We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LBK is awesome; property OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Beachcomber
Save Saved
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Cbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LBK is awesome; property OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Just returned from a week on LBK. I'll break down my review into three parts: Longboat Key area, the unit we rented (#303) and the Beachcomber property.

LBK (5 stars) - PROS: area is beautiful & plenty to do within a short drive (St. Armand's, downtown Sarasota, Anna Maria Island, etc). Very good for outdoor exercise - biking, running, walking. Restaurant options are endless - our favorite for this trip was Owen's Fish Camp in Sarasota. We also really like Taste of Italy on St. Armand's Circle - great pizza, pasta, and salads. Kilwin's is the best - fudge, peanut brittle, and ice cream all in one stop! CONS: We have none!

Unit #303 (3 stars) - PROS: Has all of the basics you will need. Wireless internet included. Living room furniture is very comfortable. All of the kitchen appliances work well. Unit is cleaned after each rental. CONS: Needs a deep cleaning. Kitchen cupboards are very cluttered - trash can is stored next to pots & pans with no separation. Dirty baseboards in many areas, and bathroom vent has softball-sized lint ball spewing dirt from the ceiling. Chose to purchase new pillows for pullout sofa as those provided for the pullout were heavily stained. Missing smoke detector in kitchen/dining area. Bedroom pillows provided are flat - be aware in case you like a fluffy pillow (if so, bring your own).

Beachcomber (2 stars) - PROS: Very clean inside & outside the building. Plenty of parking and the outdoor areas are beautifully landscaped. Nice common area on the ground floor and a covered area outdoors with lounge chairs and dining table/chairs; also a gas grill for use (we did not use it, though). On-site laundry room has three washers & four dryers (use the bottom dryers - they seem to work better). Pool is next to the beach, so you can be "at the beach" without sitting in sand if that's not your thing. Located conveniently across from Publix market, CVS, liquor store, and banks. CONS: On-site management could really improve the experience by being more friendly and welcoming. They put off a vibe of rental guests being a bother to them. Seemed overly critical of active older kids but okay w/ younger ones (pre-K). There are labeled & laminated signs with instructions for everything - how to press elevator button, how to open a door ("on the handle, not the glass!") and perhaps the most ridiculous of all - the Beachcomber does not allow you to have sunscreen on while in the pool. The posted rule says you must take a SOAPY shower before entering the pool to remove sunscreen. There's this thing called skin cancer, in case you haven't heard. Perhaps the most disappointing was when one of the managers told my 10 year old to fill a hole on the beach that someone else had dug. This was very irritating and we requested to check out early and get a refund for the remaining days of our stay. The manager told my husband that Florida law requires holes to be filled in. Fine, but tell the person who dug the hole to fill it in. My son merely played in the hole for 20-30 minutes.

The owner & management will likely reply to this review & state we are disgruntled because they would not let us check out early & get a refund. Simply not the case. We asked to check out because we felt unwelcome by the management at the Beachcomber. It seemed our kids were being picked on by the managers. When our request was denied, we went on with our vacation.

We have rented several vacation properties and have never had any issues. We leave condos better stocked and cleaner than when we arrived (in fact, I swept & vacuumed #303 at the Beachcomber 3 times while we were there). We go to bed at a decent time, don't make loud noise, and we clean up after ourselves.

Our reason for posting this review is to give a balanced summary of OUR experience from OUR point of view. I hope that if the unit owner & on-site managers read the review, they will internalize our feedback and adjust so that future guests have an outstanding experience at the Beachcomber.

Longboat Key is wonderful - enjoy!

Room Tip: Great for laid back couples; choose a 2BR unit for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachbums76, General Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
So sorry we could not meet your expectations. Once in a while we have guests like you that feel state laws, local codes, and property rules do not apply to them.

Happily we are fortunate enough that the vast majority of our guests, as well as the many returning guests, some for 20 years or more, enjoy their stays with us.

Best of luck on your future visits to other properties.

Respectfully, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We chose this location because of the direct gulf front view, and we were not disappointed with the excellent balcony view. Each morning, we enjoyed sitting on the balcony for breakfast. The unit we stayed in was a little dated for appliances, but it was clean and the furniture was in good condition. The hallway to the condo units are not air conditioned and there is exposed wiring along the top of the wall. I think the wiring may go to the fire alarm system, but not sure. The coin laundry is down on the first floor near the community room. The drawback to the laundry room, other than it not being conveniently located in your room, is that there is no change machine and you must carry your laundry through the lobby area which goes to the pool and beach. The office does have change available which is handy. The beach access is directly out the door and is so nice to be so close to the water. There are several chairs and floats available for use as well as some on hand in the unit. We brought our own, but found that it was not necessary. Overall, we had a nice stay and loved that it was not overcrowded at the pool or beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

July 2011

Pros:

close to Publix, St. Armand's Circle, Sarasota, multiple beaches, restaurants, etc.

Cons:

Property - very basic condo property, very small pool, not kid friendly by any stretch of the imagination.
Unit - dated and a little dirty
Management - rude/nasty; first time we have ever experienced anything like it; rules for everything under the sun posted all over the property. Pool rules are a joke, and you are stalked by management every second you are in the pool area. If you just want to stand in the water, motionless, then this place is for you.

There are many additional options on LBK (or surrounding area) that are much nicer, cleaner, and many that are more kid friendly as well.

Pretty confident we won't be back to the Beachcomber.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This was our first stay at the Beachcomber but we plan to be back. Like all the accommodations on the Gulf-side of LBK, the beach here is beautiful. The Beachcomber location was ideal, quiet but within walking distance of a grocery and several restaurants . Our condo was clean and well equipped, pleasantly appointed. Some units are more updated than others but you can see each one on their website. Having a manager on-site is always good and the several-person staff here was very nice; helpful and pleasant. Free WiFi in all rooms and the public area. We've stayed at other places on LBK, some much more expensive and some about the same. For the money, this was a great value. We'll stay in the 2 bedroom units next time though, facing the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

Have stayed at the Beachcomber more than 5 times over the last 8 years or so. A great property directly on the beach in Longboat key. LBK has tons of multi million dollar homes but we like the Beachcomber beacause it is very clean, simple but elegant and right on a beautiful calm beach.

  • Liked — Beautiful beach. Great Restaurants.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Eleven of us rented 3 of the beachfront condos for a family get together. It was everything we needed. Very clean, super management, very secure, very quiet The condos are beachfront with beautiful views and sunsets. The beachfront area was very clean and never crowded. They have a super pool for the kids. The location is great. We will be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.