We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gull Cottages
Save
You added Little Gull Cottages to your Saves list
5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“Quaint & beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I came here with my wife & kids for Thanksgiving last year. It was our first time travelling to the western side of Florida. We quickly realized what we'd been missing, as Little Gull offered the beauty of the beach and coast without the tourists and crowding. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and everything was clean and well kept.We enjoyed it so much we will be booking a return trip for this Thanksgiving!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Little Gull is Paradise. Its is a wonderful place to just close out the rest of the world and relax. And I mean relax. Every morning we had our coffee on the beach then walked along collecting shells. Being August it was not the tourist season so it was almost like having a private beach. Few thunder storms at night but they just left some wonderful treasures in the morning for us to find.
One of the excursions we did take was a visit to the Mote Aquarium. A must see! Spend the extra bucks for the boat ride into the bay. There is a Marine Biologist on the boat to tell you all about the sea life in the bay. Fun for all ages.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this place and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We had Cottage 1. The gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This resort truly has everything you could ever want...a tropical beach, multiple grills, a wonderful pool, game room, laundry facilities, playground, and a boat dock for those travelling with a vessel. It is located on Longboat Key and from the moment you drive in, you are winding through a quaint brick street surrounded by shade trees. Mother nature abounds, with wildlife and natural vegetation everywhere. The staff is wonderful and treats you like family. We plan to return again and again!

Room Tip: Little Gull Cottages offers 1-4 bedroom cottages, each fully furnished and well equiped. Each unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

An awesome place with the real Florida lifestyle. Everyone in our family lives on the ocean in different parts of Florda already, but we come back every single year to Little Gull to "get away." It's quiet, not overloaded with tourists, friendly staff, and close to fantastic nightlife. The beach is perfection, and the rooms are the perfect balance of not being too 'frou-frou' for the beach but still clean and comfy.

Room Tip: You cannot BEAT an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Litte gull is a Very beautiful place to vacation!! We were more than pleased with the cottage, grounds and staff. Well worth the money. This is our first time in LBK, and we Had a terrific time!! This will be a place we visit again in the near future!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This is my sixth year coming here and the staff and service has always been great! There is so much to do in the area with
Shopping, restaurants, botanical gardens
And Ringling Museum. One week is just not enough to see it all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Thanks so much to the staff at Little Gull for making this and outstanding vacation memory for both my father and myself.

The amenities are amazing and this is such a friendly resort. The office staff as well as the grounds keeper were so personable and so helpful with all of my needs. The manager was as well and such a blessing.

The views are spectacular with the bayside offering dock access with a shaded sitting area for my father in which to watch the daily activies of the fish and the birds. The fish would have a gently dance as they would jump out the water. The birds and pelicans gave quite a daily show as well on both the bayside and the gulf side from the diving of the pelicans for each meal or the gentle gliding through the air as they jockey for position on the wooden pilings off the dock area. It was quite relaxing.

Inside the units I found every luxury of home from the design and open layout of the kitchen/living room area to the ample living area in each bedroom. The luxury of the units include the large step in shower in the master bath, and wow, the kitchen with the granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances were so nice.

The 4 bedroom unit which overlooks the bay was such a blessing and so relaxing. Each morning we would sit in the breakfast area and overlook the "dancing" fish. and the swooning birds. There were every kind to see, from the cranes to the pelicans to the large water craft even to the small kayaks and fishing boats. There was a show at every turn.

I absolutely loved it, every aspect of this resort and it's prime location. If you ever need a great place to stay, this is it! I would very much recommend it for the family or for the indivdual.

Enjoy and tell them Jackie referred you. You will love it as much as I did.

Sincerely,
Jackie Kirkwood

Room Tip: Get up early to enjoy every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gull Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.