We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

SandPiperInn: Pretty good place to stay, a lot better than a hotel room & It has wifi , a tv, & it has a living room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom so I give it a five star. ~~~~~~Review by JudgeFoody101~~~~~

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at The Sandpiper Inn again in April/May 2013. Wow! It's been transformed. The Mitsubishi Central Air was impressive; all appliances, furniture and beds were new, the grounds well maintained etc. We've been staying regularly at this location since 1973 and have missed about six years, give or take. The new owners (Harold & Christine) have done a lot to make a fine location better and they are still at it. Close to the surf, shops and fine dining. All we need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband found this hotel on Trip Advisor while looking for a weekend place on the beach.
We were so happy that not only was it like the pictures on this site, it totally surpassed everything we expected. Check in was quick and simple. We were shown to our room and the tv, fans, a/c and all explained to us. The rooms were very very clean. The grounds are fantastic. We used one of the 2 gas grills for dinner on two of the nights. There is an overabundance of places to sit and just relax by the pool, the room and the beach. A great place to watch the sunset with a glass of wine. The pool is small but not really needed as the beach is why we were there. There are places to eat and shop fairly close but I think next time we will stop on the way to stock up. The prices are a bit high on the island. There is a nice fishing pier a few miles away on Anna Maria Island along with a nice choice of restaurants and bars also. This hotel shows what can be done with a nice older hotel when updated and taken care of. We will definitely be back. Also while we were there, we noticed that there were all different age groups from small children to retired couples. Overall a good place to be.

Room Tip: The two rooms facing the beach had a sunset view but I don't think there is a bad room anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently stayed - again - at the Sandpiper Inn on Longboat Key. This place gets better and better with each passing year. The grounds are well kept - the ocean is right there - the beach is very quiet and gorgeous. We enjoyed the magificent sunsets each night. This motel has 11 bungalows all on the ground floor. Each bungalow is set up a little bit different and it adds to the flavor of "Old Florida". The owner is on site and is very helpful and personable. We always feel like home each time we return. The location is superb with restaurants and grocery stores close by. All in all, a very relaxing and very perfect getaway. We continue to highly recommend this bit of paradise on longboat Key !

Room Tip: Pick any room you wish - all are slightly different but wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A fantastic little motel/hotel. Spacious self catering rooms that are well equipped. Rooms are just steps from the private beach.

Good value and close to small shop, supermarket and small shopping parade.

An amazing beach with lots of wildlife!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great place to spend your beach vacation or a weekend. Innkeeper/owner lives on site and expeditiously meets your requests. Very clean apartment. Everything furnished. And you can take your dog! Wonderful place to relax at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pros - superb intimate inn with direct (private) gulf beach access. Excellent, clean rooms with full kitchens. And new appliances through out. Flat screen TVs and new living room furniture in a tropical design. Which also seems to be a different pattern in each "suite"

Outside you have your own umbrella and table with chairs for relaxing in and enjoying the gardens, as well as enjoying conversations with other guests if you so desire. There is a nice grilling area with two gas grills provided for use, as well as a covered picnic area close to the beach. The pool is nice and warm with plenty of seating for a small group of people.

We were thrilled with every aspect of our stay and Harold was extremely friendly and helpful. He even showed us the two bed room suite for when we plan on coming back this September.

It really shows how much effort and hard work Harold and Chris put into this inn to keep it so beautiful and special. Kudos

The cons - we had to leave waaaay before we wanted to on this trip. But..... We will be back and we will also be recommending this to all of our family and friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are special in their own way and unique. It is impossible to choose a bad room. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.