We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Holiday at the Beachcomber” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save Saved
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Norcross, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Heavenly Holiday at the Beachcomber”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

When we arrived the first thing I noticed was someone up on a balcony cleaning. In fact, we found everything clean and in good working order and each time we passed through the lobby there was always someone tidying something up. The staff could not have been nicer. The unit was well equipped, kitchen and bathroom, immaculate, plenty of bath and beach towels. Off the lobby is a room with a few tables and chairs and a wet bar. Also there is an outdoor grill and a pool. If you want to fix dinner and sit at the tables as we did you can watch the sunset over the beach. Very nice and relaxing. They are building a grocery store across the street and it will be finished in December. Also getting back to the unit, it also had a nice assortment of books and videos to suit any taste. Overall, it was a great deal (nice price in the summer during the off-season) and you have everything you could want. Whether, family, couple or friends get-together vacation, this place is ideal. I highly recommend it. Go and enjoy yourself!!!

















































































































Add a tip to help travelers choose a good room










Do you have photos to share?
(optional)






Add a photo




Sharing with friends

Show your real name and photo to Facebook friends who view your reviews on TripAdvisor.



Submit your review



I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review. I understand that TripAdvisor has a zero-tolerance policy on fake reviews. Learn more






Submit your review
Preview your review

Recent reviews of this property



AJ Y




“Bad Bathrooms”


Warning! If you are tall or big, you may not be able to use the bathroom in the beachfront units. Please take notice that they do not have any photos of the bathrooms on the Beachcomber site. They also will not work with you to let you out of your week once you find out that the bathroom is not user friendly. BUYER BEWARE.


beach towels, and anything you might need. Our unit didn't face the ocean, however we could see the bay in morning and watched the sunrise. In the unit, there was an assortment of books and videos from which to choose. The location is awesome. You are right on the beach. They also have a pool and an outdoor grill. In the lobby there is a little entertainment room with a couple of tables with chairs and a wet bar. We took advantage of this when we had some friends over for dinner and of course you can see the sunset from there. We never had any trouble with noise from any other guests. It was summer, so off-season but the property was still about half full. They are building a new grocery store across the street due to be open in December. Longboat Key is a very nice laid-back area. Not a lot going on there, but if you want to just kick back and enjoy the beach, it's for you. I highly recommend this for families, couples, or a getaway with friends. You can't go wrong. Clean, quiet, friendly and you've got the beach. What more could you need? Also if the summer suits you it's off season and the prices are very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Warning! If you are tall or big, you may not be able to use the bathroom in the beachfront units. Please take notice that they do not have any photos of the bathrooms on the Beachcomber site. They also will not work with you to let you out of your week once you find out that the bathroom is not user friendly. BUYER BEWARE.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed in unit 504, new kitchen counter tops, new tile floors and tile on walls. With the beach view we felt like we were on a cruise ship with a balcony. Very clean unit as well. Overall a wonderful vacation, the staff was quite pleasent and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in room 401 - it was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. We had a 6 yr old and a 18mos old and the amenities worked out just fine. (We rented a playpen from a local vacation rental companyfor the 18mos old).
With two small kids, having pool and beach right at your door is priceless! There is shopping within a 6 minute walk, but we rented a car which allowed us much more flexibility to find local activities for the kids (like the aquarium and ice cream place the next town over.

What I liked best - the View! Everytime we walked outside, view of the beach took my breath away, also I will never forget, having a stork come up to us on the patio one night as we were eating dinner. What I liked least - leaving!

BTW, I recommend having a car. They told us there was public transit, but when we arrived, we saw one bus and it did not travel very frequently.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

first time in longboat, and at the beachcomber.
we absolutly loved it.we stayed in 505...
we went when it was spring break time.
it was so quiet and peaceful.no one ever bothered you.
we will be back and i'm telling all my friends.
thanks for a great place.
we had to stay in clearwater a few days before we had to come back home.
and i cried it was awful the hotel and the beach..
i will never go there again..i just wanted to go back to beachcomber.

Room Tip: we never heard a thing in our place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed in Unit #602. 2Bdr, 2- half baths and a shared shower area between.

There is not a lot of extra floor space, so things can be a bit snug for a family of four, but it had a great balcony overlooking the beach. The pool had plenty of chairs available. There are also beach chairs available to bring down by the water.

If you only need the room for sleeping and getting ready between journeys to the pool, beach and surrounding area, it works out great. This unit does not have updated amenities like flat screen TVs (I think my ipad screen was larger than the tv in the master bedroom). Twin beds in the 2nd bedroom, take up most of the space. You need to move a bed to get into the closet. I'm wide and barely fit in the bathroom, but again, it met our needs.

All the necessities are there for preparing meals. Coffee or anything on the balcony is great. It was 82 and sunny all week. The beach is more "shelly" than at Anna Maria Island, but with a pair of sneakers, you can go for miles. Two piers are nearby. Saw two Dolphins off shore during the week.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My family began staying at The Beachcomber in the '80's while I was in high school. We took yearly vacations (last week of May) to Longboat Key for over 15 years, staying at The Beachcomber every time. It is a small 5 story complex with 20 (two bedroom-one bath, shared tub/shower but separate vanities and toilets) gulf facing condos and 20 (one bedroom, one bath) bay facing condos. We always stayed in a 2 bedroom end unit on the gulf side.
The only thing you need to bring is your swimsuit. The condos are indivdually owned and very well appointed. They differ greatly in design, some owners have remodeled, others haven't, so checkout the pictures of each condo on The Beachcomber's website. We always stayed in one of the end units because of the added light, and view, from the side window. The balconies are HUGE and offer spectacular views of the gulf. The gulf front pool has more than enough space for the kids to swim and for you to cool off. Now, the beach......When I went there as a teenager, the beach was tiny and at high tide it was non existent. The village (?) did a beach restoration years ago that made the beach plenty wide enough to play, sunbathe and stroll......it's fantastic.
I will fill you in on the only thing that may negatively affect your vacation. In recent years the "lovebugs" have taken over this area of Florida. They look a bit like fireflies and won't bite. During the late spring/early summer they swarm to mate and then die. I am not talking about a few here and there.........I'm talking hundreds of thousands. We swept our balcony a couple times a day to get rid of the "lovebug" bodies. They are quite a nuisance, but we are an easy going bunch and in no way did this event ruin our vacation(s), but if you are more "rigid" or have a fear of bugs you will not enjoy the beach during "lovebug season".
The location of the Beachcomber is fabulous! It is directly across the street from Avenue of the Flowers shopping area which contains a Publix, CVS, a few restaurants and specialty shops. Very easily walkable if you need to grab a few items.
If you are the type of person who is "go go go" on vacation there are many local things to do and see. The Ringling Museum, shopping on St. Armand's Circle and the outlet malls, deep sea and pier fishing, Busch Gardens in Tampa, jet ski rentals, Mote Marine Aquarium......we've done them all over the years. Management lives on site and keeps the place clean and organized. Choose The Beachcomber and you won't be disappointed, it's a good value and great location.

Room Tip: End units on gulf and bay sides offer extra light and view from a window. Units ending in 4-8 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.