We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Repeats” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
windsor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Repeats”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Spent 3 days in rm 83. Very nice and well looked after. Not the view we expected. Move to tower unit 304. At first glance is seemed ok with wonderful view of the gulf. After staying there 10 days we were so disgusted with the place we couldn't wait to leave. Our agent, Angel of Angels vacations was very accommodating at first but she laughed our concerns away. The unit is so below standards I'm not sure how they can rent it out. The cupboards are old,smelly and rotting. The kitchen is under equipped. We had to buy a tea kettle as theirs was so gross. The towels and facecloths were stained, so again I bought my own. The couch and chairs are old and well worn. Every piece of furniture was filthy. If you don't mind low standards this is the unit to rent. Angel now manages the Turtle Crawl, so I don't expect anything will change. I really enjoy Long Boat Key but this stay is making us reconsider our next visit there.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
32
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
inatlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in the tower T401 and loved the condo. The view was great. The condo was clean and had everything you need. The owner was accomodating and happy to make our stay comfortable. The beach was excellent. Much wildlife to see. The condo is right down the road from St. Armands Circle, Mote Aquarium and many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This was our fourth year in a row at Turtle Crawl Inn for our anniversary. We have gotten very good at what makes for the best morning, afternoon & sunset drinks from our balcony and we bring that & plenty of stuff that makes our stay one to look forward to each year.
This year was unusual - the different companies that rent out the property were obviously running specials & where my husband & I may share the property with 2 -4 other couples we found ourselves with 10 - 12 couples & a few young families - mostly stay-cationers. The beachfront location is so close to the water, the sunsets are gorgeous (& if you get up early you can watch the sunrise over the intercoastal) and this year we watched dolphins play from our balcony & hiked down the beach to see cute little turtle tracks from the hatched out nests from the night before (record number of nests this year - what a great sign).
The condos are individually owned but seem to be mostly decorated by the same group - and they know the blinds are breaking and the beds are getting old so hopefully some of that will be updated for next year. Won't matter - we will be back next year! Thanx Wagner - you guys have always been great to deal with!
As for dining in the area we have a standing Friday night date with a Moveable Feast - but they moved to Holmes Beach this year so we tried Ciao Bella's pizza & salads - they really should either put crab (as listed) on their seafood pizza justifying the $20 or put Krab (like they served) and lower the price - needs work. Unfortunately, Siesta Key Oyster Bar has lowered their standards this year - oysters were tasteless, preshucked & served in melted ice - bad decision for an oyster bar. Fortunately our final regular stop, Cortez Kitchens was on par .... great entertainment, good food & typical Florida locals atmosphere. Please don't change! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Nice enough place. We chose it via internet so I tried to temper my expectations. Had never been to Longboat Key before and it is lovely. This is one of the older places on the beach, surrounded by much more luxurious resorts and hotels, which were, I am sure, more expensive. We were traveling with young children so at least I didn't have to watch everything they touched. We were in a two bedroon villa (individual seperate house) with tons of windows, covered by vertical blinds that were all broken and off the tracks. That was sort of annoying, but the space as in square footage was very generous. The bathrooms were older. The king sized bed frame was broken. The door locks were all hinkey. A word to the wize: some of the villas have been remodeled. The one next to ours was like something from a magazine and we were paying the same price, so that was surprising. Much much nicer than the one we stayed in. Longboat Key is very low key. Everything -even the grocery store-closed by 9-10 pm except the 7-11, which is about 2 blocks from Turtle Crawl. Not a lot of eateries and not a lot of casual places that were good for the 7-10 year old crowd, but that was okay, we just went to the grocery store and cooked a lot. The grounds of this hotel are very compact, as in the buildings are close to the pool is close to the cabanas which you have to walk across to get to the beach. You will meet everyone there becasue you are sort of on top of each other the whole time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My family went to Longboat Key for a mini stay. We normally would have used our timeshare located there but decided to allow other family members to stay in it and we found somewhere else tostay. We choose the Turtle crawl inn because it was small and looked like a family place. It was definately that. Our room was a one bedroom condo on the ground level. Room 104/...the living room opened up to the patio which was located directly by the shuffle board and putting green. That was perfect for us..because my husband is a golfer and my oldest lil gilr loves to putt (she's 2). Anyway the beach was not far away which was perfect for us. The pool was small(only allow 9 people at a time)....but we didn't go to play in the pool...we go to visit the beach...so for us it didn't matter..the room itself was dated but was clean and well kept..we didn't need anything other than food and clothing...I would stay again. However this may not be the place to stay if you are looking for a HIgh Class romantic get away...very laid back, cozy place..we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Staying at the Turtle Crawl Inn was one of our best vacations yet. Everything we wanted to experience was located close by. The beach was absolutely fantastic. The whole family enjoyed swimming in perfect water temperatures, both in the ocean and in the hotel pool. Tina was a great help with advice on what to see in the area. We stayed in Unit #74. It was a perfect suite for a family of 5. The kitchen was great for making a quick meal. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The turtle crawl inn was the best beachfront resort my wife and I have ever visited. Tina at the front desk was friendly and very helpful. We stayed in room 501 oceanfront view. This room has a panoramic view of the ocean that is to die for. Every evening you can watch the sun set into the beautiful waters of the gulf of mexico. This island is every bit as pretty as Jamaica without having to worry about being hustled which is common practice in Jamaica. The beach is outstanding. The water is a vivid green color that mixes with blue the further you go out. We fished on the flying fish out of sarasota also had a great day with them. I highly recommend the turtle crawl it was worth every dollar. Thanks again tina!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Crawl Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.