We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, vintage, but modernized, Longboat Key cottages on both Gulf and Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Charming, vintage, but modernized, Longboat Key cottages on both Gulf and Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I knew about Little Gull from living on Longboat Key years ago, as one of the smaller, cozier groups of cottages right on the Gulf of Mexico. I had been living in Sarasota for 25 years, taking many trips elsewhere and suddenly realized a quick, attractive, familiar "getaway" was just 20 minutes drive from my house in the city: Longboat Key is another world, a quiet, private, clean, meticulously maintained and secured island where night skies are clear and bright with stars, no sirens, loud car stereos, or other disturbing elements. Just you and the silky waves of the Gulf (too cold for swimming in January), but seated on the sand, hearing the waves, watching the splendid sunsets, was so refreshing and relaxing. The one bedroom cottage I had, #5, "White Ibis", was well designed, and had a fireplace in the LR, so I burned 4 hour "logs" two nights in a row and it really added atmosphere and warmth and general coziness for a solo visitor. Usually rented by the week, owners will sometimes make shorter stays available. Although the cottages had been there for many years, all inside conveniences were modern (the coffee maker too modern, could hardly figure it out but finally did). Interestingly, management has you come in on a Saturday afternoon, then they close at five and are not open on Sundays so you're on your own. There are many beach chairs, cooking facilities and a covered outside picnic table with perfect view of sunset. Bicycles are available, there's a rec room with billiards and pingpong across Gulf of Mexico Drive, the main road through town, on the Bay side (where there are more cottages with more bedrooms and a very nice heated pool).

Room Tip: There is some traffic on the "main drag", Gulf of Mexico Drive ,so the closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new englanad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two weeks at Little Gull March 2012 and we are returning this March. We really enjoy the beautiful area and the cottages are so unique. We spent 8 years renting a high rise condo in another area and Little Gull cottages are far more enjoyable. You park your car and the cottage is right there. My husbanad loves going to the beach and relaxing on the lounge chair iunder the trees. If we want sun we get up and walk the beach - just perfect. There are amazing restaurants nearby that we are looking forward to go back to . Just a beautilful, tropical getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Happy to hear we made such a nice first impression. See you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This January will be our sixth year of enjoying Little Gull Cottages. Every year we(two couples) ask each other if we want to go to a new place. The answer is always no. The location on Long Boat Key is outstanding, the cottages clean and quaint, shopping is near by and you get the advantage of being on the bay and gulf. A little heaven on earth.

Room Tip: We have tried three different cottages but prefer unit 7 on the Gulf and 14 on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We love hearing from guests that visit us year after year. Glad you had another fantastic time with us. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Spending our last day in paradise. Gonna be hard to leave!! Great place with beautiful beaches, weather perfect. The units are cute and quaint! The staff is awesome. Everybody here very friendly. Place has everything we need! Thank u for such a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I just came back from 2 weeks at Little Gull. The first time Istayed here was 17 years ago! 11 years ago we became owners and now have 3 weeks! It becomes more difficult to leave each time because after all these years it truly seems like a second home!! They have made wonderful upgrades to the kitchens and the bathrooms in recent years. Each unit is always immaculate and inviting upon entry. The staff is always friendly and helpful quick to respond to problems if they arise, but otherwise they leave you alone to enjoy what we all refer to as Paradise!! Longboat key is a quiet out of the way barier island to Sarasota. this time of year there are hardly any tourist or residents around so the beach becomes your own private hide-a-way!
Although we basicallt stayed around the resort and enjoyed the beach and the wildlife that abounds around the resort, we took a kayak guided tour in a nearby nature preserve. It was a unique experience for a 62 year old!! We also went into Sarasota and took in a movie at the arts theatre on the one day in two weeks that was gray and raining. St. Armond's Circle is a must and never disappoints!!
I really don't understand the one negative review that was posted recently....they must not have been staying at the same resort. We have three cottages on the gulf side. We usually stay for two weeks and trade the other, although my daughter and her husband used the third week afor their honeymoon last year....we all love Little Gull.....and actually they presented us with a Little Gull grandchild!! Another reason to love it!!

Room Tip: Gulf side is the easy beach access, bay side if you are more of a pool person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My partner and I found Little Gull Cottages online and took a chance, booking a week's stay in early September. The rate was unexpectedly inexpensive, so we were not expecting too much (other than a vacation close to the Gulf.) However, from the moment we drove on to the property we were AMAZED at the lovely setting of Little Gull. Pictures (and the video tour on their website) simply do not do justice to this resort. It is very small - only 16 units - and staffed by only a few people. There is not a restaurant onsite, but there were three within walking distance! There are no activities per se, but we found plenty to do on our own. There is a small get-together the resort holds on Monday morning with refreshments where management gives a talk about local atractions and activities.

What we found suprising was the friendliness and warmth of the staff and guests. We talked to several other guests at the pool and beach and many have been returning to the resort for 30 years! We had a couple of minor maintenance issues and they were given attention as soon as we reported them. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful and spent a good deal of time printing directions to various places for us (we forgot our GPS!) and made us feel taken care of.

We cannot say enough about the GORGEOUSNESS of the private beach here. It truly looks and feels like something from a movie (and I say this as a girl who grew up in Florida!) I felt like I was on holiday in the Caribbean. The pool was small but clean and had many chairs, loungers and tables set up.

My only (minor) drawbacks would be that our unit (Bay side) did not have a washer/dryer, but there is a free laundry provided for guests. I was taken aback at first by the furnishings of our cottage, which seemed more appropriate for a cottage on the Atlantic in Maine! By the end of the week, though, it had grown on me. Had it been a bit more chilly at night, we would have made use of the fireplace!

I would not hesitate to suggest staying here to anyone, and my partner and I plan to come back next year, if not sooner. We would prefer to stay on the Gulf side next time, but we had a very short walk to the beach and it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Great value for your travel dollar, as well as being quite romantic.

Room Tip: The Bay side units do not have a washer/dryer but staff told us all Gulf units do. There is a free g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

If you arrive on Saturday after 5, there will be no bikes & no information as the office is close. When they open the office, bikes are only available from 10- 5, the hottest part of the day. For 5 days we had one towel to use until the once a week towel exchange, and the towels are flimsy & of a poor quality. Limited baking supplies in the 2 bedroom unit makes it difficult to cook. They didn't even supply shampoo or a hair dryer. There were beach chairs and a clean pool and a short walk to the beach. That was the best part

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We at Little Gull pride ourselves in providing you with your best vacation experience. Had we known you wanted to use our bikes, would have provided you with our after hours bikes that we could have arranged for you before we left on the day you arrived and we also offer our regular bikes that you can ride anytime during office hours (9 a.m. to 5 p.m.). The towels we provide are very good quality, Bamboo Towels that our guests have raved about. Anytime our guests ask us for additional towels, we are more than willing to accommodate you. In addition, we do supply pool/beach towels at the pool whenever you need fresh ones. We do provide shampoo/body wash through a dispenser in each shower and each unit is also equipped with a hair dryer. If any of these items were missing, we surely would have been glad to make sure that you had them replaced had we been notified. We certainly do wish that you had allowed us to make your vacation better than you obviously experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.