We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Annapolis
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Needs a little TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location and view! Nice beach and pool, cute condo complex. Beds were ok. Wicker LR furniture: old and dirty. Pillows on balcony furniture filthy. Kitchen ok has utensils, plates etc. microwave and stove new. Fridge good. Had a DW you had to move and plug in, looked like no one used it, was a great counter. 4 chair dining table ok. Some beach stuff in closet. Bathroom needs a complete Reno. Light fixture couldn't be turned off. Rust/mold on fan vent. Old wallpaper. Tub needs resurfacing. Remove wood cabinet thing over toilet, place shelves. There is a linen closet in hall. Storage under sink. Bath light fixture had dust on it and wall by it, hubby tall to see it. We put comforter from closet in bedroom on LR couch, beach towels on chairs-to feel better. Great condo for 2 or 2 adults and 2 kids. 2 double beds in bedroom, closet doors off track, need repairs, safe small for phone, wallet or IPad but not laptop. In 302 wanted 504. Great place for kids. Beautiful island, ate well out. Close to Sarasota.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in 103 in early April. It was a very nice condo with room for all 3 of our boys. The youngest slept on the single in our room, the 2 older in the livingroom. I didn't really care that it had a pool, but changed my mind about that! The boys loved swimming it as the gulf was still pretty chilly. Was nice that it was set off the road and had grassy area for the boys to play. Didn't have to worry about them being too close to the road. Beautiful views and beach! Our last morning we had a crane standing in front of our patio for the longest time just staring at us. It was pretty cool!! My only complaints were that the bed was very hard. I didn't say anything to the staff so I didn't really give them a chance to correct this, but really what could they do about it? Also we wish we could pick this place up and move it to AMI! We love the casual vibe over there! Longboat Key is very quite, no little shops or ice cream places within walking distance. Also loved the soft white sand on AMI! Longboat Key is gray and not as soft. All in all it's still a paradice!! Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very clean and affordable this condo looks out onto the beach and beautiful gulf of Mexico. There were plenty of beach chairs to use, beautiful landscaped area. The pool may be small for some people but I found it to be clean and just the right size, besides you're there for the beach. There are two covered areas one that has multiple grills and tables and another with just tables to sit and look at the gulf waters. This property is very well kept inside and out. Thank you Angel and staff for making our trip a very enjoyable one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the RVA rental, room 204. Very clean and comfortable. Lots of extra linens. They have plenty of chairs onsite to use down at the beach. Multiple grills and two pavilions for cooking out while you stay. We had two issues. One, was that the wash off water from the beach to the deck areas was smelly unfiltered well water. Two, the pool area was small. Other than that, we had a great time and are always comfortable in RVA rentals.

Room Tip: RVA does not own all of the rooms at this hotel. We will always stay at RVA when visiting this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Affordable,right on the beach,clean.We stayed in #81- liked the layout of this 2 bedroom, expanded familyroom into glassed in porch with a good kitchen and a carport. There is a need for updating everything.I especially liked the location of our villa as it is a short walk to the beach and pool but remains private not being right on the amenities and having to deal with other guests. We were pleasantly surprised to have access to a grill which is a help to eating in.The covered areas are small so one family dominated when we were there but just an isolated situation. Staff was very helpful and responsive. I love that they do not allow people to reserve beach chairs. There were no problems with going to the beach; using a chair; then putting it back,simple and fair.

Room Tip: They fill up fast so make book your rooms early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This condo was the perfect place for our vacation. Thank you to the owner, Dave, Weiland who was very personable and helpful. This condo was the best as far as the comfort, views, the beach, and ocean. We only had to bring what we needed to wear, our toiletries, and sun block. We did not need to check any luggage--just had our carry-on bags. A few nights we grilled on the gas grills provided and didn't even have to leave the beach. The water looked like the Caribbean. We preferred this laid-back atmosphere on Longboat Key compared to some of the neighboring islands but loved exploring them. It was comforting to return "home" if we left the island. There are miles of beaches and public access areas where you can park your car or bike and explore. On our last day we saw a manatee at the far tip of the island which was our jewel for the day. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The views from this 4th floor condo were awesome. It was a corner unit, so we had views to up the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Oh wow, the Turtle Crawl Inn is such a find! The condo offered a walk-in closet, comfortable beds, and fresh linens. Overall, the condo was clean and decorated with a colorful beach motif. Full kitchen, utensils, cookware, everything you could possibly need. And if that's not enough, the view of the beach and the sound of the waves directly off your private balcony would make anyone smile from ear to ear. You are literally steps away from the beach and comfy lounge chairs were provided too! If you want to get out of the warm sunshine for awhile, there's a covered cabana with tables and a picnic area as well; right on the beach. The condo is conveniently located between St. Armands and Bradendon Beach; so terrific restaurants, awesome shopping, night life, and Publix are all within very close proximity. Angel and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.