We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is really just mediocre.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Grill & Steer Room

Dixie Grill & Steer Room
101 Dowling Ave SE, Live Oak, FL 32064-3243
386-364-2810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Live Oak
Restaurant details
Live Oak
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food is really just mediocre.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have tried the food there several times just to be sure it wasn't an "off" night. Once I sent my dinner back 3 times & it was still cold & unacceptable. Never offered an apology or anything from management. Even though I did not eat my meal, I still paid for it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A place that you will want to go back to...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I ate there last week...and the food is honest to goodness down home coming. I had the roasted chicken and my husband had the liver and onions...we both had mashed potatoes w/gravy, collard greens (very good) and a salad. The prices are reasonable and we plan to go back the next time we are in Live Oak which will be next week.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“too expensive for the so-so quality of the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food was overdone and overpriced. burger was black on edges and service was slow

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A gem from the good ole days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Dixie Grill was recommended to us by a staff member of the Stephen Foster State Park, and echoed by a couple of other visitors in the center. So off we went for lunch. An honest to goodness genuine down home place: southern style good food, excellent service, and a nice choice of well prepared vegetables. A welcome change and relief from the fast food choices along I 10. Well worth the few minutes drive from the interstate. We'll be back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Got sick and stayed sick all week”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

There is a cat or dog fecal smell when you walk in--should have turned around and left. Steak was gristly and chewy, salad bar was down-homey meaning that the stuff you would find on it is in your own refrigerator. There aren't many choices in this town.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Grill & Steer Room also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Grill & Steer Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Grill & Steer Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.