~~~~Review by JudgeFoody101~~~~~

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at The Sandpiper Inn again in April/May 2013. Wow! It's been transformed. The Mitsubishi Central Air was impressive; all appliances, furniture and beds were new, the grounds well maintained etc. We've been staying regularly at this location since 1973 and have missed about six years, give or take. The new owners (Harold & Christine) have done a lot to make a fine location better and they are still at it. Close to the surf, shops and fine dining. All we need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband found this hotel on Trip Advisor while looking for a weekend place on the beach.
We were so happy that not only was it like the pictures on this site, it totally surpassed everything we expected. Check in was quick and simple. We were shown to our room and the tv, fans, a/c and all explained to us. The rooms were very very clean. The grounds are fantastic. We used one of the 2 gas grills for dinner on two of the nights. There is an overabundance of places to sit and just relax by the pool, the room and the beach. A great place to watch the sunset with a glass of wine. The pool is small but not really needed as the beach is why we were there. There are places to eat and shop fairly close but I think next time we will stop on the way to stock up. The prices are a bit high on the island. There is a nice fishing pier a few miles away on Anna Maria Island along with a nice choice of restaurants and bars also. This hotel shows what can be done with a nice older hotel when updated and taken care of. We will definitely be back. Also while we were there, we noticed that there were all different age groups from small children to retired couples. Overall a good place to be.

Room Tip: The two rooms facing the beach had a sunset view but I don't think there is a bad room anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently stayed - again - at the Sandpiper Inn on Longboat Key. This place gets better and better with each passing year. The grounds are well kept - the ocean is right there - the beach is very quiet and gorgeous. We enjoyed the magificent sunsets each night. This motel has 11 bungalows all on the ground floor. Each bungalow is set up a little bit different and it adds to the flavor of "Old Florida". The owner is on site and is very helpful and personable. We always feel like home each time we return. The location is superb with restaurants and grocery stores close by. All in all, a very relaxing and very perfect getaway. We continue to highly recommend this bit of paradise on longboat Key !

Room Tip: Pick any room you wish - all are slightly different but wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A fantastic little motel/hotel. Spacious self catering rooms that are well equipped. Rooms are just steps from the private beach.

Good value and close to small shop, supermarket and small shopping parade.

An amazing beach with lots of wildlife!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.