We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayou Tavern is one of my favorite restaurants on Longboat Key” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BAYOU TAVERN

BAYOU TAVERN
6814 GULF OF MEXICO DRIVE, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1334
941-312-4975
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bayou Tavern is one of my favorite restaurants on Longboat Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

True we stay very near the Bayou, but really that's not why I am always pulled to eating there. First I love their cannelloni, I don't find that many places that do it well. Second the rest of their menu has always pleased us. Third from the owner to the bar staff and wait staff, you always feel very well cared for, My friend loves their veal dishes. We've taken large parties their and it was a huge success. I'm no wine enthusiast but the Chianti they brought me was very pleasing.

When you're in the Sarasota area, give them a try. Call for reservations first during the busy season.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great food and great service for a great price. Food is always consistently good. Friendly service. Owners always onsite to provide exceptional service. When we want a great meal with friends and family, we always come to Bayou Tavern

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Italian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable dining experience. Food was delicious and menu choices were varied. Service was friendly however was fairly slow. Looked like they needed more help for the business they had on a Friday evening.


  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a hidden 5-star gem of a italian restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

my husband and i have been coming to Longboat Key for as many as 15 years. tonight for the first time (thanks to good reviews on "tripadvisor"), we tried the Bayou Tavern. it was so awesome. i had the cheese ravioli and bolognese meat sauce and my husband had veal cannelloni. it was absolutely awesome. there was no room for improvement...it was delicious...hot and so tasty. in addition, the staff seemed to appreciate our visit which was refreshing. the Bayou Tavern is in a small strip mall close to the bradenton bridge on the right...it is well worth a visit. i would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful restaurant to anyone. we will be back. thanks for a totally delightful Italian dinner and sweet hospitality!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Your view of this restaurant is all about what you are expecting. First let me say all the people in my group enjoyed their meal. The food wasn't perfect but it all tasted good and was generous in proportion. Two of us had pasta dishes and the other had chicken Marsala. All of it was tasty with the exception that some of the chicken pieces in my pasta were overcooked and chewy. The service was very attentive and friendly. The service approach isn't what you usually find as several different people took care of us including the owner. The décor was mixed and a bit confused crossing between Italian to sports themes. It is located in a strip mall that doesn't inspire confidence but you should look by that. Overall we enjoyed our visit but I believe in the future I will come here when I'm looking for a casual and reasonably priced alternative with a good vibe but don't expect anything beyond that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BAYOU TAVERN also viewed

 

Been to BAYOU TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BAYOU TAVERN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.