We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week in LongBoat Key!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Save
You added The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort to your Saves list
3155 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Getaway Special!
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful week in LongBoat Key!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just came back from a wonderful week at the Diplomat Unit #214 in Long Boat Key, Florida.
The room was quite comfortable -- open the door and the beach is right there...very much a hidden treasure. The weather very nice, sunsets beautiful -- able to walk the beach daily.
Love the pool - outside view of the Gulf of Mexico and watch the dolphins swim by.
St Armands Circle has wonderful restaurants and gift shops and the kids, especially enjoyed the Mote Aquarium...the manatees; sea turtles and all types of fish.
I am telling all my friends -- great vacation, great value / go there!

Room Tip: This bottom floor unit was great -- walk right out onto the beach. Beach chairs are here to relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
42
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment we entered 256 located on the second floor, we were awe struck by the view captured through expansive windows. We felt like we were on a cruise ship. The friendly atmosphere of staff and repeat visitors quickly became contagious. While the building may appear dated it is well kept up. The living area is open and comfortably spacious.with a well equipped kitchen. Our family of five was very comfortably accommodated with two full size beds in the bedroom and a queen size sleeper sofa in the living area. Cleaning and linen service was excellent. This is a a definite "come back soon"!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just spent a week at the Diplomat Resort on Longboat Key. Our room #229 was beautifully decorated, we had a well stocked kitchen, everything we needed was there. The beach was just a few steps from our ground floor room, the pool was great and the view is just amazing. Can't wait to go back, already booked the same room for next year.l

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this resort in September 2012. The first thing you notice is the beach is only steps away from your room. Although the place appears to be an old-fashioned style motel, our room (262) had just recently been updated by the owner and had all the usual amenities you would expect including full size kitchen with dishwasher. The room was clean and the office staff helpful. They have the older style televisions in this unit, but we spent all our time on the beach so who cares! Pool was being renovated while we were there which was kind of a bummer, but it should be fine by the time you read this review. We didn't realize the office closes at night so be sure you get there before they close or make arrangements to get your room key left out for you. We felt this place was a good value and a very beautiful location.

Room Tip: Unit 262 is an end unit above office...no neighbors to deal with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We dropped in here from Tampa for a weekend getaway and were not disappointed. The rooms were very clean and homey. We chose a room on the ground floor so we could walk straight out onto the beach. You basically have your own private beach to lounge on. They do not claim to have grills but we saw 2 that were community property. We used the tall one to make our dinner. We ate dinner by the sea at sunset. A truly incredible memory made possible by the Diplomat. The place was busy and seems to be a family destination but we were not put out at all as sometimes can happen when there are lots of kids around when it is just the 2 of you. Highly recommend this place. A great value with so much to offer. We plan to make this our go to place for getaway weekends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I return here every June for a family reunion. We have never been disappointed with the accomodations. That being said, you must understand and accept that this is an old motel which was converted to condos. Each condo is decorated according to the taste of the owner. All rooms over look the private beach and the Gulf, the view is magnificant. The beach is steps away from your room. The grounds are clean and tidy. The pool also is well maintained. The only drawbacks can be the fact that the structure is older, therefore lacks the amenities of new resorts and the office keeps restricted hours, which can be a hassle if you lock yourself out of your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband & I live in Tampa & were looking for a nearby beach getaway for a few days....Tthe Diplomat fit-our-bill - directly on the beach; nice, clean pool; our apt. (260) was comfy & had everything we needed and the staff was very hospitable. Very convenient to St Armands circle, lots of great restaurants (highly recommend Lazy Lobster on LBK) & the beach is almost like "private".
I'll admit when we drove up to the Diplomat, I was not sure about it due to the 'old motel' look, but the inside looking nothing like the outside! If you don't want kids-noise, get rooms farther from the pool! We will gladly return to The Diplomat.

Room Tip: We like being on the 2nd floor for much better views of the beach/gulf. We picked #260 from looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.