We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but would stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but would stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Booked online through Resort Quest. Found out later that a better deal may be had by going directly through Angel at TCI. Angel was very nice and gave us the name of a great restaurant - the Lazy Lobster. No complaints re: Resort Quest however. Very accomodating after the A/C in our first unit (303) was not functioning. Moved to 201 the next morning, which was actually nicer. Guests should note that check in (when booking through Resort Qwest) is not at TCI. Also, we stayed during the days that the elevators were being worked on, so the repairmen were always just outside our 201 door. A little noisy sometimes. However, thank you to the repairman who helped us with our luggage.
Re: #201 - lighting in the bedroom could be improved. No full length mirror and no CD player. Otherwise, very nice. TCI has well cared for grounds and is just steps from the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a wonderful condo. I will consider it a home away from home. we want to make this our place to get-away to often. It is move in ready as the condo has everything you could possibly need. #401 is immaculate, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The view is fantastic!! We have been to many resorts but the location, the view and all they had to offer made it a vacation to remember. We spent many hours on the beach sunning and on the balcony enjoying the view of great sunsets (fantastic breeze). I love the layout, you can be in the living room/kitchen and enjoy the beautiful view. The kitchen has it all, but if you don't feel like cooking, there are some very nice restaurants within 10 minutes. It was a great place, a great vacation. 401 is our new place away from home!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Turtle Crawl Inn (Unit 401) is the best furnished unit at this location. Everything is available for your stay away from home. The beach is at your doorway and the sunsets are beautiful. There is also a small swimming pool and laundry facilities. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longboat key
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is a rebuttal to the guest who stayed in 83 booked with Angel's Vacation Rentals I personally showed her the new room that she was to go into and she thought it was a great condo after about 3 days she came to me with her first and only complaint of a bad frying pan at that time I gave her a new set of frying pans no mention of a tea pot or cupboards or anything else just that the weather was cold . . She was given new towels not old stained towels at the towel exchange. The point is she did not complain( I took care of each and everything that she needed fresh towels, paper towels, toilet paper etc. ) until after she left and not during her stay as she could have been moved to another condo if she was unhappy for any reason as well as returning to 83 villa She wanted her money back after her complete stay and she was at home.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Spent 3 days in rm 83. Very nice and well looked after. Not the view we expected. Move to tower unit 304. At first glance is seemed ok with wonderful view of the gulf. After staying there 10 days we were so disgusted with the place we couldn't wait to leave. Our agent, Angel of Angels vacations was very accommodating at first but she laughed our concerns away. The unit is so below standards I'm not sure how they can rent it out. The cupboards are old,smelly and rotting. The kitchen is under equipped. We had to buy a tea kettle as theirs was so gross. The towels and facecloths were stained, so again I bought my own. The couch and chairs are old and well worn. Every piece of furniture was filthy. If you don't mind low standards this is the unit to rent. Angel now manages the Turtle Crawl, so I don't expect anything will change. I really enjoy Long Boat Key but this stay is making us reconsider our next visit there.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inatlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in the tower T401 and loved the condo. The view was great. The condo was clean and had everything you need. The owner was accomodating and happy to make our stay comfortable. The beach was excellent. Much wildlife to see. The condo is right down the road from St. Armands Circle, Mote Aquarium and many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This was our fourth year in a row at Turtle Crawl Inn for our anniversary. We have gotten very good at what makes for the best morning, afternoon & sunset drinks from our balcony and we bring that & plenty of stuff that makes our stay one to look forward to each year.
This year was unusual - the different companies that rent out the property were obviously running specials & where my husband & I may share the property with 2 -4 other couples we found ourselves with 10 - 12 couples & a few young families - mostly stay-cationers. The beachfront location is so close to the water, the sunsets are gorgeous (& if you get up early you can watch the sunrise over the intercoastal) and this year we watched dolphins play from our balcony & hiked down the beach to see cute little turtle tracks from the hatched out nests from the night before (record number of nests this year - what a great sign).
The condos are individually owned but seem to be mostly decorated by the same group - and they know the blinds are breaking and the beds are getting old so hopefully some of that will be updated for next year. Won't matter - we will be back next year! Thanx Wagner - you guys have always been great to deal with!
As for dining in the area we have a standing Friday night date with a Moveable Feast - but they moved to Holmes Beach this year so we tried Ciao Bella's pizza & salads - they really should either put crab (as listed) on their seafood pizza justifying the $20 or put Krab (like they served) and lower the price - needs work. Unfortunately, Siesta Key Oyster Bar has lowered their standards this year - oysters were tasteless, preshucked & served in melted ice - bad decision for an oyster bar. Fortunately our final regular stop, Cortez Kitchens was on par .... great entertainment, good food & typical Florida locals atmosphere. Please don't change! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.