We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save Saved
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Simply Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Little Gull although we have stayed at a sister property farther down Longboat Key on a previous holiday. We arrived after the office was closed but located our key as we'd been advised. We stayed in cottage 12 overlooking the pool on the bay side. It was large and airy with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It had a verandah on 2 sides which was wonderful. We felt we could have lived there as it was so homely. Although the living/dining room is in an old fashioned style the kitchen and bathrooms are modern and fairly recently updated. Cottage 12 is built high up so there are steps to climb to the entrance. This was not troublesome to us although others may prefer a ground entrance. The car was parked below which meant it was in the shade which we liked.

A short stroll through the cottages and over a not too busy road took us to the beach. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided free of charge as are bicycles. It's small, quiet and friendly and in an excellent location with the beach on one side and the bay on the other. Staff are extremely helpful and willing to help.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Lazy Lobster and Blue Dolphin are located in a small strip of shops almost next door as is Ciao a smal Italian restaurant who do take-out meals too. Many others are a short drive away on either Longboat Key or Anna Maria Island. We would like to return and hope to some time in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Most people seem to prefer beach side but as only 2 cottages are beach-front almost any other one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is so cute!!! A lot of the people who stay here are timeshare owners of this place and they come back the same week every year... So it is kind of a community of people who know each other already. While there are some rooms/cabins across the street, the walk to the beach is nothing and the beach is nice and private. The inside of the units have small but very updated kitchens.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Little Gull is divided by the main road through Longboat Key. This means that is is both on the Gulf side and the bay side. We were in the Bay side, which was a little disappointing. The gulf side offers a much more convivial atmosphere, right on the beach. The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable with good size rooms. Well maintained throughout, but really in need of bringing in to the 21st century, the decor kind of clashes with everything - Pineapples everywhere. Little Gull itself is in a high end area, so restaurants (limited) are on the very expensive side. Nearby Publix has just been revamped and is handy and good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I rented last Nov at Little Gull and loved it so much we became owners. We just spent a week there and hated to leave. The cottages are immaculate with new kitchens and baths. The employees are very friendly and helpful - they want it to be a great vacation! We spent lazy days walking the beach, watching dolphins, swimming in the clear cool gulf and toasting the sunset nightly. Little Gull is wonderful, we hope to buy another week.

Room Tip: Gulf side is the best, a few steps to the beautiful beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Once you have stayed at Little Gull, you'll find it difficult to travel elsewhere. We purchased cottage #2, week 20 seven years ago and rent an exra week. Every year we decide to try somewhere different and by the time May arrives, we're on our way...again. We do manage to go to Europe in September, but it certainly isn't as close to our hearts as LG. We were married there five years ago! That's how special this little piece of Heaven is to us! See you in May! Staff..Great! Can't do enough for you!

Room Tip: Cottages 1 through 8 are directly on the Gulf. Cottage 1 and 2 face the Gulf, others have Gulf view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Little Gull through RCI in May 2012. We have enjoyed vacations at several properties on Longboat Key: Little Gull is the absolute best. We stayed in unit 11 on the bay side and it was great.We arrived on Saturday after five and got our key from the office. After a trip to Publix we came back to find I had locked us out of the unit. I called the emergency number and was in my unit before the ice cream melted.

I must vehemently disagree with the recent review dated September 2, 2012 complaining about Little Gull's management. I have not experienced a more pleasant and cooperative staff in my travels. All of the staff at Little Gull were most helpful and pleasant.

We are lucky enough to have secured a unit at Little Gull for this spring. We look forward to returning to this wonderful resort to enjoy our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I knew about Little Gull from living on Longboat Key years ago, as one of the smaller, cozier groups of cottages right on the Gulf of Mexico. I had been living in Sarasota for 25 years, taking many trips elsewhere and suddenly realized a quick, attractive, familiar "getaway" was just 20 minutes drive from my house in the city: Longboat Key is another world, a quiet, private, clean, meticulously maintained and secured island where night skies are clear and bright with stars, no sirens, loud car stereos, or other disturbing elements. Just you and the silky waves of the Gulf (too cold for swimming in January), but seated on the sand, hearing the waves, watching the splendid sunsets, was so refreshing and relaxing. The one bedroom cottage I had, #5, "White Ibis", was well designed, and had a fireplace in the LR, so I burned 4 hour "logs" two nights in a row and it really added atmosphere and warmth and general coziness for a solo visitor. Usually rented by the week, owners will sometimes make shorter stays available. Although the cottages had been there for many years, all inside conveniences were modern (the coffee maker too modern, could hardly figure it out but finally did). Interestingly, management has you come in on a Saturday afternoon, then they close at five and are not open on Sundays so you're on your own. There are many beach chairs, cooking facilities and a covered outside picnic table with perfect view of sunset. Bicycles are available, there's a rec room with billiards and pingpong across Gulf of Mexico Drive, the main road through town, on the Bay side (where there are more cottages with more bedrooms and a very nice heated pool).

Room Tip: There is some traffic on the "main drag", Gulf of Mexico Drive ,so the closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.