We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save Saved
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Been around the World. One of the best vacations ever. Not Fancy, Clean and friendly.
Location, Location, Location. We were right on the Beach.
Great Staff. We had an issue with our hot water heater. They went out of their way to accommodate us. Great restaurants within 2 mins. walking distance.

Room Tip: Units 1 and 2 are right on the beach. Can't get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello swimmer058,

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us at Little Gull! We apologize for your unit's water heater issues and are glad our staff was able to accommodate you and your family. Thank you for the compliments and for taking time to write us a review. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

this is one of the best places in Bradenton or Longboat Key it is right on the gulf it is so tropical you think you're on a tropical island nice pool the staff is extremely friendly . just a great place to stay. We hope to go back soon

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi tsheph55,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We love your photo and appreciate your compliments! Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Little Gull is heaven on earth!!! We arrived early and Scott was gracious enough to let us check in early :). Thank you Scott! We stayed in unit 4 it was clean and had everything we needed. The beach was just steps away. This is the best place we have been too. We will definitely return. Thank you Little Gull for making our vacation FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi TKkindred,

Thanks for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Anytime we are able to allow our guests to check in early (say, for example, if the previous guest checked out before the end of the week and we were able to clean the room early) we are happy to do so! Hope you visit us again in the near future and we're glad we were able to make your vacation one to remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the beach side cottages, WOW. You could walk right out to the Little Gull's private beach which is steps away from your front door. The Little Gull offers everything you would want from a beach vacation, even your own private fireplace for cozy evenings. Awake to relaxing ocean waves as you enjoy coffee on your private porch. Or, relax by dining on beachside BBQ. The cottages have their own outdoor picnic tables and beachside grills. Every day we experienced the most incredible sunset at day end. A must do, use the bicycle to take a beachside ride. We will visit The Little Gull most definitely again and again.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the beachside cottages, just steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Gwendolynes,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words and for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. The beach is truly the most relaxing place to be, especially in the early hours of the morning with a fresh cup of coffee. Hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have travelled extensively and have enjoyed all types of vacations/hotels/resturants from extravagant to economical. My reviews are with an eye for understanding about where I am in the world and that there are a world of differences.

A vacation with four couples and we stayed in the 4-bedroom condo (located above the management office) at Little Gull looking out to Sarasota Bay. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped The only negative for us is that there are only two bathrooms in this unit. One of them is located in the master bedroom, so if you're not staying in this room, your pretty much sharing one bath.

The unit faces towards the east, so waking up in the morning to sunrise was a treat. There is a boat dock available to guests, which can be seen from the condo. We felt like it was our private dock! Another thing to know is that if you want to go to the beach (Gulf of Mexico) it is a short walk, but you need to cross a major street to get to the other side. I would be nervous with little children, since there are no crosswalks or other safety features. However, the beach is glorious and you can walk for miles. The resort offers beach chairs, umbrellas, and lounges. Sunset is an event! There is also a small pool in a quiet location on site. The grounds at Little Gull are well maintained and very clean.

We used the beach bikes available from the Manager's office and rode for miles up and down the main drag. There is a beautiful nature preserve nearby as well as a restaurant and shops within walking distance. We understand there is a public bus that goes by the resort, but we had rental cars and drove to other places of interest.

Room Tip: The four bedroom condo (above manager's office) would be perfect for a large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi madskiing,

We're thrilled you enjoyed your vacation with us at Little Gull! Sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico are truly spectacular... we're lucky to call such a beautiful place home! Thank you for taking time to write us a review and we hope to see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I wanted to respond to the public relations management comment about the golf courses the area of Longboat Key.
We DID ask the
people at the front desk in the LITTLE GULL office. I asked the man who checked us in and I asked the woman who gave the orientation talk. Both told us they had nothing to do
with the golf courses in the area and they were completely private and we could not play them.

We came in on Saturday evening - and on Monday morning when I went to register at the office - I told the guy who was checking me in about being bitten. He offered me bug
repellent - which I already had -
along with four cans of bug
spray -!two that were under the sink and two that we bought. I'm
not sure what more they could
have done.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Nanski,

Please trust that this situation is being looked into and we are sorry for any inconvenience this has cause you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

After doing a lot if research - checking with TRIPADVISOR to see what other people had to say about the area & looking for the perfect place to stay - where there would be nice golf courses close by & a place for my husband to fish. In all of the comments - no one mentioned that all 3 of the beautiful golf courses there were all PRIVATE. I was so disappointed - because I would chose another area to stay if I had known. The LITTLE GULL is a nice place - we stayed in cottage 11. It had all the amenities - comfortable place except 1 problem - something was biting us. We had welts all over our legs & arms. We did what we could - spraying everything, everywhere - stripping the bed & spraying it down with bug spray, vacuuming the rug, but we still looked horrible. We slowed the bites down but they continued through our one week vacation. We realized we were in Florida & there are all kinds of bitey bugs here & we didn't want to complain but we had never been so itchy. We just kept spraying the bug spray, bug
repellent & itch spray & tried to have a good time, but being in shorts was embarrassing because the welts were so big & red. We asked around & no one else seemed to have a problem - so we figured it must have been us - with our sensitive skin & never having to deal with these issues coming from Cali. Also - around the dock area - there were wild raccoons - one was a little aggressive - I was freaked out but my husband wasn't.
It was an okay place but I think we will pick another area next time we visit Florida

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Nanski,

Thanks for taking time to write us a review. We're sorry you were unable to go golfing during your stay with us. While the courses are private, our guests receive special treatment and are allowed to utilize them during their stay with us. To set up a tee time at any one of the courses, guests are advised to call the Front Desk at Little Gull and one of our staff members will make the appropriate arrangements.

We would also like to apologize for your bug problem. Had our office been notified of the issue during your stay, we would've happily sprayed the unit for pests for you.

Unfortunately the raccoons are present throughout the island of Longboat Key, not just Little Gull. Typically they tend to mind their own business, however as with any wild animal, we advise our guests to notify us if they become a nuisance or project any abnormal behavior.

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise and would love to see your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.