We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and roomy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Athens, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and roomy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Angel Puckett of Angel's Vacation Rentals suggested we take a look at Turtle Crawl Inn Resort (turtlecrawlinnresort.com). This complex is located on the gulf side of the island and offers a variety of units. We had friends coming in for the week and needed an extra bedroom. We found the perfect unit for our stay - a stand alone house with two bedrooms, a large living room, dining room, a fully equipped kitchen and screened-in lanai. The heated swimming pool was about five steps out our back door. Just past the pool was a barbeque area with gas grills and a covered gazebo. The complex was lush and tropical with laundry facilities and also had a shuffleboard court. The beach area was just past the pool and set up with lounge chairs for relaxing all day and enjoying beautiful sunsets.
There is a brand new Publix located only a couple of miles from the resort. The island is very bicycle friendly and there are bicycle lanes the whole length of the island. There are several parks with trails for bicycling and hiking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dave, the owner of unit 401 has made certain his guests' experience is first rate. The unit is wonderfully decorated, has exceptionally nice furnishings as well as everything you need for a pleasant stay. The view of the Gulf spans the entire wall of the spacious living space ensuring great morning coffee time and spectacular sunsets. The owner is professional, accessible, and helpful. The unit is ideal for a couple looking for a nice get away in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Renting unit 401 ensures personal attention by the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a surprise present for my partner after a short business trip to a convention in Orlando. The hotel is just paradise, right on the beach and although the time of year was not the best (November), the days were still warm, despite dusk at 5.45. It was still warm enough to eat outdoors in the evening, a refreshing change from cold wet England!

The apartment was excellent, with a balcony and views over the Gulf of Mexico. It was relatively deserted at this time of year and one walk on the beach resulted in the finding of a very large and beautiful sea shell, the largest I've seen outside a tourist shop! Now proudly sitting on my girl friends coffee table.

A few minor grumps; the TV connection was not working, not normally a problem, but this was the week of the presidential election and a couple of the lights were difficult to understand to switch on.

Oh and this is true for all of the States; a kettle please! We English like a cup of tea and can't live on a diet of coffee!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were only here two days. We stayed in 503, and it has a great unobstructed view of the ocean. It was very windy, and the waters were rough due to Hurricane Sandy, so you didn't see many people on the beach or go to the beach. There were some minor issues when we moved in such as three of the four light bulbs in the chandelier over the table were burned out, and the coffee pot was left on since the last guests. However, Angel took care of any issues promptly. Immediately I got new bulbs and the maintenance man brought us a new coffee pot due to some issues with the old one. Also, parking was very convenient, there is an elevator, and there are two luggage carts which make getting to and from your condo very easy.

Be sure to eat at the Lazy Lobster for a meal, and they have an early bird menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a destination wedding in Bradenton Beach last year and my in-laws came in from Ireland and I had booked room 501 for them. I could tell from the pictures that the room would be nice and it definitely lived up to my expectations. They had their own lanai and amazing view of the Gulf Of Mexico. The room was very clean and comfortable. It's not a hotel atmosphere, which some people may expect. It is a condo type of place so there is a kitchen and you can cook your own food, which is really convenient, and great restaurants around if you choose to go out. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Longboat Key.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely hotel with a homely feel. Our apartment was very comfortable and had all the equipment in the kitchen that we needed. The balcony overlooked the beach - stunning.
We were lucky enough to attend a nest opening the day we arrived. Angel was great at giving us information.
The luggage trolley was very handy with all our stuff and there was plenty of room in the car park.
The location was ideal for Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a stay at this condo resort. We stayed in a one bed ground floor condo which had patio doors opening onto the garden which then led down to the beach. What a place. The condo was clean and had everything you could want, air con, tv's dishwasher, plenty of storage space etc etc only problem was sofa bed was very uncomfortable could do with a new one but this was compensated for by the location. What a location waking up in the morning and sitting on our patio watching the pelicans diving for fish as rays jump in the distance. spending the day on the beuatiful white sand and swimming in the shallow sea then watching the fantastic sunsets in the evening. Also there is a lovely swimming pool, shuffle board and putting golf to keep you entertained as well as a shared laundry room. (which we didn't use) This combined with the quiet upmarket but also layed back feel of longboat key made for a fantastic break. We hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Each condo is different read the descriptions carefully so you get what you want, all tower condos h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.