We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE AND RELAXATION ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Russell, KY
1 review
“GREAT VALUE AND RELAXATION ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have been to the Beachcomber for several years now. We continue to be very pleased, i.e., offers great value and is conventiently located to the ocean (just out the door), shopping, restaurants, and recreation. If there is anything you need, management is on site to assist.

This facility offers you a comfortable stay without the highrise environment.

Don and Jennifer G

Room Tip: If you have a preference as to color or decor, be sure to look at the web-site pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic week in this beautifully appointed condo right on the beach. The decorating was done keeping the beach home feel in mind. All the ammenities met our requirements as far as furnishings, kitchen, bedroom, and bath accessories. Obviously a well thoughtout plan for potential renters to be able to enjoy all the comforts of a home away from home. This place would definitely be one we'd consider again when coming to this area.

Room Tip: We chose the beach side because we love to shell and to watch the lovely sunsets from our large balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

When I booked the beachcomber at short notice, I explained that my wife was terminally ill, and that we needed a peaceful apartment with a sea view as this would be her last holiday. We had read some of the reviews and had selected the beachcomber because it said it would be peaceful. When we arrived we were very pleased with the unit we were in.
That pleasure soon turned to unhappiness when workmen arrived to continue installation of the sprinkler system. This consisted of them hammer drilling into the concrete ceilings and walls in the corridor outside our condo. This was so loud that we had to shout to each other to be heard. Relaxing was completely ot of the question. I immediately complained to the office and was told that the work had to be completed. The workmen were later moved to another floor for the remainder of that day but we could still hear the drilling and hammering. The following day they were back on our floor not only was there noise but a strong smell of solvent that was being used to join the sprinkler pipes.
While I understand the need for work to be carried out, I should have been warned about the noise so that I could have chosen altenative accomodation. I explained this to the office staff and I have suggested compensation for the disturbance and distress this caused my wife, but this request has been constantly refused.
My terrible overall rating is not for the unit we were in, but for the way the staff failed to forewarn us about the noise, even though I had explained the need for peace and quiet. It was clear that this work was in progress when we booked and so there is no excuse for not mentioning it. I also feel that they have been very unsympathetic to the situation and can't understand why we would be unhappy about the noise. I wouldn't want to book the beachcomber again because if they don't feel that ongoing building work is important enough to mention, what else would they not tell propective guests?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our first stay at The Beachcomber and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a peaceful stay on the beach. Clean and comfortable stay in unit #504 facing the ocean. Only 2 of us so there was plenty of space but could hav easily had 4-6 comfortably. Nice new kicthen counters and appliances were perfect for breakfast and lunch. Publix (grocery store) is directly across the street. Beautiful sunsets, fluffy beach and lots of shells. Lounge chairs and umbrellas available for use on the beach.

Room Tip: All the even number units face the ocean, even if you don't need the space it's well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is our second stay and certainly will not be out last. The condo units have been great. They are clean and equipped with all the necessities. The beach, the pool, the condos--it is all great! Thanks again. Bill and Shari C.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

my wife and i stayed in unit #508 with another couple,our very good friends and our time was great the room was very updated and clean ..........it had everything you needed,the view was beautiful and the staff was the best..................we definitely will go back !

Room Tip: we had an end unit 508 and you get a window view of the whole island
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Two years ago we stayed in unit #505 and were so pleased that we booked the same apartment again this September. From the fifth floor one has a view inland with the bay in the distance. The supermarket Publix is a five-minute stroll away across the main road. The unit was clean and tidy with more than enough living space for the two of us. The staff are kind and helpful. Everything worked as it should, though the bed is rather lumpy and the air conditioning loud. These are minor quibbles and I would certainly recommend the Beachcomber to others looking for a vacation next to the beach. This is the best place (and best value for money) of the five or six places we've stayed at on Longboat Key.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.