We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel to your Saves list
Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   68500 Overseas Highway, Long Key, FL 33001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Long Key B&B and Inns
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful one week stay at the Lime Tree Bay Resort. This had to be one of our most relaxing trips ever. We stayed in a motel room unit. The room itself was more than adequate with two queen beds and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was on the small side, but served it's purpose. We had a small problem with a faucet which was fixed immediately upon reporting it. The grounds are spectacular - wonderful vegetation, comfortable lounges and hammocks. BBQ grills are conventienly placed. The Lime Tree staff was very friendly, and the resident cat was adorable. There is a restaurant next door with very good food, but we were told while there that it is closing next month. That could pose a problem as it is the only restaurant on Long Key. A 15 to 20-minute drive north or south provides lots of eating options though. The pool was on the cool side, but very clean. The sunsets are nothing short of spectacular! All in all, the Lime Tree Bay Resort is quaint, comfortable, and peaceful. If you are looking for a place to unwind and relax, at reasonable prices, the Lime Tree is for you. We won't hesitate to return, or to recommend it to family and friends. (We checked out the kitchenette units while there, and definitely recommend one of those.)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    266
    134
    85
    55
See reviews for
201
358
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,dc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

Stayed here over a long President's day weekend. Staff was friendly and the other guests were too. We had one of the efficiency rooms - clean and well designed. The hotel has lots of places to hang around outside - we had a table and chairs on the little porch outside our room and the small beach has hammocks, beach chairs, and these great wicker loungers. Not the place to go if you like night life but great base for touring around the keys, coming back and mixing a drink and sitting outside to watch the sun go down. I'd like to go back every year.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

We stayed for three nights in January and we were very impressed. We had a one-room efficiency with a queen bed. Very spacious, clean, and modern. Nice small patio out front facing the ocean, and beautiful sandy spots to sit in the shade or sun under the palms steps from the ocean, bay side. Nice pool and hot tub, nice BBQ area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the rear section, so despite the proximity to the highway, it was quiet. My only negative, and it has nothing to do with the Resort, was that the ocean had a sulfur smell. I would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

This place was paradise - very quiet and peaceful - sunsets were fabulous from small beach (can't swim) or from room balcony (if you stay on 2nd floor)
Plently of hammocks on beach and nice pool and hot tub. The beach chairs were exteremely comfortable (wicker) and not those hard plastic type
Staff very friendly and there is a coffee maker in room
An Italian restaurant next door was excellent (also has braekast and lunch)- lot more crowded for dinner than I expected and not overpriced
Also gas station on island and has some groceries
but watch what you buy in the other small grocery store - check dates - the donuts were over 2 weeks past selling date
Key West about 1 hour drive
Will defintely be back next year

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

Lime Tree Bay was definitely one of the nicer resorts on the gulf side of the Keys. Durring our stay we drove the full length of the Keys looking at resorts.

Hurricanes have taken about half their pier and brought in additional seaweed, but there were lots of trees for shade and everything was very clean. The pool and hot tub were well cared for and the chemicals balanced, I'm a certified pool and spa operator and don't enter many hotel pools, but this one was very nice. The beach was not an area I could recommend for swimming but Ann's beach on the Atlantic side a few miles down the road was nice. We found lots of hermit crabs and the water was pretty warm and shallow

The staff was most accommodating and friendly. The Italian restaurant next door was excellent both for breakfast and lunch but prices double for the dinner menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

As others have said, Lime Tree Bay does not quite live up to its website. But I've yet to stay anywhere that does. For the price, it's a great little place in the middle keys. My wife and I (28 and 29) stayed for three days in late October for our fourth anniversary. On past trips we have spent our entire stay at Hawk's Cay, but this time we thought it would be fun to switch things up. We stayed in one of the suites w/ kitchen. We saved a lot of money by buying lobster, shrimp, etc. at Keys Fisheries and cooking it ourselves. The room was clean and the atmosphere was super relaxing. There's not much of a beach but that's the case throughout the Keys. If you want a beach, go to Bahia Honda for a while. The view at sunset is great, and we never had to fight for a chair or hammock. We also saw a lot of wildlife (turtle, rays, small shark) from the pier. There is a bit of traffic noise but it's easily cured with the ipod and some Jack Johnson, Iron and Wine, Calexico, or Buffett! If you're looking for posh go to Little Palm or Hawk's Cay, if you're looking for quiet go to Lime Tree Bay.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

Yes, the Lime Tree Bay Resort is close to the highway (any further away from the highway and you'd be in the water!). Yes, it is not smack dab in the middle of the action (most of the hotels in Islamorada are definitely sketchy and a rip off). Yes, it does not have a sprawling white sand beach (not many places in the mid-Keys do). BUT, it definitely was worth it for a group of 6 of us who chose to spend the new year holiday at Lime Tree Bay.

We stayed in the Zane Grey suite and were very happy with the size and overall privacy of it. Great deck with chairs and a hammock that had a very pretty view of the Gulf.

Everything was immaculately clean (trust me, I am VERY anal retentive when it comes to cleanliness), which made the stay so comfortable for us all. The bedding was clean (even the comforters), and the towels were always replenished daily.

The only very minor draw back were other uncontrollable issues such as all the seagrass build up from the hurricane tides and the broken pier. I am sure and hope that in time, those things will be repaired and cleaned up.

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Keys with some friends, and want a good deal for your dollar--definitely consider this place. I didn't see any of the other rooms, but I highly recommend the Zane Grey Suite.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel

Address: 68500 Overseas Highway, Long Key, FL 33001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Keys, 1/2 way from Miami to Key West....Comfortable, reasonable rates a great place to relax and enjoy spectacular sunsets. We are quiet and peaceful. Mini suites with kitchens, large suites with 2 bedrooms and basic standard hotel rooms. Most with a water view. Free parking, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Bay Hotel Long Key
Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel Long Key, FL - Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.