We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
warren
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

first time in longboat, and at the beachcomber.
we absolutly loved it.we stayed in 505...
we went when it was spring break time.
it was so quiet and peaceful.no one ever bothered you.
we will be back and i'm telling all my friends.
thanks for a great place.
we had to stay in clearwater a few days before we had to come back home.
and i cried it was awful the hotel and the beach..
i will never go there again..i just wanted to go back to beachcomber.

Room Tip: we never heard a thing in our place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed in Unit #602. 2Bdr, 2- half baths and a shared shower area between.

There is not a lot of extra floor space, so things can be a bit snug for a family of four, but it had a great balcony overlooking the beach. The pool had plenty of chairs available. There are also beach chairs available to bring down by the water.

If you only need the room for sleeping and getting ready between journeys to the pool, beach and surrounding area, it works out great. This unit does not have updated amenities like flat screen TVs (I think my ipad screen was larger than the tv in the master bedroom). Twin beds in the 2nd bedroom, take up most of the space. You need to move a bed to get into the closet. I'm wide and barely fit in the bathroom, but again, it met our needs.

All the necessities are there for preparing meals. Coffee or anything on the balcony is great. It was 82 and sunny all week. The beach is more "shelly" than at Anna Maria Island, but with a pair of sneakers, you can go for miles. Two piers are nearby. Saw two Dolphins off shore during the week.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My family began staying at The Beachcomber in the '80's while I was in high school. We took yearly vacations (last week of May) to Longboat Key for over 15 years, staying at The Beachcomber every time. It is a small 5 story complex with 20 (two bedroom-one bath, shared tub/shower but separate vanities and toilets) gulf facing condos and 20 (one bedroom, one bath) bay facing condos. We always stayed in a 2 bedroom end unit on the gulf side.
The only thing you need to bring is your swimsuit. The condos are indivdually owned and very well appointed. They differ greatly in design, some owners have remodeled, others haven't, so checkout the pictures of each condo on The Beachcomber's website. We always stayed in one of the end units because of the added light, and view, from the side window. The balconies are HUGE and offer spectacular views of the gulf. The gulf front pool has more than enough space for the kids to swim and for you to cool off. Now, the beach......When I went there as a teenager, the beach was tiny and at high tide it was non existent. The village (?) did a beach restoration years ago that made the beach plenty wide enough to play, sunbathe and stroll......it's fantastic.
I will fill you in on the only thing that may negatively affect your vacation. In recent years the "lovebugs" have taken over this area of Florida. They look a bit like fireflies and won't bite. During the late spring/early summer they swarm to mate and then die. I am not talking about a few here and there.........I'm talking hundreds of thousands. We swept our balcony a couple times a day to get rid of the "lovebug" bodies. They are quite a nuisance, but we are an easy going bunch and in no way did this event ruin our vacation(s), but if you are more "rigid" or have a fear of bugs you will not enjoy the beach during "lovebug season".
The location of the Beachcomber is fabulous! It is directly across the street from Avenue of the Flowers shopping area which contains a Publix, CVS, a few restaurants and specialty shops. Very easily walkable if you need to grab a few items.
If you are the type of person who is "go go go" on vacation there are many local things to do and see. The Ringling Museum, shopping on St. Armand's Circle and the outlet malls, deep sea and pier fishing, Busch Gardens in Tampa, jet ski rentals, Mote Marine Aquarium......we've done them all over the years. Management lives on site and keeps the place clean and organized. Choose The Beachcomber and you won't be disappointed, it's a good value and great location.

Room Tip: End units on gulf and bay sides offer extra light and view from a window. Units ending in 4-8 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have been to Longboat Key several times over the years and have always stayed a the The Beachcomber. For a simple, quiet and laid back atmosphere, The Beachcomber can't be beat. The ocean views and sunsets are phenomenal and the beach area is quiet and comfortable.

The Beachcomber is an older property and as such will have some quirkiness, but it's definitely quiet and comfortable. How much time do all these people that complain about the condos, stay in them. We're always on the beach or doing something fun!

We will continue to come to LBK and stay at Th Beachcomber.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We spend the thanksgiving week at appartment 608. It was wondeful! Great vacation!

Room Tip: We were driving from Georgia and I brought a lot of stuff with me thinking I would need it. Tip for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have been to the Beachcomber for several years now. We continue to be very pleased, i.e., offers great value and is conventiently located to the ocean (just out the door), shopping, restaurants, and recreation. If there is anything you need, management is on site to assist.

This facility offers you a comfortable stay without the highrise environment.

Don and Jennifer G

Room Tip: If you have a preference as to color or decor, be sure to look at the web-site pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic week in this beautifully appointed condo right on the beach. The decorating was done keeping the beach home feel in mind. All the ammenities met our requirements as far as furnishings, kitchen, bedroom, and bath accessories. Obviously a well thoughtout plan for potential renters to be able to enjoy all the comforts of a home away from home. This place would definitely be one we'd consider again when coming to this area.

Room Tip: We chose the beach side because we love to shell and to watch the lovely sunsets from our large balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
3.3 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.