We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Crawl Inn great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Crawl Inn Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moline, IL
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Turtle Crawl Inn great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We just finished a relaxing three day stay at Turtle Crawl inn. It was lovely. We stayed in unit 503 and it was very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The beach was fabulous. This was a very quiet place, so don't expect great nightlife. It was perfect for a relaxing getaway. We found this place online, but did not book it. We drove there and got a much better deal in person with Angel. I would stay there again in a minute! The Dry Dock was by far the best place to eat for dinner. The Blue Dolphin was great for breakfast but you could share the meal and have plenty to eat! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
32
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My friend and I have stayed at the inn several times through the years. Each unit is privately owned. If you get a well maintained unit your stay will be lovely. We had been very satisfied in the past. This year I had a horrible experience. We stayed in unit 202.. The unit was extremely damp and as the days progressed I became very sick. I discovered black mold on the air conditioning vent above my bed. My friend checked the filter and it was disgusting. The next day we went to the office and Angel moved us to another room. I had to go to the doctor and was given an inhaler, antibiotics, Allegra and a decongestant. I wouldn't wish this experience on anyone. The unit we were moved to was very nice and well maintained.

My recommendation is to avoid unit 202. Before unpacking, check the air conditioning filters and check for mold.

Room Tip: Unit 202 should be avoided. The end units are the best. I was very pleased with unit 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulfofmexicotc, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I just want everyone to know that the guests first complaint was no DVD player in the TV the owner did purchase a new TV for the condo, the refridge was showing signs of age and the owner purchased a new refridge this did not arrive before they were moved. Guest please be aware that the air condition can not be set below 70 degrees as this will cause moisture in the condo's with opening and closing sliders and front doors and with start a mildew build up in the vents The air conditioning company was called immediately upon complaint of dirty air filter and arrived later that morning The best thing we could do was move the guest to a new condo as they were unhappy with the one that they got but you need to know that the owners are always quick to respond when something is needed. The guest were very gracious and were compensated for their trouble Our first priority is the guest we want them to be happy

Thank you to all who come to The Turtle Crawl Inn 941-383-3788 our front desk phone not to be confused with RVA phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We arrived early and room was ready. Everything was clean except the kitchen cabinets were sticky. The beds were very comfortable. The living room sofa was dirty (sun tan lotion and other oils deposited on the material) but we had brought extra beach towels and just covered it so we could lounge and watch the beach out the great windows. The only other downside was the excessive number of knick-knacks covering all horizontal surfaces along with lots of stuff hanging on the walls. It was like being in a local tourist gift shop.

But... The views and access to the beach ... Wonderful. We spent hours walking, shelling, and sitting in the beach chairs provided by the resort. There was a pool but we never used it.

We loved the Lazy Lobster for dinner. Great food and close by. We also found the Seafood Shack on the East side of Cortez bridge to be a great place to have cold, boiled shrimp and watch the boats come and go.

St Armand's Circle is a great place to shop and walk. They have some great eating places and art galleries with local artists.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here July 30 - August 1 as my husband's daughter was getting married on July 30 on Siesta Key beach. I would highly recommend staying here especially Unit 302. The view was great, everything was provided. Longboat Key is a quiet laidback beach for people who are looking for a relaxing getaway from crowds. We extended our "vacation" an additional day and had to move to Unit 403 for the final day. The latter Unit was nice but could use some updating. We definitely will recommend Turtle Crawl Inn to family and friends and even look forward to coming back to stay.

Room Tip: Unit 302 definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We rent a room in this condo in July 2011, I was afraid because the reviews were not so good, But now I can tell that TURTLE CRAWL INN is good , our room was good , very clean , we enjoyed our staying.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My family of 5 (children 12, 8, 6) enjoyed our stay in unit 301. Onl negatives: (1) our feet got a little dirty walking on floor (probably partly because of blacktop parking lot) and (2) toilet handle broke during the stay. Positives: (1) toilet was fixed the same day I reported the problem. (2). The beautiful beach. We were there 4 days. Days 1 and 4 the ocean was calm and like bathwater. At low tide the ocean is only knee deep for yards out. Days 2 and 3, the water was rougher and a little colder, but the kids enjoyed the waves. This is a hands off condo complex - the office is only open on business hours and there is no maid service -- but they do give you clean towels on request. Grounds are clean and beautiful. Npool is small but clean and pretty/functional. I would definitely return, for the price, if I return to Longboat Key. Longboat Key is a pretty sleepy place -- my kids may have gotten bored there much longer -- but it was a wonderful and relaxing trip. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

From balcony 302 the scene is postcard worthy.
A clean, comfortable condo except the
sofa-bed was not a good fit for adults.
This area is where old meets new, located
six miles from St Armands Circle you will find unique
shops and world class dining.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Crawl Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Crawl Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.