We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Quaint, Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL   |  
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
headingsouth
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Quaint, Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a small complex in the middle of LBK. Great location Property is well kept. Laundry room is close and reasonable. There is a shed by the laundry room with beach stuff, toys. The beach is beautiful ! and right there. Unit 5 was clean, nicely decoated with a few quirky things that were no big deal. Just remember this unit has no internet. You are rationed 1 trash bag and 2 rolls of toilet paper. :(. The screened porch isa great convenience. Bathroom fixtures like toilet and shower are for very short people. NIce layout inside and out. I would only return if they had internet in this unit.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We have stayed at the Outrigger Resort in 2008, 2009, and again in 2011. I have two kids 6 & 11. Each year we have stayed in Unit 3 which is VERY spacious. First, this is not the type of resort where you are walking long distances. It is Florida charm at it's best. It's not a high rise or large "motel like" resort. It is truly like a home away from home. We have met wonderful people who return year after year. It's safe with a "private" type of pool. Not many units so it's never overcrowded. Grills, picnic tables, and a beautiful beach. I've stayed in Sanibel, Ft. Lauderdale, Siesta Key, Disney, and in Naples. This cute resort has "old" Florida charm. Nothing fancy. If you are looking to relax, this is the place to do it. I can appreciate other resorts, but I love walking 2 minutes out the door and being on the beach. It's walking distance to a small shopping center and just a few minutes from great shopping on St. Armand's Circle. We typically go at Spring Break and have never had longer than 20 minutes to wait on most places on the key (unless going to St. Armands). Unit 3 has always been very clean and we keep it that way throughout our stay. We absolutely love the beach area which is never crowded. We always get lounge chairs. I would highly recommend this resort. However, if you are looking for bar service, daily refresh of towels and linens, beds being made for you, this is not for you. The place stays as clean during your visit as you keep it. Follow the rules of Florida (take trash out, don't leave food and drink on the counter, etc) and you won't have bug issues. After having parents live in Naples, doesn't make any difference how fancy the place is, in order to avoid nightly visitors from ants/palmetto bugs, take care of your food. I would not recommend this if you are looking for a fast place, touristy, party resort. Plenty of those on Sanibel and Siesta Key. My age is 40 and as a father of a family from the midwest, we appreciate the simplicity, yet the wonderful charm of this resort. If you are looking to go to Disney or Busch Gardens, probably not for you. 2 hours or so to Disney, 55 minutes to Tampa. If you are looking to Fish, rent wave runners, and walk the beach...this is for you! Wave runners are available down the beach at the Hilton. Fishing pole rentals are just down at the marina and fishing is great across the north end of the key on Coquina beach.

Room Tip: Larger families...go for apartment 3, smaller, 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is our second visit here and we are about to book again for a third time. The service from Roberto is fantastic. Yes the rooms could do with a very good clean, But they are not outdated. The view across the gulf is amazing. We even got to swim with a small shark. The manatees swim past daily , The turtles come up to the beach to lay there eggs AND you get too see dolphins everyday !!! We do take a trip up too Busch gardens 55 mins. Its not a place to stay if you want theme parks. This is a restful holiday. It's a wonderful place to stay. Hence the third visit.( We did ask for the apartment to be cleaned again after we arrived and it was within ten mins). It was not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

A couple of my friends and I decided to take a few days off and relax. Well that is just what we did. The apartments are roomy and the gulf breeze is just wonderful. We relaxed in the pool area and enjoyed long walks on the beach. We stayed in unit # 10 it was very relaxing and the apartment was clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Resort

Address: 5155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.