We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Little Gull.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“We loved Little Gull.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were lucky to get an exchange through Interval International. We arrived early (check in is at 4). Scott was fantastic and told us to feel free to walk around the resort while they made sure the rooms were ready.

We went out on the fishing dock and watched the fish swim by (even saw a 3 foot snook cruising by the dock). We walked across Gulf of Mexico Drive to the beach and were amazed by the grounds. The landscaping is wonderful, lush, and completely blocks out the traffic noise from the road. Every cottage has either a veranda or a yard. The walk through the cottages and trees is beautiful.

We were on the bay side, cottage 12. It is very well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen has all the necessary utensils for cooking and food preparation. The master bedroom opens out on the veranda. The second bedroom is very quite and roomy. The beds were firm and supportive and the bedding was very nice. The bathrooms were recently renovated and were appointed very nicely. The living room was very nice and opened out on the veranda also.

There was a fire place for the cool evenings and TV's in every room. The veranda overlooks the heated pool and the guest laundry is on the opposite end of the pool.

Room Tip: Cottage 12 and 13 require going up 2 flights of stairs. Some of the cottages are at ground level bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannes
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed a week here and it was most relaxing and very well kept. Beautiful beach area with seclusion and bbq grills. Very nice on the bay as well. And very very quiet. One of the best values and properties on the key. Highly recommend this place. Staff is excellent and most accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We own at Little Gull and most often use our week in October. Its great to meet people who come and rent available units, they come back again and again. The beach is quiet private and clean. Longboat Key is not commercial, very quiet, with beautiful views, great places to eat and a great way to get away from the hustle and bustle. The value to rent is really great. We own ,but went to some other resorts to look around what were also gulf side, stand alone units/houses, that seemed equivalent to Little Gull, but comparing the houses, furnishing, upkeep they clearly were not comparable and their prices for renting were much higher. Made me feel even better about owning at Little Gull. I have been going to Little Gull as a teen with my parents , and now take my family. Have been going there for 30+ years, never get tired of returning there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The resort is a great place to rest, relax and have some time on the beach. The facilities are above average but dated. Wifi is available but very slow. We enjoyed our stay and would like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a very quiet and private cottage. The beach was within walking distance and it was private too. The room was very clean and equipped with everything you need just like home. The kids loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a week at Little Gull over Memorial Day weekend, and even though the cottages were full it still felt very private and homey. Staying on the gulf side was great. We would go down to the beach in the morning. Head back to our cottage during the heat of the day. Then go back down in the evening to enjoy the birds and the breathtaking sunsets. The Publix grocery is just a few miles down the road. You can pick up your groceries and a Red Box movie for the DVD player in the cottage if it rains. Longboat Key is so pleasant and peaceful we rarely left the island. Little Gull is a great spot to do what you should do on vacation...relax!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Little Gull although we have stayed at a sister property farther down Longboat Key on a previous holiday. We arrived after the office was closed but located our key as we'd been advised. We stayed in cottage 12 overlooking the pool on the bay side. It was large and airy with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It had a verandah on 2 sides which was wonderful. We felt we could have lived there as it was so homely. Although the living/dining room is in an old fashioned style the kitchen and bathrooms are modern and fairly recently updated. Cottage 12 is built high up so there are steps to climb to the entrance. This was not troublesome to us although others may prefer a ground entrance. The car was parked below which meant it was in the shade which we liked.

A short stroll through the cottages and over a not too busy road took us to the beach. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided free of charge as are bicycles. It's small, quiet and friendly and in an excellent location with the beach on one side and the bay on the other. Staff are extremely helpful and willing to help.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Lazy Lobster and Blue Dolphin are located in a small strip of shops almost next door as is Ciao a smal Italian restaurant who do take-out meals too. Many others are a short drive away on either Longboat Key or Anna Maria Island. We would like to return and hope to some time in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Most people seem to prefer beach side but as only 2 cottages are beach-front almost any other one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.