We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Says it all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longboat Bay Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longboat Bay Club
3200 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW! Says it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

WOW!
This was our first time at Longboat Bay Club but we have exchanged into many resorts over the last twenty years including others on Longboat Key and this was hands down the best of all. We had an end unit with wrap around balcony. Very spacious and well appointed. Beautifully and comfortably furnished. Closets and storage space galore. Assigned covered parking space an added bonus. Although not on the Gulf, we had a view of the Gulf and also of the sunsets from the small balcony off the kitchen. The staff was extraordinarily pleasant and helpful. On the one small problem with plumbing I reported to the desk, it was fixed before I even got back to the unit. We would to live there but will settle for another exchange next year if available.

Room Tip: The end units with wraparound balcony are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We managed to get a last-minute RCI exchange into the Longboat Bay Club and all we can say is WOW. The photos online do not do justice to the resort. Our unit was on the 2nd floor. It was at least 1500 square feet, 2BR/2BA. Master bath featured a huge garden tub! I understand only a few units have the garden tub and what a wonderful surprise. The unit had a large balcony overlooking a private cove. When we checked in Saturday, the resort manager claimed that manatees and their calves were hanging around the docks...and they were! It was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen on vacation.

Resort provided sturdy bicycles, beach umbrellas, and sand chairs. You have to cross the street to get to the beach, and that is a bit of a drag, but we expected this. Very few others were on the beach, despite the gorgeous sunny weather. The entire island was peaceful. The new Publix is right down the street along with a new liquor store (very important!)

We were pleased with the furnishings and general appearance of the unit. A very large TV in the living room was nice, as was the king size sleep number bed in the master BR. I liked the large vanity area in the master bath as well.

Our coffeemaker quit working the third day of our vacation. I called the resort office and within five minutes, someone was at my door with a brand-new coffeemaker. The staff is only at the resort until 5PM and not there at all on Sundays, but they were very friendly and attentive.

This resort seems to have more RCI inventory than a lot of those on Longboat Key. We have already put a search in to stay here again next year!

Room Tip: The corner units have wrap-around balconies. Our unit did not but it still had a great view of the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We purchased an every other year unit at the Longboat Bay Club probably 10 years ago and have enjoyed using the resort.
It's got a wonderful location which is near all the places to go for entertainment and great restaurants. It's a quiet resort with very spacious rooms that are much larger than most timeshares and the units while not the most up to date, are extremely well maintained.
Longboat Key doesn't have a lot of timeshares and we consider this one to be one of the best. It's a beautiful area with great bike paths and beautiful homes surrounded by tropical blue waters. We own timeshares on Marco and Sanibel Island and Longboat Key and the Bay Club are tops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at many Gold Crown Resorts on the beach, but this was by far the best one. It was 1600 sq. ft. and we had a view of the Gulf out the front door and a view of the bay out the back. They even have their own boat docks you can use for free. We brought our own bikes, but never used them, because they have free beach bikes which were in great condition! We got to see the sunrise and sunset without ever leaving the room. It was super clean and the furniture was in excellent condition. We even had a family of manatees swim up to the docks. Apparently they are frequent flyers there. What an unexpected treat! Longboat Key is great for those who wish to have a quiet family vacation away from the typical beach tourist traps. We come to FL every year and this will definitely be my first choice the next time we come down!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have spent many years at this resort and finally decided that we had to move on to better options. This place is in need of a major overhaul. Although the area is quiet, the pool is maintained adequately and the location is good, the furniture is in need of replacing. The boat docks have not been maintained and have been over grown by mangrove shoots. Barbecues are not clean.The carpets and tiling in the bath areas are not well maintained. In fact they appear dirty. The sofa and chairs in the living room are uncomfortable. The sleep number bed is lumpy and not worth sleeping on. We had sore backs all week.The kitchen is out of date for the 21st century Cabinets are very 1980's era and need replacing. There was a lack of oversight to the inventory control. Many items were missing or just not there.. Coffee maker etc. is out of date and was not clean upon arrival. Garbarator did not work. Also the balcony was not cleaned and the previous guest had left sea shells and sand all over the place. It was cleaned after we mentioned it. There were no plastic cups for the pool area and we had to ask for those. This too was looked after. So the staff try to accommodate the guests but there really has to be work done to the premises to make it attractive and up to date. Although this requires a considerable investment, if this resort hopes to attract guests it must really improve the accommodations to suit those wanting a comfortable and clean place to vacation. Hopefully the directors of this facility will use the funds from maintenance fees to address the many issues involved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We lucked into finding this gem 4 years ago and have been back every year since. The rooms are terrific; plenty of space, comfortable beds, 3 TVs, large living area, big stocked kitchen, washer and dryer, dishwasher, microwave and the outside balconies are wonderful.

The view of the sunset every night from right outside your front door is beautiful. The location is ideal; many wonderful restaurants, Mote Aquarium, St Armand’s Circle, beautiful beach across the street, CVS and Publix 2 minutes away, Sarasota within a short 15 minute drive – all you need is a stone’s throw away.

The facility staff are all wonderful – they are welcoming and accommodating. On-site there is a tennis court and basketball hoop, a cove for fishing and docking a boat, a pool and hot tub, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas and even gas grills for a nice BBQ if you choose. With only 15 units it feels very private and you feel catered to at all times.

Another wonderful perk is that on windy days/nights your back balcony and the pool area are both very sheltered. You can leave the beach on a windy day to then settle into a calm and relaxing break by the pool/hot tub.

We love LBK and are so grateful that we came here first since the Longboat Bay Club has made a terrific vacation spot even better due to their uniqueness.

We could not recommend Longboat Bay Club more highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Probably the most beautifully appointed suite we've ever enjoyed on a vacation. We booked it "free" on points so I really don't know the actual cost. Free bikes w locks, few miles biking to St. Armands circle--a must see in the area. Public access to wonderful, never-ending beach is just across the street.leave extra EXTRA time for vacationers traffic on the only access road in the area. Chart House restaurant (pricey) not far. New Publix grocery and CVS Pharmacy near by. Just a fantastic, relaxing stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Longboat Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longboat Bay Club

Address: 3200 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a swim in our heated pool while looking out into the waters of Cranes Bay. Looking for something more active? Enjoy a challenging game of tennis on our lighted court. Bikes are available to all guests who want to explore our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longboat Bay Club Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longboat Bay Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Longboat Bay Club to your Saves list