We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded location, quiet, clean inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Secluded location, quiet, clean inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a great 10 day stay at Sandpiper Inn in June 2011. We stayed in Room 107. It was clean and we did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms, even though our neighbors brought two dogs with them. The inn is small but well kept, the grounds are very clean and while they do not offer maid service, which is really not surprising considering the prices, the office manager Harold did offer to change sheets and towels for us regularly. You also have the ability to do laundry there. He gave us beach towels and an umbrella, as well. The room itself is basically exactly like what it looks like on their web-site. It is not the Ritz so please do not judge it like one, but the room was definitely clean, the air conditioner was working well, the bed was large and comfy and everything was very, very close to the beach. The beach was absolutely great, long, mostly empty, with shallow waters at first and slightly deeper the farther you go in. The water is very clean and clear. Sandpiper Inn is located on a less busy end of the Loangboat Key. The area is very laid back and quiet. There is a large park basically across the street, which was very well maintained and beautiful. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, we liked the Haye Loft, a great dessert place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    22
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
38
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
central florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a spectacular trip to the Sandpiper Inn on Longboat Key, Florida. This hotel is such a wonderful example of "Old Florida" . It consists of 11 bungalows directly on the Gulf of Mexico. We stayed in unit # 105 and it was perfect ! It is a 1 bedroom with kitchen and all the accessories. There is a barbaque area with table and gas grills. The real draw for us is the beach - amazing white sand and very quiet. Each day we would go to the beach and enjoy the beautiful waters of the Gulf. The units are so close to the beach that coolers are not necessary. Simply walk back to your unit and retreive your beverage. Once we arrived, we never moved our car. The shops at Sarasota are very close but we were looking for a relaxing vacation so the beach was it. Across the street are three very good restaurants and each night we would pick a different one. The owner/manager is always on site so if any issues arise - he is easily available. One of our favorite places to vacation !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I live in Stuart, ,FL and we took the trip across the state to Longboat Key not knowing what we were in for. What we found when we got to Sandpiper was the perfect little inn to spend our 2 year anniversary. It was steps from a beautiful beach that we enjoyed the entire weekend. We only stayed Saturday and Sunday night but wanted to stay more. The room was spacious for the two of us, bed was comfortable, and the room was as cold as we wanted it to be. When we arrived we were greeted by the former owners (the current owners were on vacation) and they told us about the little restaurants across the street which were pretty good. Downtown Sarasota is a quick drive and Siesta key is not far either. We definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My family and I traveled to the Sandpiper recently and I was Horrified at the lack of cleanliness; old, mismatched towels, and just the general condition.
Granted, the unit was small and we knew that going in but there is no air-conditioner in the bedroom and the bedroom doesn't cool down.
In the bathroom sink, water filled the basin - which then smelled foul - brushing teeth was a challenge, mildew was growing in the electrical sockets and the bathroom was positively stifling.
We actually opted to leave, rather than spend the week there and pay for a resort down the street - only being reimbursed a small portion of what we paid.
We were hoping for a bed and breakfast type facility but we really got a run down Motel 6.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongboatSandpiper, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
We do have an" Old Florida" building and we are working very hard to improve this 1960's property. However, our rooms and grounds, as commented by many trip advisor reviewers are very clean.
The Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key does offer a breakfast option at local restaurants, but unlike our property on the Jersey Shore, it is not a traditional B&B, since all of our rooms have full kitchens. Most certainly, it is not a Motel 6. We have beautiful Gulf front gardens on one of the best beaches in North America .
If you had advised us of a plumbing issue, we would have corrected that immediately. Instead, you misrepresented your reason for leaving. You told us your father was sick in Pennsylvania and you had to leave at 9am on President's Day.
We were required to offer substantial discounts to other guests, during a holiday week, after previously turning away folks. We never completely rented the room and lost revenue.
Most lodging establishments in "high season" would not have refunded any money, yet we refunded 45% of your payment, beacaue we felt compassion for your family illness!
"Life is Always Better at the Beach"
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
Longboat Key, FL & Spring Lake, NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I have to say this is a magical place to stay - we had a gulf front view out our window - what an amazing way to wake up each morning! Beautiful white sand path down to the beach - perfect! Chis and Harold are amazing - so kind and helpful! They take pristine care of this beautiful property! Anyone who needs to have a true vacation will find it here - thank you Chris and Harold for an amazing week!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This inn offers quaint, comfortable, and reasonably-priced accommodations. The innkeepers, MaryLou and Richard, are very warm and friendly. We were pleasantly suprised to be greeted with their big smiles and handshakes - we felt personally welcomed, as if they were welcoming us into their home. (Even their sweet cat came to meet us at their door!) The spacious kitchenette was fully stocked with glasses, plates, silverware ... even a tea kettle! The apartment was bright and colorfully decorated; the bedroom displayed a lovely, comfortable bedspread and matching curtains. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with charming embellishments. There is easy access to the Gulf and several restaurants are literally across the street. (We highly recommend Ciao, an excellent Italian bistro that provides super-friendly service and delicious dishes.) The only possible draw-back is that there is no complimentary maid service, but you can request for at an additional cost. All-in-all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend this to other budget-minded travelers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

returned from Sandpiper Inn 3 weeks ago, this was our 3rd year staying at Sandpiper Inn and once again it was fabulous. Richard had put us a little welcoming notice out which was a lovely touch. Stayed in a 2 bed apartment this time which was much better as our son is now 16, he used wifi alot and we were so glad that it was provided. Rooms lovely and clean as always, used the trolley bus by myself to go shopping at the circle whilst husband and son fished, had another wonderful time and glad to see Richard and Mary Lou again. Thank you and see you next year- dreaming of Longboat now were back at work and the English weather !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.