We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Save Saved
You added Gulf Tides of Longboat Key to your Saves list
3005 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have been staying at Gulf Tides for over 10 years and this place keeps getting better! The majority of our stays have been in the two bedroom units across the street from the beach, although one time we were fortunate enough to stay in the penthouse. The rooms are spacious and clean with views to the east and west. The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms have been updated with new counters, bedding, lighting, etc. The staff is always friendly and helpful. At the beach are chairs that can be taken closer to the water so you don't have to worry about bringing your own. There is a tennis court, pool, grills and bikes that are available on site, along with direct access to a well kept sidewalk/trail that runs the length of the island. The highlight of each day is enjoying the sunset from the beach. It is always hard to leave Gulf Tides, but we always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Jennifer K,

We're glad to hear you continue to vacation with us at Gulf Tides year after year. The pent house is truly a treat! Thank you for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I'll start with when we leave.....most every time I shed a few tears because we're leaving! We have been coming to Gulf Tides for almost 20 yrs! We've seen the great updating and improvements over the years and the continued new additions like the wonderful kitchen and new household items. We love having a beach that's private with none of that "saving your beach chair with a towel" as there are plenty for all. The staff at Gulf Tides is always friendly; for us it's like visiting family. They always go the extra mile! I love the pool, and also the beach with the wonderful lounge chairs and just pulling those chairs right down near the water close to the surf and sunshine! My husband bikes nearly every day so having a bike available gets him out and about! We may shed some more tears leaving, but we LIVE for the arriving!!!

Room Tip: We like the Bayside second floor 2-bedrooms with the pool and tennis courts below us....it's jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi James R,

Love your photo! Thank you for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear you enjoyed another fantastic stay with us at Gulf Tides. 20 years is a long time and we're so happy we've continued to satisfy you and your family for all these years. Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first stay here..we were here for our 20th anniversary. We stayed in 301, the gulf side penthouse and could not be more happy with our choice. It was very clean, roomy, and quiet. We loved sitting on the balcony, fishing off the beach and watching the sunset every evening. If you want a quiet, relaxing place to stay, this place is perfect!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Janet C,

Thank you for writing us a review and congratulations on 20 years! We're thrilled you chose Gulf Tides in Longboat Key for your anniversary getaway. Hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been comming to gulftides for two years now i love it. i love the location i love the staff and i love the unit. Everytime we come we never want to leave. we feel right at home. Nice beach right outside my door. Nice pool across the street and nice neighboors all around. Our favorite thing todo is ride the bikes they have for rent here.Its fun to feel the breeze in your hair as you stroll down gulf of mexico Dr or wherever it may take you. We will be returning for many years to come.

Room Tip: Any room is good hear i recomend the units on the beach just to get the real feel of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Daniel D,

Beach bike rides are one of our favorites as well! It's always so peaceful-- just you, the Gulf, and your wheels. We're happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us again and again and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went to Gulf Tides for our children's Spring break. The resort is well kept and very clean. We stayed at a unit across the street from the beach. There is a very short walk to the private beach. They provide plenty of beach chairs, towels etc... The pool is small but very clean. The staff at the resort is very nice and accommodating.

The only problem we experienced was from an owner of a timeshare at the resort who was not happy to see children and made some inappropriate comments. Apparently they rarely get families with young children. Most people we met were timeshare owners at this resort and not renters.

We ate at the Lazy Lobster and Dry Dock and had wonderful dinners. It truly is a beautiful area to visit.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Fisherbabe91,

We're sorry to hear about your disgruntled neighbor and hope you enjoyed your vacation with us regardless! We primarily operate as a timeshare, so the majority of our guests are owners however we frequently have renters, especially this time of year. Thanks for taking time to write us a review and we hope to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed at Gulftides before and were so happy to be able to stay here again. We stayed in a 2 bedroom both times and find them perfect for four of us! King bed in master is quite comfortable and private updated bath for the master is very nice. Updated kitchen is terrific for cooking and grilling by the ocean; we were able to put together delicious meals! We rarely used the air conditioning because of the nice ceiling fans in all the rooms. Beaches here are wonderful too! We love the personal touch of this 21 unit resort. The staff is so friendly and takes care of our every need. We WILL be back!

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms are across the road from the Gulf. They are perfect if you use the pool a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi JBSWANSON,

Thanks for taking time to write us a review! It sounds like you had another fantastic stay with us at Gulf Tides. Glad you enjoyed your vacation and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a wonderful little gem in paradise! We have always gone to bigger resorts, but there is no comparison to the comfortable feeling at Gulf Tides. The staff is excellent and extremely friendly. The units are impeccably clean and up to date. The pool, tennis court and grounds were immaculate. Loved the idea that if you needed something extra like a beach umbrella or a bigger pot or a mixer all you had to do was go to the office and they had it. They have bikes you borrow, no rental fees on anything. Beach was beautiful and plenty of chairs. The staff definitely take pride in their work and in their facility. I can't say enough about the place. Will definitely go back and would consider purchasing a unit.

Room Tip: Don't necessarily need to be on the beach side of the resort. More 2 bedrooms on the bay side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Susan B!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Gulf Tides! And even more so that you're considering purchasing a timeshare with us! We pride ourselves on our family-like work environment, and always do our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for taking time to write us a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Tides of Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

Address: 3005 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, luxurious studios, one bedroom and two bedroom condominiums border the Gulf of Mexico. Each condo has a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, linens, central heat and air, private phones and free laundry facilities either in your condo or in your building. Tennis court, pool, bicycles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Of Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.