We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third febuary visit..might be 4rth ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
3155 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“third febuary visit..might be 4rth ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Another 8000 mile round trip to a great place, apt 262 had bits & peices upgraded which has made a differance, we were above the office which with nocturnal jet-lag meant we didnt disturb those below, being a keen fisherman I can tell anybody interested, forget going during the day, I cracked it this time! Republix frozen prawn, & hit the beach just as the sun goes over the horizon, & into dark.....I used 2 hooks & it was Drum after Drum with a few Sheeps head & whiting, lots of double hook ups, & do not cast more than 15 ft...watch out for the stingray, they were in abundance & quite large, like 4 ft across! all in all......great for me......& family were nicely located to socialise at Longboat Key Club & St Armends

Room Tip: Be honest with your self on what you expect for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
37
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Three Rivers, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

WOW right on the Gulf listen to the waves crashing Small resort, 50 units all decorated differently. with lovely pool and swimming in the Gulf. On up scale Long Boat Key, mostly casual but some dressy eateries. we stayed in a second floor studio with a taste of old Florida.
Terrazo floors .. updated granite kitchen and flattop stove. We cooked a little but so many restaurants and grouper, The resort was very clean and the staff friendly & helpful. What fun to spot dolphin and pelicans diving. GREAT SHOPPING at St Armands Circle my credit card melted.
A trolley runs up and down the island and also goes to St Armands & Sarasota very neat!

Room Tip: Pool toward middle south & north end rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Beautiful Gulf sunsets; clean beach is just steps away, very peaceful. Just returned from my second visit to The Diplomat (01-2012 & 02-2013). WOW! Don't know where to begin with my praise.The new office staff is young, energetic, polite, considerate, helpful, upbeat. Previous staff gave me the impression they were there to just collect a pay check.The cleaned up office looks more business-like. New maintenance person is a treasure! He knows how to fix it rather than calling in an outside source. Outside night lighting showed a huge improvement this year. Good job! Grounds are clean & looking fantastic.Who ever put the "D" in front of the office deserves a raise! Great idea! Housekeeping staff is very courteous,hard working,always ready to please. I highly recommend The Diplomat. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great studio kitchenette right on the beach for $163/night complete. We don't need the aminities of a hotel but like the use of refrigerator to store our food and drinks. Reported leak in BR sink and fixed immediately. Daily maid service. Igrets, blue heron on lanai, pelicans in the ocean and many sea gulls on beach. Shell collecting. Free parking. Great restaurants with very good food on all the Keys and Serasota. Would like to go back to Ringling Museum and Selby Botanical Gardens in Serasota and Dali Museum in St Petersburg - all excellent. On the way home snorkled with the manatees in Homosassa: what an experiended. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Beautiful location. Quiet beach at your doorstep. Great service and a variety of Condo choices. Our choice Unit 219 was close to the pool, clean and nicely appointed, king size bed with a bedroom TV. Convenient nearby restaurants. Glorious sunsets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a great place to go and relax. Located right on the beach. Great sunsets every night. We stayed in room 226 and 228. One was a 1 bedroom and the other a efficiency. Both kitchens are well equiped. You can have them as separate rooms or you can open door and have both. Rooms are clean. Great restaurants and shopping in the area. There is also places for the kids to visit. Check this on line.

Room Tip: I stayed on the bottom floor but the second floor is fine too. I like to be right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fabulous week at the Diplomat. Location is perfect. Quiet, clean; friendly staff. The beach is very close and the sunset views spectacular. The cost is reasonable and site is close to many stores and restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort to your Saves list