We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, beautiful beaches!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, beautiful beaches!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Spending our last day in paradise. Gonna be hard to leave!! Great place with beautiful beaches, weather perfect. The units are cute and quaint! The staff is awesome. Everybody here very friendly. Place has everything we need! Thank u for such a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I just came back from 2 weeks at Little Gull. The first time Istayed here was 17 years ago! 11 years ago we became owners and now have 3 weeks! It becomes more difficult to leave each time because after all these years it truly seems like a second home!! They have made wonderful upgrades to the kitchens and the bathrooms in recent years. Each unit is always immaculate and inviting upon entry. The staff is always friendly and helpful quick to respond to problems if they arise, but otherwise they leave you alone to enjoy what we all refer to as Paradise!! Longboat key is a quiet out of the way barier island to Sarasota. this time of year there are hardly any tourist or residents around so the beach becomes your own private hide-a-way!
Although we basicallt stayed around the resort and enjoyed the beach and the wildlife that abounds around the resort, we took a kayak guided tour in a nearby nature preserve. It was a unique experience for a 62 year old!! We also went into Sarasota and took in a movie at the arts theatre on the one day in two weeks that was gray and raining. St. Armond's Circle is a must and never disappoints!!
I really don't understand the one negative review that was posted recently....they must not have been staying at the same resort. We have three cottages on the gulf side. We usually stay for two weeks and trade the other, although my daughter and her husband used the third week afor their honeymoon last year....we all love Little Gull.....and actually they presented us with a Little Gull grandchild!! Another reason to love it!!

Room Tip: Gulf side is the easy beach access, bay side if you are more of a pool person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My partner and I found Little Gull Cottages online and took a chance, booking a week's stay in early September. The rate was unexpectedly inexpensive, so we were not expecting too much (other than a vacation close to the Gulf.) However, from the moment we drove on to the property we were AMAZED at the lovely setting of Little Gull. Pictures (and the video tour on their website) simply do not do justice to this resort. It is very small - only 16 units - and staffed by only a few people. There is not a restaurant onsite, but there were three within walking distance! There are no activities per se, but we found plenty to do on our own. There is a small get-together the resort holds on Monday morning with refreshments where management gives a talk about local atractions and activities.

What we found suprising was the friendliness and warmth of the staff and guests. We talked to several other guests at the pool and beach and many have been returning to the resort for 30 years! We had a couple of minor maintenance issues and they were given attention as soon as we reported them. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful and spent a good deal of time printing directions to various places for us (we forgot our GPS!) and made us feel taken care of.

We cannot say enough about the GORGEOUSNESS of the private beach here. It truly looks and feels like something from a movie (and I say this as a girl who grew up in Florida!) I felt like I was on holiday in the Caribbean. The pool was small but clean and had many chairs, loungers and tables set up.

My only (minor) drawbacks would be that our unit (Bay side) did not have a washer/dryer, but there is a free laundry provided for guests. I was taken aback at first by the furnishings of our cottage, which seemed more appropriate for a cottage on the Atlantic in Maine! By the end of the week, though, it had grown on me. Had it been a bit more chilly at night, we would have made use of the fireplace!

I would not hesitate to suggest staying here to anyone, and my partner and I plan to come back next year, if not sooner. We would prefer to stay on the Gulf side next time, but we had a very short walk to the beach and it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Great value for your travel dollar, as well as being quite romantic.

Room Tip: The Bay side units do not have a washer/dryer but staff told us all Gulf units do. There is a free g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

If you arrive on Saturday after 5, there will be no bikes & no information as the office is close. When they open the office, bikes are only available from 10- 5, the hottest part of the day. For 5 days we had one towel to use until the once a week towel exchange, and the towels are flimsy & of a poor quality. Limited baking supplies in the 2 bedroom unit makes it difficult to cook. They didn't even supply shampoo or a hair dryer. There were beach chairs and a clean pool and a short walk to the beach. That was the best part

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We at Little Gull pride ourselves in providing you with your best vacation experience. Had we known you wanted to use our bikes, would have provided you with our after hours bikes that we could have arranged for you before we left on the day you arrived and we also offer our regular bikes that you can ride anytime during office hours (9 a.m. to 5 p.m.). The towels we provide are very good quality, Bamboo Towels that our guests have raved about. Anytime our guests ask us for additional towels, we are more than willing to accommodate you. In addition, we do supply pool/beach towels at the pool whenever you need fresh ones. We do provide shampoo/body wash through a dispenser in each shower and each unit is also equipped with a hair dryer. If any of these items were missing, we surely would have been glad to make sure that you had them replaced had we been notified. We certainly do wish that you had allowed us to make your vacation better than you obviously experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been coming here for 15 years and for the last 5 now an owner. My daughter has grown up with theses memories and we have made wonderful friends that we now call family. Your stay here is speechless. You have access right to the Gulf and bay with only steps away. Beautiful palm trees, private beach, great pool, washer, dryer (free of charge), and the staff is fabulous. The cottages are updated with everything you need. Shops and restaurants steps or a drive away. Come stay here, you won't regret it and you'll come back for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Little Gull a number of times. We like quiet days lounging on the sand or walking the beach. Euphemia Hayes is a good restaurant nearby, but we often take the short drive to St. Armand's Circle to do a little window shopping and dine.

Room Tip: Cottages on the ocean side have a nice beach and gorgeous sunsets. Cottages across the highway have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I came here with my wife & kids for Thanksgiving last year. It was our first time travelling to the western side of Florida. We quickly realized what we'd been missing, as Little Gull offered the beauty of the beach and coast without the tourists and crowding. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and everything was clean and well kept.We enjoyed it so much we will be booking a return trip for this Thanksgiving!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list