We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Beachcomber with family. We were in a 1 bedroom which was nice but next time we will opt for the 2 bedroom. This place is very clean. Right on the beach. We hope to have another trip and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My three girlfriends and I just returned from a week at the Beachcomber. Very nice location, very nice condo and very nice people. Guess that says it all. And if we do return, we would definitely stay at the Beachcomber. #405 is our Condo. However, with four people, next time it will be a two bedroom and 2 bath, for sure.

Room Tip: Beach side is the best................next time, for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been coming to the Beachcomber for 20 years. We have stayed in several different units over the years and in the last 10 years we have settled ourselves in 304. 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen, dining room and living room, facing west over the Gulf of Mexico. We have seen many changes over the years and the reason we have continued to come back year after year is because of the care they take of the entire place. They make it a priority to keep things up to date, clean and friendly. All units are privately owned and rented out by the owner. Each condo is different, and have all the amenities one would need for a fabulous vacation with family, girls getaway, honeymooners, etc... Large deck facing the beautiful Gulf of Mexico, 2 expansive sliding glass doors, one in the master bedroom and one in the living room. We love this place, we have been hooked since the first time we arrived. The sunsets, sound of the waves, beach right outside our door, and just a few minutes from St Armands Circle for great shopping and dining! Outstanding location!!

Room Tip: West units face the Gulf of Mexico, all 2 bedroom units, East units face Sarasota Bay, all 1 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I just spent a week in Unit 404 with three friends. It was a lovely condo, beautifully decorated and very clean. We hated to leave. The Beachcomber is situated on Longboat Key centrally located to Sarasota or Anna Marie Island. It is right on the beach on the Gulf of Mexico and has a really nice pool area. The staff is friendly and helpful and they keep the common areas extremely neat. If I could spend a week there each year, I would.

Room Tip: Rent a two bedroom condo as they face the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in 204 and are extremely disappointed. The trim is rusted and bathroom floor is stained with what looks like rust. The kitchen ceiling is also rusted. The dvd player, lights in small room, and half of the outlets dont work. The master bed is hard as a rock!!!!!! Drain in tub does work well or the bathroom sink. Girl at the front desk was very rude. Not a family friendly place and i will never come back here. We have vacationed in sarasota for 10 years, usually to Siesta Key and never 1 time was i disappointed, until now. Pool was not vacuumed once.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in Unit 605. It is nicely decorated and very comfortable. Great bed! Great value too! The veranda has a nice view of the island and is a great place to sit out and eat breakfast or relax in the evening.

What I love about the Beachcomber is that it is right on the beach! I walk out the lobby and I am at the pool and sand. No walk way which makes it super easy for my handicapped Mother in Law. The place is super clean. There is always someone cleaning--even the elevator! Off the lobby the building offers tables and chairs to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the sunset. We so enjoyed our relaxing stay and will be back!

Room Tip: We loved Unit 605. It's a one bedroom top floor unit, with a view of the island and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

So pleasantly surprised, our unit,504 was even nicer than the photos online. We can't say enough about the cleanliness, unit amenities ,condo layout and OH, that view! Expansive Sliding doors from both living room and bedroom onto a large balcony was the highlight for us. We didnt miss one spectacular sunset and what can be better than waking to the beautiful gulf waters?
The beach, right out the door,was perfect for long walks and simply enjoying the sunshine while escaping a very cruel northeast winter.We loved the serene ,layback feel of Longboat Key ,and believe we found "our" spot for a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
3.3 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.