We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#204” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“#204”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely view and beach, kitchen fully stocked and plenty of linens. Advertised to sleep six, which would include using a pull-out couch in main room-couch is so bad it can't even be sat upon, the pull-out mattress was completely unusable. Bedroom windows did not open and the mildew stench was unbearable. I kept a candle burning whenever we were inside and awake but it really didn't help.
This served our purpose at a much lower rate than area hotels but I'm glad we were only there for four nights!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mainer
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Torn bet 3 or 4 stars, but went with 3 due to time we needed to spend cleaning unit before we felt comfortable settling in. Units are individually owned so condition & furnishings of each varies, but assume same cleaning service used for all. We rented first floor unit (101), for $320/night in season (incl taxes), and for this price expected unit to be clean. Units are not cleaned during your stay, only before and after.

Unit was in need of top to bottom deep cleaning. When we arrived tub was filthy with grimy ring , fan in bathroom was clogged with dust and grime, and cheap shower curtain (quality of dollar store variety) was moldy and had torn away in 3 different spots from holes for rings. When we asked about shower curtain, we were given a replacement, of the same dollar store quality (really, Walmart would refuse to carry these thin as paper, stick to your legs, rips easily variety).

Floors, although free of any sand, had not been cleaned well. The bottoms of our feet were dirty after walking around barefoot for only 20 minutes. Lamps in bedrm had thick coat of dust.

Worst part was that this experience cast suspicion on everything else in unit - were the dishes & silverware clean enough to use? No dishwasher, so did cleaning person do same slipshod job on silverware & dishes as on tub & floor? Have the sheets & towels been properly laundered?

Sliding glass doors were missing slats on blinds, no big deal if we were on higher level, but crucial for privacy in first floor unit with guests passing within feet of living room on abutting walkway to beach. Again easy, inexpensive fix (one of the missing slats was right in closet).

No blanket on beds & only one in closet (even tho bedrm had 2 beds), & that was ripped, so didn't use. Why would you even keep a torn blanket, esp in a unit that rents for over $300/night?

Microwave oven door was cracked in 2 places. TV in liv room is old box analog model, while one in bedroom is flat screen but tiny 15". But hey feel free to bring your vhs tapes to watch in vcr that's part of box tv! These days a basic flat screen digital tv is very inexpensive.

WiFi is free but we could only connect sporadically, not sure if this relates to wireless in condo, or the isp. Seemed to happen during times when more people would try to connect.

No screens on sliding doors & the bedrm window not operable, so no way to air out unit (bedrm had a musty smell even with sunny dry weather) or get fresh air.

Positives - and there are many, spacious, lots of storage in bedroom (walk in closet) & bathroom, bright liv rm/kit area, beach is steps away and goes on forever, ocean view from every unit in the bldg, tile floors throughout, foot shower near beach to rinse off, good water pressure in shower, kitchen well stocked with dishware, utensils, & mixing bowls, kitchen & liv rm furnishings had beach motif were attractive, comfortable and looked relatively new, walls throughout had been freshly painted, guest laundry with full size washer/dryer, HVAC worked great switching seamlessly bet heat & ac (yep we needed both), office staff nice & helpful.

Place has huge potential, with a thorough cleaning, and repair/replacement of items mentioned, all of which could be done for reasonable price within a day, this could easily become 4 or 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a brief 4-night vacation at the Turtle Crawl Inn and had a very nice time. Our room was not in the tower overlooking the beach but along the side of the parking lot in a "garden" suite. Seeing the beach would have been nice but we were very happy with our room. It was clean and well stocked with dishes and utensils. The appliances, including TVs, were all recently updated and everything worked fine. We enjoyed being steps from the beautiful beach in front of the Inn. At check-in we were given some suggestions on where to dine, shop, and find local groceries. Long Boat Key doesn't seem to be a place for nightlife or great excitement but there are many local restaurants and it's not far from Bradenton and the Spring Training baseball games, which was a major reason for our trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
putnam, Ct
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I like little inns on Longboat Key. The Turtle Crawl Inn fit my expectations until I walked out to the Lanai. It was filthy. And it wasn't because of a sudden storm. The desk didn't dispatch an available maid I later learned. I got $50 credit for that on my bill but the place still charged me 0ver $270.00 for one night. Sure, it was in season and a nice little beach with powdery sand was steps from my door, but c'mon. The tv was vintage 1975 with VCR capability. DVR? forget it. The key was an actual key that was hard to open and lock. It is a family place and people have been coming for years I guess, but this is the 21st century. Time to update a few things. I give them credit for a nice room and decent heat/cooling system but rooms should be prepared for guests. This one wasn't. This turtle won't be be crawling in there next year.

Room Tip: Makes no difference; beach is very close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location right on the beach with beautiful view. We stayed in unit 301 which was relatively clean but infested with tiny ants. No ice maker and limited kitchen tools. We hadn't planned to prepare many meals but with the ants we had to keep what food we had in the refrigerator or micro-wave. Walk-in closet seemed damp so we keep the door open and
most of our clothes on an extra bed. Bathroom is small and in need of an update. The exhaust fan only worked the first day and was very noisy. We didn't use the pool but it appeared nice and clean. Plenty of beachchairs and lounges available for guest.

Room Tip: choose 3rd floor or above for the best oceanfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile



Turtle Crawl Inn has it all! Perfect location, right on the beach, mid-key. Nice heated pool, beautifully landscaped grounds, friendly staff. We were in Tower unit 402, great for viewing incredible sunsets. The unit has been recently updated. Granite kitchen counters, stainless appliances, nice bath with large shower. Living/dining/kitchen space is large, roomy and sunny, very comfortable, well equiped for vacation cooking. Wonderful balcony.

Our only complaint was the bedroom. It was large, but contained a queen and a double bed. There was no room to move along one side of each bed, as one was too close to the wall and the other too close to the closet. Not good if you need to get up in the middle of the night. We tried moving things around but just couldn't clear enough room! Hubby and I ended up sleeping in separate beds after the first night - not exactly a romantic getaway! Most units have a similar arrangement.

We would love to return to Turtle Crawl if they would put only one bed in the bedroom! Otherwise we'll look elsewhere. Too bad, because this is a wonderful resort.





Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our time here. Stayed in Unit 102 right on the beach. Gulf Water was excellent, and warm... Also enjoyed pool. One bedroom condo was good. Could use some room darkening blinds in the bedroom, as light from outside by the elevator was bright at night and drapes did not block it out. Otherwise everything was sufficient. Desk people were very nice and helpful. Quiet at this time of year and we liked that. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.