We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is an old time Florida motel, upgraded to be really comfortable today. The landscaping is a touch of Old Florida and the rooms have been updated with comfy couches and new air conditioners (non of the old window units.) It is does not have "luxury appointments" if that is what one desires. No regular maid service. It does have a fabulous beach (with beach towels and lawn chairs) and very friendly innkeepers. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 200 and 201 are roomy and have beachfront patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    17
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
35
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Sandpiper. It has a perfect location.... Right on the beach. The rooms are cozy and well done. They upgraded the rooms tremendously since our stay last year. Super quiet, intimate and clean. The beach is so deserted, clean and well maintained. The Sandpiper provides lounge chairs and towels for the beach that make it super easy and non- stressful. We only had to pull our cooler to the beach and in 5 minutes we were catching some rays! We live about an hour north in St. Petersburg, but the beach is by far the nicest on the west coast of Florida. The water is so clean you can see hundreds of fish swimming by your feet!
Close to everything. St. Armand's is a 15 min drive and there are several places to eat close by as we'll. We will return to the Sandpiper again and again. The price of the rooms are so very reasonable for what you get. We could stay pretty much anywhere we wanted, but we would never stay any place else!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The Sandpiper is not luxurious nor modern. However, it is very clean, seems to be very well run, and has wonderful, close, convenient access to the beach. The beaches of Siesta Key, Longboat Key and Anna Maria all seem to have an influx of seaweed in the water and all over the beaches right now but that is simply what you get at times in the Gulf.

We found our rooms to be very well-equipped and comfortable. There is a large sitting room in the one-bedroom unit with kitchen area that has a large refrigerator a stove and dishwasher, coffee maker, dining table. The bedroom and bath are not large but adequate and the king-size bed is very comfortable. The tile floors make it very appropriate for the beach and are easy to sweep out. The grounds are small but lovely and there is a semi-private seating area by your room, a bar-b-que area, small pool and outdoor pavilion.

It is a nice intimate setting amidst large condo units. We enjoyed our stay and felt we got a good price as it was near the end of the season.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose the Sandpiper Inn for its location right on the beach in Longboat Key for a beach vacation with our 11 year old twin grand daughters. Our original plan was to stay there for 3 days and then head to Sanibel for the rest of the week. The Sandpiper was so comfortable and relaxing and enjoyable that we ended up extending our stay for the entire week. Innkeeper Harold was very accommodating as we changed our reservations. The atmosphere was charming with just 11 rooms all just steps from the beach. Rooms were clean, kitchen well-equipped, AC quiet and worked great. No noise from neighboring rooms. Lots of beach chairs on the beautiful beach. Grounds were beautiful! Location was great with convenient access to several restaurants. We also found it a good central location for visiting all the beaches in the area... Anna Maria island, Coquina beach, Lido beach and Siesta Key Beach! We went to Mote Aquarium, kayaked with IKayak on Lido Key & parasailed with YOLO Adventures in Cortez. Shopped and ate at St Armands circle. Had a magical week and will definitely return to the Sandpiper Inn and recommend it to others who don't want a big resort feel. washer and dryer came in handy too! beach towels provided. Only thing you need to bring or buy is your own beach umbrella and plenty of sunscreen!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103 and 200. 200 is gulf front with exceptional views, but all rooms have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for the location and price but were very pleased with the accomodations and overall property. The one bedroom units are very functional and clean. As noted by others it appears they have been updated recently - very nice. We found the property to address all our needs - close to the beach, easy access, good value, and quiet. It was nice that beach towels chairs/chaise were provided as well. We would stay here again for sure. The only slight negative was the pool - very small and not very functional if that is a big requirement (wasn't for us).

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same except the two on the end that face the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We recently returned to the Sandpiper Inn and were surprised with what we found. Our old sleepy Inn had been transformed. The rooms have been redone and the difference is amazing ! New cabinets - new appliances - flat panel tv - it really turned out great. What drew us to this place originally has not changed. Awesome beach. Very quiet. Wonderful sunsets. Perfect location about halfway down Longboat Key. What a fabulous trip !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a wonderful weekend with my 2 daughters, After parking your car a convenient distance from this beach front, single story Inn, you follow a brick path through lush vegetation, shoulder high flowering plants and beautiful fountains with flowing water and statues. The charming Spanish style inn, was built in the 50's and is kept completely updated. The walkway goes past the 8 rooms, each with it's own small front porch, and furnished with the perfect chairs for relaxing and sun bathing. After the 1st day, I realized that the feeling of privacy and solitude is because the cars are not visible and they are not constantly moving about a parking lot. We had a 1 bedroom with a king bed, and a sofa in the living room which made into a queen bed, and we were very comfortable. The brick walkway ends at the private beach. I will return very soon with my husband. The best is the trip is only 1 1/2 hours from our home in Lakeland, Fl.

Room Tip: Room 100 is next to the office, but it is equally as quiet and beautiful. Room 108 is the last room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.