We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Lobster of Longboat

Lazy Lobster of Longboat
5350 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Suite 102, Longboat Key, FL 34228
+1 941-383-0440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Ormond Beach, Fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still the Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We've been vacationing on Longboat key for over 20 years, and after discovering this restaurant last year, we had dinner there on three occasions this year. We still feel that it's the standard by which other restaurants in the area should be measured. We ate there during the "early bird" period, from 4:00pm to 5:30pm, where almost everything on the menu costs between $10 and $13, and drinks are a bargain, and we were astounded by the presentation, quality, quantity and service. I can't believe that the menu after 5:30, where entrees cost between $13 and $20, could be any better. Our fondest hope is that we can continue to patronize this fine restaurant for another 20 years.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    198
    64
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

After seeing all the great reviews about this place on Tripadvisor we decided to go. We went for the summer early bird menu which has something for everyone, including lobster! The plate presentations are beautiful and the portions are not skimpy. They start you off with dinner rolls served with butter and a spicy-sweet pepper relish. Great combo. For just a few bucks you can add a salad or soup to your entree. I had the steamed lobster for 19.95. It was luscious! We went twice during our weeklong stay.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must when staying on Longboat Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Everything we had was very good - the lobster mac n cheese rivaled big name restaurants...great fried clam strips, shrimp and scallops. The service was amazing and fast. Two thumbs ways up!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

This dinner turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Atmosphere is simple and low key, but service and food were wonderful. We were able to dine during early bird special, I chose the coconut fried flounder and the best scalloped potatoes ever. My husband chose a seafood platter that included delicious large fried shrimp and fried cod . Both our meals were delicious and very very reasonable. Not a place for the really young crowd, but being in our mid forties...we're no longer the really young crowd anyway. Definitely a place we would dine again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice experience at the Lazy Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

While on vacation we had a mixed group who all wanted some good seafood, luckily the Lazy Lobster delivered. We hoped the number one rating and glowing reviews on TA were accurate, and in this case proved to be so. We were greeted warmly, seated promptly and had very good service. Warm bread (loved the pumpernickel) was brought to the table as we checked out the menu. We all ended up choosing either Key West shrimp or the combo shrimp and tilapia - which was served with a delicious orange marmalade sauce. The macaroni and cheese and squash ravioli also got high marks from the vegetarian in our group. Everything we ate was very good, and the friendly and gracious service made for a very pleasant experience. We will definitely return on future visits to the area.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Lobster of Longboat also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Lobster of Longboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Lobster of Longboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.