We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and right on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save Saved
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Cary, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and right on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in unit 605 and could not be happier!

The unit has nice furnishings and everything you need. This condo was super clean and being on the 6th floor offered a nice view of the island and bay.

The building is right on the beach! You literally walk out the door and you are at the pool and beach. It was quiet and relaxing which suited my husband and I just fine. I loved that there is the PUblix grocery store and CVS are right across the street and in ten minutes in either direction restaurants and shopping.

My only complaint is I had to buy laundry and dish washing detergent and had a lot left over. It would have been nice to have either a small amount available in the unit or small amounts for purchase at the front desk.

Other than that, a wonderful vacation spot and we will return.

Room Tip: Unit 605 is a top floor one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber at the beginning of June 2012. The complex was beautiful and our one bedroom condo was very nice, spacious, and had everything we needed. As for the last posting under “bad bathrooms”, I do not agree with this review. I saw Beachcomber website pictures for 20+ units before I booked and most condos showed bathroom pictures. It is true that the bathrooms are not huge but their size was more than adequate for our family of 4. All condos at the Beachcomber are individually owned so it is no surprise that you cannot move from unit to unit in case you are not satisfied. If you are that picky, go to a local hotel and pay a lot more money for much smaller accommodations. The Beachcomber is located on a beautiful stretch of beach, it has a very clean, warm beachfront pool and a nice shaded area with more tables and lounge chairs in the back of the building in case you want to have lunch, read a book, or just get out of the sun. The lounge and powder rooms near the pool and beach are large and recently remodeled. Everything is crisp and clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

When we arrived the first thing I noticed was someone up on a balcony cleaning. In fact, we found everything clean and in good working order and each time we passed through the lobby there was always someone tidying something up. The staff could not have been nicer. The unit was well equipped, kitchen and bathroom, immaculate, plenty of bath and beach towels. Off the lobby is a room with a few tables and chairs and a wet bar. Also there is an outdoor grill and a pool. If you want to fix dinner and sit at the tables as we did you can watch the sunset over the beach. Very nice and relaxing. They are building a grocery store across the street and it will be finished in December. Also getting back to the unit, it also had a nice assortment of books and videos to suit any taste. Overall, it was a great deal (nice price in the summer during the off-season) and you have everything you could want. Whether, family, couple or friends get-together vacation, this place is ideal. I highly recommend it. Go and enjoy yourself!!!

















































































































Add a tip to help travelers choose a good room










Do you have photos to share?
(optional)






Add a photo




Sharing with friends

Show your real name and photo to Facebook friends who view your reviews on TripAdvisor.



Submit your review



I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review. I understand that TripAdvisor has a zero-tolerance policy on fake reviews. Learn more






Submit your review
Preview your review

Recent reviews of this property



AJ Y




“Bad Bathrooms”


Warning! If you are tall or big, you may not be able to use the bathroom in the beachfront units. Please take notice that they do not have any photos of the bathrooms on the Beachcomber site. They also will not work with you to let you out of your week once you find out that the bathroom is not user friendly. BUYER BEWARE.


beach towels, and anything you might need. Our unit didn't face the ocean, however we could see the bay in morning and watched the sunrise. In the unit, there was an assortment of books and videos from which to choose. The location is awesome. You are right on the beach. They also have a pool and an outdoor grill. In the lobby there is a little entertainment room with a couple of tables with chairs and a wet bar. We took advantage of this when we had some friends over for dinner and of course you can see the sunset from there. We never had any trouble with noise from any other guests. It was summer, so off-season but the property was still about half full. They are building a new grocery store across the street due to be open in December. Longboat Key is a very nice laid-back area. Not a lot going on there, but if you want to just kick back and enjoy the beach, it's for you. I highly recommend this for families, couples, or a getaway with friends. You can't go wrong. Clean, quiet, friendly and you've got the beach. What more could you need? Also if the summer suits you it's off season and the prices are very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Warning! If you are tall or big, you may not be able to use the bathroom in the beachfront units. Please take notice that they do not have any photos of the bathrooms on the Beachcomber site. They also will not work with you to let you out of your week once you find out that the bathroom is not user friendly. BUYER BEWARE.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed in unit 504, new kitchen counter tops, new tile floors and tile on walls. With the beach view we felt like we were on a cruise ship with a balcony. Very clean unit as well. Overall a wonderful vacation, the staff was quite pleasent and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in room 401 - it was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. We had a 6 yr old and a 18mos old and the amenities worked out just fine. (We rented a playpen from a local vacation rental companyfor the 18mos old).
With two small kids, having pool and beach right at your door is priceless! There is shopping within a 6 minute walk, but we rented a car which allowed us much more flexibility to find local activities for the kids (like the aquarium and ice cream place the next town over.

What I liked best - the View! Everytime we walked outside, view of the beach took my breath away, also I will never forget, having a stork come up to us on the patio one night as we were eating dinner. What I liked least - leaving!

BTW, I recommend having a car. They told us there was public transit, but when we arrived, we saw one bus and it did not travel very frequently.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

first time in longboat, and at the beachcomber.
we absolutly loved it.we stayed in 505...
we went when it was spring break time.
it was so quiet and peaceful.no one ever bothered you.
we will be back and i'm telling all my friends.
thanks for a great place.
we had to stay in clearwater a few days before we had to come back home.
and i cried it was awful the hotel and the beach..
i will never go there again..i just wanted to go back to beachcomber.

Room Tip: we never heard a thing in our place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.