We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We loved our stay at Turtle Crawl. Pool is small but we went at a slow time so not crowded. Great value for the price. Had everything we needed. Amazing restaurants nearby too. We will stay here again! Loved 504!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very peaceful resort, nice apartment and we'll manicured grounds. The kitchens were well stocked and their beach was secluded and beautiful! For an older resort they have done an excellent job of keeping it up. I will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monarch Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

For over 35 years, our Family has vacationed at this relaxing, pristine beach getaway on exclusive Longboat Key. While the owners and name of resort might have changed, you cannot beat the ideal location on the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico. Choose from the hi-rse, garden apartments or the charming, cozy bungalows. Lovely pool and fun shuffle board courts. Start your Family tradition by vacationing at a Turtle Crawl. A great value for a picture-perfect location.

Room Tip: For sunset views, choose the hi-rise. But every option is great. Put your toes in the sand and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hi,
Each unit is individually owned, but managed by a mgmt company.
You stop and get your keys at mgmt company-close by. They make arrangements if you arrive after hours. (we did).
We rented room 501. The best in my opinion. Its a top corner unit-with a SPECTACULAR view of the Ocean and the pool along the side.....with windows along the side. Nice.....Unit has blinds, a private balcony and is a 1 bedroom.(seperate) nice! 2 queen beds. BIG walk in storage closet, where there are 2 unbrellas and even a chair--which u won't need....as there are plenty of chairs at the beach, and since its basically a private beach, with no real property near it.....its literally a "slice of heaven". The unit has a nice kitchen area-(condo) and furniture is new and comfy...there are pots and pans and silverware and pitchers, and wine openers-hot pads--everything you could need at home is here! the fridge is a standard size. with freezer. wine glasses, dishes....sponge-dish soap----all there!! paper towels and toilet paper too!!! tvs in main room and bedroom-2 queen beds-dresser-lamps-etc.

**.the unit needs painting, which the mgmt company is aware of--its just this unit is ALWAYS rented, and painting requires down-time......and paint smell to go away, so they don't offend renters.......... but they are aware of it.........

On the property is a pool, smaller than a resort-but big enough. A great grill area with both charcoal and gas...tables and chairs to eat at-and a mini golf course and shuffleboard. The grounds are maintained 100%......Very nice place, plenty of free parking and even have a trolley stop right out front. you also have a CVS and a publix super market-2 miles away.
it is about 3 miles away from the "famous" circle (St. Armains) with plent of shopping and eatting!!
Highly recommend the restraunt "COLUMBIA 1905". They have been featured on the dining channel and numerous magazine articles. Famous for their 1905 salad-created at your table. Reservations at night are needed---open air seating, but amazingly cool. They have a amazing white sangria---yummmmmm and the black beans and rice--yum, and the ropa vieja (sp)-the best i've ever had! We had the cuban sandwich twice-----and I had a combo with the 1905 salad and cuban---YUM--i miss them already!!!

Another restraunt recommendation-is not in the circle, but you'll pass it on the way from condo to st armains on right....its called the Chart House---WOW....steaks run 30.00 each, and everything is ala carte, but WOW.--incrediable salad bar---for a price---8 with meal-17.00 by itself. ....the steaks ===are PERFECT! GREAT water view or sunset view.....reservations suggested, and if you have the mgmt company make the reservation for you---you get a free desert! (10.50 value)
I found that out at restraunt and it worked! Taught mgmt company something...lol


The Sunsets are SPECTACULAR..each one unique!....we did a sunset cruise---sweet:-)
picked up brochure in mgmt office. 28.00 pp

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view-but each room is individually owned, so read reports for specific rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for three nights in room 402. It was a one bedroom condo with two queen sized beds and a pullout couch. The bed next to the window in the bedroom is hard and not very comfortable, but the other one is. The bed linens are soft and comfy. The pullout bed is pretty uncomfortable, but most are. The bathroom is beautiful! Therre is a nice big shower, good water pressure and no problems with the water staying warm. There is no tub. The kitchen was fairly clean and had everything we needed. The balcony overlooks the tiny putting green, shuffleboard and the gulf. The private beach was never crowded. it was wonderful! The Inn provides lounge chairs on the beach and you can borrow beach umbrellas from the office. They will also give you up to one roll of toilet paper and one roll of paper towels a day. They are pretty serious about that! I tried to get two rolls because I'd forgotten to get some the day before and we were almost out. Angel would not give us an extra, so plan accordingly. The office closes at 5pm. The pool is small, but very nice. It was very clean and surrounded by pretty landscaping. The sand is course and greyish on the beach, but the water is breathtaking. We saw some dolphins and some really cool birds. I would definitely come back again! If you prefer a quiet, peaceful place over a crowded place with lots of action then this is the place for you! There is no restaurant on the premises, but there are a few in the plaza about a mille down the road. The Blue Dolphin was below mediocre, Thge Lazy Lobster was good. Take a few more minutes to drive to The Dry Dock Grille if you want fantastic food and views! It's right on the harbor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in unit 103 and loved it! The rooms were very clean, and the bathrooms and kitchen were well stocked. We loved to be able to walk right out to the patio and from there onto the beach.

Our one week stay was during the pre-Thanksgiving season and we had the place almost to ourselves. We had a wonderful time at the Turtle Crawl Resort and enjoyed walking up and down the beach, it was a little too cool for swimming, and visiting nearby restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely view and beach, kitchen fully stocked and plenty of linens. Advertised to sleep six, which would include using a pull-out couch in main room-couch is so bad it can't even be sat upon, the pull-out mattress was completely unusable. Bedroom windows did not open and the mildew stench was unbearable. I kept a candle burning whenever we were inside and awake but it really didn't help.
This served our purpose at a much lower rate than area hotels but I'm glad we were only there for four nights!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;