We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been going here for years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Veranda Beach Club
Save
You added Veranda Beach Club to your Saves list
2509 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Suwanee, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Been going here for years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I grew up going here and have the best memories. After not being able to go for the past few years, my family and I got to go back recently. The weather was perfect. Rooms are spacious and clean. George the security guard is so awesome and helpful. I love how the pool is half covered. We will be back next year! Unit 510 is top beach front middle and is the best!

Room Tip: The lower you are the more noise from the pool you will get. They are good about shutting in down at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Without a doubt this was the best vacation rental I've had in Florida, and my family has stayed in quite a few over the years. The property is located right on the beach with private access, plus there are free amenities like beach chairs and umbrellas, kayaks, small sailboats, and bikes available to use. The pool is decent size and is heated, a real plus for cooler days like our visit in December. The condo was spacious and clean, and the kitchen was well-appointed - we made our Christmas dinner in it. The condo wasn't super-modern but things were updated enough and everything worked as expected. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We traded our 5 star Gold Marriott Barony Beach ClubTimeshare in Hilton Head for this resort and we were not disappointed!! A beautiful place. I would not worry about the reviews talking about the bathrooms that are not renovated. It was not a big deal in our unit; still very clean and the remainder of the condo WAS renovated. Grace, the manager was very helpful in my emails to her and honest when I asked her about the bathrooms after reading the Trip Advisor review. She told me everything BUT the bathrooms were completely renovated. I was not disappointed.

George the security guard is to be commended! He was very friendly and helped us check in (and give us our beach towels) when we arrived after the office had closed. This is a very small timeshare resort, compared to what we are used to at Hilton Head. The check in desk at the Barony is NEVER closed, so we were not prepared for this at the Veranda . But all was good thanks to the helpful George!

This resort is wonderful! The oceanfront cabanas, beach chairs and umbrella are no charge! In Hilton Head, the cost for 2 chairs and an umbrella on the beach is $35 a day! The bicycles ( with baskets)kayaks, sailboats, stand up paddle boards: are ALL complimentary at Veranda!! The beach is beautiful and the shelling is very good! We found Kittens Paws, Fighting Conchs, Pink Scallop shells, and more. we saw Dolphons and there was rumour of a whale and our friend saw a manatee in the ocean! The sunsets are amazing; every evening many of the residents come out on the beach to enjoy the sunset.

The daytime office staff was helpful when we had a question about restaurants and have a book with menus. We had a squeaky door and a problem with a screen door and maintainance responded quickly and had it fixed in a short time.

The kitchen is well equiped for extensive cooking. We cooked more than half of our dinners in and found a reasonable excellent local restaurant on Longboat ( Mar Vista) and Anna Maria ( Sandbar Restaurant) , We are VERY picky on pizza and had New York Italians with us ( we are Chicagoans), Oma's Pizza in Anna Maria is very good! The Publix is across the street, a short walk or bike ride. The Joan Durante Park is lovely and don't miss the Historic Village on Longboat Key ( Mar Vista location! there are roaming peacocks and the oldest homes on the Key!

Longboat is a central location for visiting the Mote Aquarium, The Ringling complex, Bradenton and we even drove to Tampa to visit family for a day!

The other guests were mostly timeshare owners at the Veranda, are very friendly and raved about their vacations at the club. We highly recommend a week here at the Veranda Beach Club. you will not be sorry! We hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Our condo had a partial ocean view, of course oceanfront is always preferable but not necessary. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have been going to the Veranda since 2004. We stay in Unit 410 --a two bedroom ocean front condo. The view is amazing! floor to ceiling doors looking out to the ocean. A nice pool and right on the beach. Made things so easy when my kids were little and took naps. Could sit on the huge veranda while they slept. The veranda spans from one bedroom to the other. The rooms are always clean and recently they were updated and very pretty. The condo has everything you need and the office is generous if you need extra toilet paper or laundry detergent, etc.
Longboat Key, for those who have never been, is a narrow long island that is less crowed and feels more residential (classy). For people who want tons of tourists and razzmatazz this is not the place for you. I love that the beaches on Longboat are quiet and clean. If I want night life I am ten minutes to Armand's Circle or downtown Sarasota (which has restaurants and shopping) and ten minutes to Bradenton Beach and Anna Maria Island for bars, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Any of the ocean front rooms have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went down to Longboat Key on a whim (to escape the NY snow). We chose the Veranda Beach Club by recommendations from friends. We have two little ones (5 and 3), so we needed space, two bedrooms, a kitchen, and washer & dryer in the room. The Veranda had all that and more. We stayed in room 310 oceanfront. Our first impression of Longboat Key and the Veranda was "wow this place is so outdated/old". Since we usually visit Naples, Fl every year, which is so pristine and constantly growing, we were disappointed. However, once we got into the room, we were pleasantly surprised at the amount of space (2 bedrooms, 2 baths, huge living room, loads of closet space, fully equipped kitchen, and huge balcony with access from both bedrooms and the family room). Our entire stay was nice. The oceanfront views are only steps away from the ocean. The staff was a little dry, but helpful. The pool was large, beautiful, clean and warm. Overall we rated the Veranda a 7 out of 10, but probably will never return to the area since the beach and surrounding areas were definitely inferior and much more expensive than renting a condo in Naples ($3000/week in Longboat, compared to $3000/month in Naples).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family first bought into Veranda Beach Club when it opened in the early 80's, and we've spent our vacations here every year since. Now I take my kids here and we couldn't love it more. The beach is unreal, the location on beautiful, upscale Longboat Key cannot be beat and the local restaurants are amazing. The units are all lovely and in great condition. The staff is very helpful; it's a very family oriented place and we are looking forward to our next visit this summer!

Room Tip: We love the third floor or above beachfront units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

For the first class prices you pay you will get accommodation that is half renovated as the building is very old. The pictures on the website look great but we checked online and saw some conflicting pictures that looked old and dingy. As of Dec. 2012 the rooms and bathrooms are not renovated. The kitchen and living room were redone. When we called to ask about the old dingy photos on the internet, we were told that the rooms were all updated.The bedrooms and bathrooms are from the 1970's and are falling apart. The website images are deceiving. We were given a slight refund but that is not what one wants when booking a hotel for a vacation!

Room Tip: As the rooms are dingy, you had better at least have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Beach Club

Address: 2509 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Veranda Beach Club on Longboat Key offers a matchless location, directly on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. Warm hospitality, fun-filled activities and a casual relaxed island atmosphere await your arrival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Veranda Beach Club Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.