We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Condo!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Cabana Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabana Beach Club
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5851 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
houston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Condo!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

For a girl's long weekend, we stayed at Cabana Beach Club (Thanks VRBO!!). The condo was fantastic. It looked newly remodeled, the kitchen and appliances were in great shape. We were just a few miles from St. Armand shopping. The beach was quiet and we felt like we had an island to ourselves. The condo was clean, immaculate, with great wifi reception and tvs in living room and bedrooms. There is also a heated pool. We stayed at the beach, so we didn't dip our toes in the pool, but it looked really nice. We stayed in condo #3 and watched the dophins and pelicans every morning from the screened in porch facing the beach. It was absolutely perfect. And let me add, because this is always a plus for me. The beds were so comfortable - big pillows, great mattress!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Longboat Key for years for a long week-end in the Fall. Our family of 5 loves the beauty and quietness of the place.
Cabana Beach Club is one of our favorite place to stay at. Unit 7 is very spacious, clean and quiet. We have a view on the pool and the Gulf of Mexico, an outdoor patio and a large kitchen. There are grills and outdoor eating areas, which we use at lunch time. The landscape is beautiful and we have access to lounge beach chairs. Basically, all you need is a swimsuit and a towel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

For a family of 4 (with 2 school-age kids), this was an ideal spot. The unit is small, but nicely appointed with cheery colors (as shown in RVA photos online) and must have all been remodeled recently. It is directly in front of the pool (which seemed heated and was very well maintained, very clean, and with just a slight taste of salt and no apparent chlorine).

The unit's bath has only a shower (but it has plentiful hot water) and a sliding door, but was supplied with eight very good large towels, hand towels, and washcloths.

The bedroom has a AC/heating unit that we were grateful for because it was actually very cold at night for late March when we were there. The bed we found very comfortable with a firm mattress and abundant pillows (6). Our kids slept on the pull-out couch, which was also quite comfortable (indeed better than most pull-out couches I have slept on) and also had plenty of pillows (though it could have used one more blanket).

The unit has only two mental chairs and a small kitchen table, so when we ate there we pulled the two chairs up to the coffee table in front of the couch and easily sat everyone. The kitchen is limited to a micro-wave oven, toaster, and coffee maker, but with the propane grills just outside, we never had trouble grilling a full dinner.

All the units at Cabana Beach also have access to a common washer and 2 dryers (all free, not coin operated). You just need your own laundry soap .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Girls vacation and our first visit to Cabana and we stayed in Unit 4. Love the beach view even from indoors and the decor and layout was pleasant and roomy for what little time we spent indoors. Company did respond to any concerns and aimed to please. Dolphins were playing right off the beach three out of five mornings! King size bed was fine but twin beds were not acceptable even to the teenagers; but we used the pull out sofa instead. As I expect with any vacation property in the off season, exterior maintenance was being performed. Only complaint was pool temp was cool even though advertised as heated. Would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Better view from upstairs beachside units but be prepared for the 2 flight hike / no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Our one week stay at the Cabana Beach Resort on Longboat Key was pleasant enough and would have been quite better than that had it not been for the awful sleeping conditions. Unit 5 is small and unit 5 B is larger. We had expected that. They are both very close to the pool. We had expected that. They both are close to the beach. We had expected that. They were both clean. We had expected that. They were moderately outdated and spartanly equipped and offered terrible sleeping accomodations. We had NOT expected that. For one week, the units provided one roll of paper towells, two rolls of toilet paper, two dishrags, a nominal mish/mash of silverware, a handful of pots, pans, and skillets, incorrectly sized coffee filters, the thickest pillows you have ever seen in your life, and the worst mattresses you have even experienced in your life.

If your idea of relaxing on vacation included getting a decent night's sleep, don't consider Units 5 and 5B. The worst we have EVER experienced in 40+ years. Camping on an air mattress would have been an improvement.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Overall we were satisfied with Cabana Beach Club and Resort Quest but there were some minor issues which will be outlined below.

When we first walked into unit 12 we were very happy with what we saw. The unit had been renovated and was clean. Contrary to a review I read which said the front door was in the bedroom, ours was in the living room. The front door is in the back by the deck. It may seem strange but you have to go to the back of the building to access your front door. The back doors (patio doors) are facing the street and that may seem a bit weird but there is a dead bolt so we never felt unsafe at night (besides Longboat Key is very safe).

Contrary to another review which said there were only 2 parking spots and 1 handicap spot, there are now 3 parking spots and 1 handicap spot. Anyway, we parked right in front of our unit which was like coming home! No long walks from parking lot to your front door etc.

I loved the kitchen counter which was large and spacious and doubled as an eating area with stools. The appliances (fridge, stove, microwave, and dishwasher) were clean and adequate. The place was well stocked with dishwasher and laundry detergent as well as dish soap. Also cleaning pads, paper towels, were provided. The kitchen had many pots and pans as well as loads of kitchen utensils.

This unit has 2 televisions. One in the living room and one in the bedroom. You could technically sleep 4 in this place but I think it would be too crowded. After all the unit is composed of 2 areas. Area 1 is the living room/kitchen/dining and Area 2 is the bedroom. This was perfect for us (2 adults and 1 baby).

Considering we had a baby, I loved the fact that it was secluded from the other units (well except unit 11) which means its very very quiet and private. Our unit gives out on a deck which overlooks a small bay which gives on the back yard of a few very large (and nice!) residential homes. Also, the walk in closet (which is also the boiler room- but who cares) has 2 doors. One in the bedroom and one in the eating area. This meant that at any time when I needed to go into the closet, I could without waking up baby who was sleeping in bedroom. It sounds silly but I assure you this was a preoccupation of ours... i.e. how will we watch tv while baby sleeps? Or how will we do anything while baby sleeps? So having the option to be able to shower and dress during a baby's nap without creeping around the bedroom was nice.

Now for the minor issues:

1. The bed. Its a king size (nice) but its way too lumpy. Both my husband and I had very sore backs all week.
2. The comforter on the bed was a bit dodgy. I don't know how to put this. It didn't look clean. Seems to me that the cleaning crew could throw it in the wash along with bed sheets between weekly guests. Same thing for blanket. It had stains.
3. The bathroom was tiny! It was adequate but I had a very hard time washing my baby in the bathtub.
4. You're in charge of cleaning your place during your stay. There's an initial cleaning before you check in but after that you're on your own. You wash your own dishes, you make your bed, etc. Fine. But how are we supposed to pick up dirt off the floor with a vaccum that doesn't even have enough suction to pick up crumbs? This was very annoying for us especially with a baby. I could not put my baby on the floor to play without always putting some kind of blanket under.
5. When we got there the pots and pans didn't look like they'd been cleaned thoroughly. Not that I wasn't going to wash them before using them anyway but finding dried egg on the pan was gross. Also the drinking glasses had a funny smell. But minor annoyance... just scrub the pan and throw the glasses in the dishwasher.
6. No wifi in these units. Ok you're on vacation.. but sometimes at night its nice to be able to email friends and family your photos etc. but could not unless I crossed the street and then I could access the wifi.
7. Have to cross the street to get to the beach. Ok doesn't sound like a big deal.. but sometimes we had to wait a while to cross because let's face it Gulf drive can be quite busy... and not all the drivers are nice enough to yield passage to you.

--------------------

Gulf-side vs. Bay-side? That's a matter of preference and not a pro or con.

The week we were here it was a record low and we could not go on the beach with the baby because there was too much wind and it was too cold for her so the amount of time spent indoors, it would have been nice to at least have a view of the ocean. But this is not a strike against these units. You can't beat the privacy.

--------------------

Overall: We liked it. We would stay here again but not at the price we paid. We kind of feel we overpaid for this unit because its not ocean side but then again we have mixed feelings about it because of the privacy aspect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed in cabana 7 and it was wonderful. It was clean and close to the ocean with lots of room. We went for a weekend wedding and had several people over with no crowding. The night before the wedding the grooms parents had a cook out in the grill area which is underneath the front condo. It was really nice to be able to relax and visit and enjoy good food all at the same time. We arrived on a Thursday before check in time but the staff was very kind in allowing us to check in early. Great time to visit as its off season and not crowded at all.

  • Liked — everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Beach Club

Address: 5851 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabana Beach Club 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabana Beach Club is a wonderful Florida resort located directly on the beach overlooking the turquoise, placid waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy warm, sunny days and tropical nights while staying in our one- or two-bedroom condominiums or efficiencies. Every unit features a fully equipped kitchen and patio for the most comfortable, casual stay.Enjoy the relaxed pace of this intimate resort. Discover miles of white sand beaches, unlimited water sports on Longboat Key or simply take a dip in our large, heated swimming pool. No matter what your vacation pleasure, book with confidence using property rating standards. Whatever you choose, you will love the comfortable accommodations and beautiful beach views. The attention to detail, from the cleanliness of your unit to the manicured grounds, will be evident the moment you arrive. The glorious sunrises, the romantic sunsets, the lush tropical flowers abloom everywhere - you will believe you have found paradise in the Cabana Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Cabana Beach Club Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.