We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save Saved
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Jamestown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always wonderful and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We own at Little Gull and most often use our week in October. Its great to meet people who come and rent available units, they come back again and again. The beach is quiet private and clean. Longboat Key is not commercial, very quiet, with beautiful views, great places to eat and a great way to get away from the hustle and bustle. The value to rent is really great. We own ,but went to some other resorts to look around what were also gulf side, stand alone units/houses, that seemed equivalent to Little Gull, but comparing the houses, furnishing, upkeep they clearly were not comparable and their prices for renting were much higher. Made me feel even better about owning at Little Gull. I have been going to Little Gull as a teen with my parents , and now take my family. Have been going there for 30+ years, never get tired of returning there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The resort is a great place to rest, relax and have some time on the beach. The facilities are above average but dated. Wifi is available but very slow. We enjoyed our stay and would like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a very quiet and private cottage. The beach was within walking distance and it was private too. The room was very clean and equipped with everything you need just like home. The kids loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a week at Little Gull over Memorial Day weekend, and even though the cottages were full it still felt very private and homey. Staying on the gulf side was great. We would go down to the beach in the morning. Head back to our cottage during the heat of the day. Then go back down in the evening to enjoy the birds and the breathtaking sunsets. The Publix grocery is just a few miles down the road. You can pick up your groceries and a Red Box movie for the DVD player in the cottage if it rains. Longboat Key is so pleasant and peaceful we rarely left the island. Little Gull is a great spot to do what you should do on vacation...relax!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Little Gull although we have stayed at a sister property farther down Longboat Key on a previous holiday. We arrived after the office was closed but located our key as we'd been advised. We stayed in cottage 12 overlooking the pool on the bay side. It was large and airy with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It had a verandah on 2 sides which was wonderful. We felt we could have lived there as it was so homely. Although the living/dining room is in an old fashioned style the kitchen and bathrooms are modern and fairly recently updated. Cottage 12 is built high up so there are steps to climb to the entrance. This was not troublesome to us although others may prefer a ground entrance. The car was parked below which meant it was in the shade which we liked.

A short stroll through the cottages and over a not too busy road took us to the beach. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided free of charge as are bicycles. It's small, quiet and friendly and in an excellent location with the beach on one side and the bay on the other. Staff are extremely helpful and willing to help.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Lazy Lobster and Blue Dolphin are located in a small strip of shops almost next door as is Ciao a smal Italian restaurant who do take-out meals too. Many others are a short drive away on either Longboat Key or Anna Maria Island. We would like to return and hope to some time in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Most people seem to prefer beach side but as only 2 cottages are beach-front almost any other one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is so cute!!! A lot of the people who stay here are timeshare owners of this place and they come back the same week every year... So it is kind of a community of people who know each other already. While there are some rooms/cabins across the street, the walk to the beach is nothing and the beach is nice and private. The inside of the units have small but very updated kitchens.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Little Gull is divided by the main road through Longboat Key. This means that is is both on the Gulf side and the bay side. We were in the Bay side, which was a little disappointing. The gulf side offers a much more convivial atmosphere, right on the beach. The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable with good size rooms. Well maintained throughout, but really in need of bringing in to the 21st century, the decor kind of clashes with everything - Pineapples everywhere. Little Gull itself is in a high end area, so restaurants (limited) are on the very expensive side. Nearby Publix has just been revamped and is handy and good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.