We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget your worries and stay in this old style beachfront hotel brought up to date!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Forget your worries and stay in this old style beachfront hotel brought up to date!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Felt homey from when we walked through the patio and into our room. Everything modern and clean! Lush vegetation gives you real privacy and no rat race touristy feeling here. Cell phone coverage is lacking in the room, but great on the beach. Why do I care? I'm coming back one day... after my sunburn heals. Enjoy this place guys.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was my husband's and my 2nd stay at this adorable and quaint seaside inn. We really enjoyed our stay here about 1-1/2 years ago and were so happy to return. It was even more wonderful than the first time! Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The beach - bright and beautiful. One afternoon we enjoyed watching a graceful (& confident) white egret slowly saunter down the walkway right outside our door!

This year, I found a great little gym in the shopping center right across the road from the hotel. (They have rates for one day, multiple days, or weeks, etc...). There is also a darling little diner just a few doors down from there. And, of course, the Publix down the road was easily-accessible. It was such a pleasure to be able to have a quiet dinner "at home" after a day of sight-seeing. Our room's kitchen was FULLY stocked with beautiful cups, plates, bowls, silverware, pots & pans, coffee machine, tea kettle, etc... (And, of course, a great little dishwasher!)

The owners are so lovely, approachable, personable, and helpful. They have a totally efficient "towel service" ... you just put your used towels/sheets in your hamper on a bench outside the owner's room, and your hamper appears mere moments later outside your room filled with freshly-cleaned items to replace them.

We highly recommend this "Little Jem" of an inn!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned this morning from the Sandpiper - very clean, neat,new fixtures in the washoom, plenty of hot water and good water pressure, new 'fridge, stove, air conditioners in both the living area and the bedroom - new wall coverings in all rooms, - a bit of a 'do-it-yourself' kind of place but I really appreciate that approach - perhaps many would not. Great bird life in the area - cranes landed in the garden about 10 feet away from our umbrella-topped table - splendid water feature in the garden. Miles of pure white beachs and excellent clear water - temperature warm close to the beach (where snook could be seen on a regular basis) and cooler as you approach the deeper blue and deeper water beyond. Lots of beach chairs are available and a very affable host; Harold. The Sandpiper has obviously recently completed major renovations and it is therefore, very comfortable. The bedrooms are small but very quiet. The rooms are very clean and the textured wall paints are the pastels whcih remind one of the 'old' coastline motels - shades of green and blues. You are asked to recycle all plastics and glass. You are asked to take out your own trash and to sort out out your linens and towels when you depart - not a problem - 'a nice touch', says I. There was a nice place to BBQ and a covered 'kiosk' hard by the shuffleboard court where groups of folks could eat. For those of you who have stayed in hostels in Europe the atmosphere here is very similar and very comfortable. For those of you who want isolation from a more DIY holiday this is not the place for you. I, for one, and my lovely spouse of several decades, will definitely return.

Room Tip: There are two facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

What a wonderful place to relax! We had such a enjoyable stay at the sandpiper! Every morning walked for two miles on the beach, and every evening watched one gorgeous sunset after another.Our room was very clean and private The other guest seemed to enjoy the easy going atmosphere that was all around us. The gardens and grounds were beautiful and well cared for. Sitting on the patio sipping on wine was a recipe for forgetting all you every day worries and puts you into such a good place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

A true beach vacation where you can kick back and relax, the Inn is tucked away with privacy and quiet gardens yet located right on the Gulf of Mexico. The beach is spectacular with amazing white sand and an abundance of beach chairs, it is only a short walk from the bungalows. There is also a cabana area for sunset viewing, and a pool area.
The accomodations were clean and offer everything you could need. A comfy bed and a kitchen area with all the necessities. We loved the private patio and grilling area for the nights you don't feel like eating out. It's not a stuffy hotel you can find anywhere, but clean towels, including beach towels and sheets are available whenever you want them, all you need do is ask. We live on Cape Cod and don't mind sandy toes, but if you do you can rinse your feet by the cabana. This was our first visit and we can't wait to go back to this island paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Sandpiper Inn is great if you are looking for a beach holiday with easy access to a beautiful sandy beach. Its clean and has all the amenities, big comfy bed, kitchen with cooker, fridge, freezer, dining table and chairs, sofa, tv and free internet access. Its peaceful and quiet and oh, did I meantion right on the beach!

You get a basket of towels which you then take to reception for the laundry to be done. The owners are friendly and the place itself very tranquil.

Its near to Lido Key and Sarasota with plenty of places to eat out if you so wish, rather than cooking in your suite.

A restfull and homely place to stay. If you are looking for somewhere plush, this isn't it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a great 10 day stay at Sandpiper Inn in June 2011. We stayed in Room 107. It was clean and we did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms, even though our neighbors brought two dogs with them. The inn is small but well kept, the grounds are very clean and while they do not offer maid service, which is really not surprising considering the prices, the office manager Harold did offer to change sheets and towels for us regularly. You also have the ability to do laundry there. He gave us beach towels and an umbrella, as well. The room itself is basically exactly like what it looks like on their web-site. It is not the Ritz so please do not judge it like one, but the room was definitely clean, the air conditioner was working well, the bed was large and comfy and everything was very, very close to the beach. The beach was absolutely great, long, mostly empty, with shallow waters at first and slightly deeper the farther you go in. The water is very clean and clear. Sandpiper Inn is located on a less busy end of the Loangboat Key. The area is very laid back and quiet. There is a large park basically across the street, which was very well maintained and beautiful. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, we liked the Haye Loft, a great dessert place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.