We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit itchy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save Saved
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
Taft, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit itchy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

After doing a lot if research - checking with TRIPADVISOR to see what other people had to say about the area & looking for the perfect place to stay - where there would be nice golf courses close by & a place for my husband to fish. In all of the comments - no one mentioned that all 3 of the beautiful golf courses there were all PRIVATE. I was so disappointed - because I would chose another area to stay if I had known. The LITTLE GULL is a nice place - we stayed in cottage 11. It had all the amenities - comfortable place except 1 problem - something was biting us. We had welts all over our legs & arms. We did what we could - spraying everything, everywhere - stripping the bed & spraying it down with bug spray, vacuuming the rug, but we still looked horrible. We slowed the bites down but they continued through our one week vacation. We realized we were in Florida & there are all kinds of bitey bugs here & we didn't want to complain but we had never been so itchy. We just kept spraying the bug spray, bug
repellent & itch spray & tried to have a good time, but being in shorts was embarrassing because the welts were so big & red. We asked around & no one else seemed to have a problem - so we figured it must have been us - with our sensitive skin & never having to deal with these issues coming from Cali. Also - around the dock area - there were wild raccoons - one was a little aggressive - I was freaked out but my husband wasn't.
It was an okay place but I think we will pick another area next time we visit Florida

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Nanski,

Thanks for taking time to write us a review. We're sorry you were unable to go golfing during your stay with us. While the courses are private, our guests receive special treatment and are allowed to utilize them during their stay with us. To set up a tee time at any one of the courses, guests are advised to call the Front Desk at Little Gull and one of our staff members will make the appropriate arrangements.

We would also like to apologize for your bug problem. Had our office been notified of the issue during your stay, we would've happily sprayed the unit for pests for you.

Unfortunately the raccoons are present throughout the island of Longboat Key, not just Little Gull. Typically they tend to mind their own business, however as with any wild animal, we advise our guests to notify us if they become a nuisance or project any abnormal behavior.

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise and would love to see your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I exchanged our timeshare for a two bedroom unit at Little Gull. We flew in to
Tampa and the resort was an easy drive from the airport.
The unit was very nicely decorated and each couple had bed and bath. The resort is small and the office workers were very accommodating.
We were across the main road of Longboat Key from the ocean but the walk was very easy and brief. The beach was nice. We were there in October so there were no crowds.
We walked to a strip mall and had breakfast twice and dinner once at different restaurants in the mall. We were close to grocery store but did need a car to get there.
For a relaxing time in a great unit, Little Gull Cottages is a good bet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were lucky to get an exchange through Interval International. We arrived early (check in is at 4). Scott was fantastic and told us to feel free to walk around the resort while they made sure the rooms were ready.

We went out on the fishing dock and watched the fish swim by (even saw a 3 foot snook cruising by the dock). We walked across Gulf of Mexico Drive to the beach and were amazed by the grounds. The landscaping is wonderful, lush, and completely blocks out the traffic noise from the road. Every cottage has either a veranda or a yard. The walk through the cottages and trees is beautiful.

We were on the bay side, cottage 12. It is very well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen has all the necessary utensils for cooking and food preparation. The master bedroom opens out on the veranda. The second bedroom is very quite and roomy. The beds were firm and supportive and the bedding was very nice. The bathrooms were recently renovated and were appointed very nicely. The living room was very nice and opened out on the veranda also.

There was a fire place for the cool evenings and TV's in every room. The veranda overlooks the heated pool and the guest laundry is on the opposite end of the pool.

Room Tip: Cottage 12 and 13 require going up 2 flights of stairs. Some of the cottages are at ground level bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed a week here and it was most relaxing and very well kept. Beautiful beach area with seclusion and bbq grills. Very nice on the bay as well. And very very quiet. One of the best values and properties on the key. Highly recommend this place. Staff is excellent and most accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We own at Little Gull and most often use our week in October. Its great to meet people who come and rent available units, they come back again and again. The beach is quiet private and clean. Longboat Key is not commercial, very quiet, with beautiful views, great places to eat and a great way to get away from the hustle and bustle. The value to rent is really great. We own ,but went to some other resorts to look around what were also gulf side, stand alone units/houses, that seemed equivalent to Little Gull, but comparing the houses, furnishing, upkeep they clearly were not comparable and their prices for renting were much higher. Made me feel even better about owning at Little Gull. I have been going to Little Gull as a teen with my parents , and now take my family. Have been going there for 30+ years, never get tired of returning there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The resort is a great place to rest, relax and have some time on the beach. The facilities are above average but dated. Wifi is available but very slow. We enjoyed our stay and would like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a very quiet and private cottage. The beach was within walking distance and it was private too. The room was very clean and equipped with everything you need just like home. The kids loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.