We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cottage and Private” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
Little Gull Cottages
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage and Private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a very quiet and private cottage. The beach was within walking distance and it was private too. The room was very clean and equipped with everything you need just like home. The kids loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmclean0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a week at Little Gull over Memorial Day weekend, and even though the cottages were full it still felt very private and homey. Staying on the gulf side was great. We would go down to the beach in the morning. Head back to our cottage during the heat of the day. Then go back down in the evening to enjoy the birds and the breathtaking sunsets. The Publix grocery is just a few miles down the road. You can pick up your groceries and a Red Box movie for the DVD player in the cottage if it rains. Longboat Key is so pleasant and peaceful we rarely left the island. Little Gull is a great spot to do what you should do on vacation...relax!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Little Gull although we have stayed at a sister property farther down Longboat Key on a previous holiday. We arrived after the office was closed but located our key as we'd been advised. We stayed in cottage 12 overlooking the pool on the bay side. It was large and airy with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It had a verandah on 2 sides which was wonderful. We felt we could have lived there as it was so homely. Although the living/dining room is in an old fashioned style the kitchen and bathrooms are modern and fairly recently updated. Cottage 12 is built high up so there are steps to climb to the entrance. This was not troublesome to us although others may prefer a ground entrance. The car was parked below which meant it was in the shade which we liked.

A short stroll through the cottages and over a not too busy road took us to the beach. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided free of charge as are bicycles. It's small, quiet and friendly and in an excellent location with the beach on one side and the bay on the other. Staff are extremely helpful and willing to help.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Lazy Lobster and Blue Dolphin are located in a small strip of shops almost next door as is Ciao a smal Italian restaurant who do take-out meals too. Many others are a short drive away on either Longboat Key or Anna Maria Island. We would like to return and hope to some time in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Most people seem to prefer beach side but as only 2 cottages are beach-front almost any other one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackiee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is so cute!!! A lot of the people who stay here are timeshare owners of this place and they come back the same week every year... So it is kind of a community of people who know each other already. While there are some rooms/cabins across the street, the walk to the beach is nothing and the beach is nice and private. The inside of the units have small but very updated kitchens.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Little Gull is divided by the main road through Longboat Key. This means that is is both on the Gulf side and the bay side. We were in the Bay side, which was a little disappointing. The gulf side offers a much more convivial atmosphere, right on the beach. The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable with good size rooms. Well maintained throughout, but really in need of bringing in to the 21st century, the decor kind of clashes with everything - Pineapples everywhere. Little Gull itself is in a high end area, so restaurants (limited) are on the very expensive side. Nearby Publix has just been revamped and is handy and good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I rented last Nov at Little Gull and loved it so much we became owners. We just spent a week there and hated to leave. The cottages are immaculate with new kitchens and baths. The employees are very friendly and helpful - they want it to be a great vacation! We spent lazy days walking the beach, watching dolphins, swimming in the clear cool gulf and toasting the sunset nightly. Little Gull is wonderful, we hope to buy another week.

Room Tip: Gulf side is the best, a few steps to the beautiful beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johngalt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Once you have stayed at Little Gull, you'll find it difficult to travel elsewhere. We purchased cottage #2, week 20 seven years ago and rent an exra week. Every year we decide to try somewhere different and by the time May arrives, we're on our way...again. We do manage to go to Europe in September, but it certainly isn't as close to our hearts as LG. We were married there five years ago! That's how special this little piece of Heaven is to us! See you in May! Staff..Great! Can't do enough for you!

Room Tip: Cottages 1 through 8 are directly on the Gulf. Cottage 1 and 2 face the Gulf, others have Gulf view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
2.9 mi away
Longboat Bay Club
Longboat Bay Club
#9 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing