We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable and Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Live Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Live Oak to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6694 US 129 North, Live Oak, FL 32060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hospitable and Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn in Live Oak, FL has been a destination for me twice and I have been well served both times. The rooms are spacious and the very clean. The staff was friendly and the location is pristine for any Live Oak activities.

The only qualms I have would have to be the breakfast. I just think the the amount of business that this hotel is doing (nearly always full) that their breakfast would be more satisfactory. Cereal, donuts, wet eggs, and a pancake maker that doesn't exactly work right. If everyone is paying over $100 a night, then it showed some more for the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
14
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice stay. Great mattresses. Very quite. Only stayed one night on way to another area of Florida. Got off I 95. Easy parking. Close to eating places and everything in the area. I have nothing else to add as we only spent sleeping hours there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just loved this place. The rooms were immaculate and so much fun to be in. We had a great view of the pool. The staff were very friendly and he food was really a great spread. We loved it and most likely will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroadagn7
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived late (around midnight) and I was pleased that they had seen my request for a ground floor room and still had it that late. Staff was helpful. A bit disappointed that they ran out of the HIE signature cinnamon rolls the day before so none of them were available at breakfast.

Business Center printer needed some work but the front desk printed what we needed there.

It's the only national chain hotel in Live Oak so if you like to stick with a known entity that's about your only choice.

My nephew moved there recently so if we visit him again, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Consistently good with nice staff and good breakfast. Reserve
Can be pricey on festival weekends but worth the bucks. Reserve early for festival weekends--always fills up, including performing bands as guests.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hello. The rooms were clean but had that stale musty smell that seems so common in many hotels. The Internet was the slowest I have ever seen in an Hotel and the slowest I have probably seen in over 20 years. This wasn't due to high usage as the speed was the same at 0530AM as it was at 0530PM. Web pages would take over a minute to load. If your business requires good internet access this isn't the hotel for you. The following is a matter of opinion. The mattresses were new but were too firm for myself and my wife making for unsound sleep. If you like a firm mattress these would do you fine but if you are used to sleeping on a pillowtop or soft mattress you will probably find these uncomfortable. No Restaurant around

Room Tip: Continue to Lake City for better selection of Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Vernon B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is good to know you like our clean rooms. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused by the poor internet service received as well as room accommodations and unusual smell encountered. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel looks nice from the outside, but step inside and get ready to hold your nose. The door to the lobby has paper signs taped to glass saying excuse our mess. We are renovating. Should have been our first clue. Now I know why at 5 am, when we checked out, we only counted 6 cars in the parking lot.

They advertise a business center yet when asked at the front desk, they claimed to know nothing about it. Our room was upstairs. The smell from the lobby and the hallway to our room had an overpowering smell of air freshener or some other odor cover up.

Our room had problems. The lamps and the alarm clock radio was not plugged in by our bed. We tried to plug them in and discovered the electrical sockets were loose. It was so bad that we closed the door one time and the alarm clock plug fell out of the socket.

We attached pictures here showing the electrical socket above the desk was missing the safety wall cover. We found it on the floor. Also another picture shows the tile falling off in the bathroom.

Would we recommend this room to anyone. Not even to ones we do not like. Maybe they should close their doors until they finish renovations? But then again, counting only 5 cars in the parking lot at 5 am, tells us many know to avoid this place for now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear RedTraveler23,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the ongoing renovations since we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Live Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Live Oak

Address: 6694 US 129 North, Live Oak, FL 32060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Live Oak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Live Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to Live Oak, a region of natural beauty offering recreational opportunities to meet any visitor's interest. From outdoor activities to the history, charm and hospitality of an old Southern community, Suwannee County has much to offer visitors to this part of 'The Original Florida'. The Suwannee River, surrounds the county on three sides, you are never more than a few minutes away from a relaxing canoe ride or a dip in the springs. For the more adventurous, our underwater caves, including some of the longest continues systems in the world, provide spectacular cave diving experiences. The rivers are excellent for fishing with numerous varieties of game fish. With abundance of community activities visitors are invited to experience our Southern hospitality's during the many festivals and events held each year including Live Oak's Christmas and Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park's music festivals. The Holiday Inn Express invites you to start your morning with our deluxe hot breakfast. If exercise is a part of your daily routine work up a sweat in our on-site fitness facility or cool off in our large outdoor pool, then relax in our outdoor heated whirlpool. When planning your next small meeting, contact us to help meet your needs in making your function a very special event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Live Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak Hotel Live Oak
Holiday Inn Live Oak
Live Oak Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.