We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Marina & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Marina & Cottages to your Saves list
Dolphin Marina & Cottages
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   28530 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 credit
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We only stayed 2 nights but had a great time...the location is awesome and the people who work there are so nice. The room we stayed in was clean but very old. The beds squeaked and weren't too comfy. But the convenience of the marina, the gorgeous view, and the adorable man-made beach made up for it. Close enough to Key West to get there easily but far enough to be away from the craziness. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lauderhill, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This summer my 19 yr old son stayed in the keys for our summer vacation..we usually go to the west coast but he wanted to try the keys this year and we found this great place!.We found this place browsing the web, drove down there one weekend and booked it after the stay.We stayed in one of the cottages ,is it alittle small sure but it was just my son and i so it was good for us.Fully furnished with everythin you need,but what's really nice is you get a 5 gallon bucket of free ice everyday if you want one!. The staff is incredible ,the scenery is amazing.maybe 30 mins from key west..how can you beat it!. In a nutshell we have found our new place in the keys!...it's not the hilton, old florida but it's awsome!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just returned from our Keys trip. We stayed at Dolphin Marina, and had a great time. The staff (Jennifer, Jan and Buddy) were awesome. We really enjoyed meeting them and cant wait to go back. We stayed at the Hibiscus, and could sit on the porch and see our boat in the water. I feel like we chose the best location for our boating and hanging out with the locals place. A+A+A+

Room Tip: Hibiscus was great, but we heard every footstep from people upstairs. Would recommend upstairs only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in Dolphin #1. The room looked *exactly* like the photos on their website. The room was spacious and the kitchen well-equipped. I enjoyed the covered porch area off of our room to read and watch the boats. The boat to Little Palm Island docked at the marina so you could do some interesting people watching.

The staff was very friendly and a large, but gentle dog greeted us on the dock. This was a clean and comfortable property. If you are used to the Four Seasons or Ritz, this is not your target vacation destination. But if you are looking for a peaceful, charming, and clean resort....don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I normally stay at a resort in Key Largo but wanted to stay in the lower keys on this trip. So after searching and searching, we decided on Dolphin Marina, but were a bit nervous due to the mixed reviews. We are so happy we didn't listen to them. Dolphin Marina is quaint, quiet, and in a fabulous location. We stayed in Reef 3. While it is a bit small, it was extremely comfortable and clean. Including the bed! Don't listen to the other reviews. It was absolutely perfect for us. Equipped with everything we needed or wanted. I even used the laundry facilities, which are great machines. Jan and Jennifer go out of there way to make you stay as fabulous as they can and are extremely helpful and pleasant.

We took advantage of the free all day boat rental that came with our reservation. Jan told us some great spots to go to. The boat was in great shape, clean and lots of fun. If you do this, you have to go see Picnic Island!

We spent our days visiting Key West, Dolphin Research Center, Bahia Honda State Park, and Sombrero Beach. One day, we decided to just hang out at Dolphin Creek. It was so warm and relaxing. They have nice beach chairs and the scenery is spectacular.

If you are looking for a luxury resort, then the reviews are right....this is not the place for you. If you want someplace quiet, clean, friendly and in an ideal location for the lower keys, then be sure to visit them. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: While all of the Reef Cottages have their own patio and chairs/table, Reef 3 is right in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

A friend and I were traveling together and needed a place to stay close to Key West, and we both knew we wanted to stay somewhere unique, on the water, and quiet. Quiet is hard to find in Key West! This place fit the bill perfectly! I stayed in one of the Reef Cottages and my friend stayed in one of the Hibiscus Cottages. There is no daily maid service, which was fine by me. I prefer to stay in self-help properties. You can exchange your towels daily at the main office if desired. (Many resorts and hotels nowadays are trying to be more eco-friendly and encourage you to reuse your towels, so I don't normally request new towels daily when I travel, anyway.) The office is only open until about 5:30pm and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs, because we were (unfortunately) gone from the resort most of the day attending a conference. The resort is tucked away in a quiet area and has a small, working marina. There are multiple areas where you can sit and relax outdoors around the property, including a well lit chickee hut with comfortable sofas and chairs, where we relaxed each night. It was fun to see the boats going in and out of the marina, especially at night. My room was extremely clean and nicely decorated in a tropical decor. I had a well equipped kitchenette with dishes, silverware and pots and pans. The kitchenette had large floor to ceiling windows (with blinds that could be closed at night) which made me feel like I was outdoors. The room had a separate sleeping area. I felt right at home! In terms of restaurants/bars nearby, Parrotdise is located right across the Overseas Highway, and Boondocks is located about a mile south of the resort, also on the Overseas Highway. The famous No Name Pub is close by in Big Pine Key (north on the Overseas Highway), and you can catch a glimpse of the Key Deer. We went to Boondocks one night for dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere and live music. If you want to visit the very exclusive Little Palm Island for a meal, or their fabulous Sunday Brunch, the Welcome Center/boat launch for Little Palm Island is located next to the resort. We had reservations for Sunday Brunch on Little Palm Island, and just walked next door to the Welcome Center. I was sad to leave and hope to return to Dolphin Marina Resort soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The units at Dolphin Marina do appear a little run down from the outside, however, this is only cosmetic and the inside of our unit was very well appointed, spacious and clean.

Reception was open during the day and the staff were happy to fulfill any requests.

Bathroom toiletries and kitchen detergents were plentiful.

We had a full kitchen, a screened deck area, a lounge area with an average sized television, two bedrooms and a bathroom with bath tub / overhead shower. New air conditioning units had recently been installed and proved very effective.

Please bear in mind that this is a working marina, the units do not have double glazing and are situated throughout the car park which is in regular use. We did get some traffic noise from US1 as well as the car park, this started as early as 5am.

There is no wifi available here.

Dolphin Marina is handily situated for trips into Key West, the National Deer Refuge and the most informative trip to Pigeon Key.

Overall this accommodation was good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Marina & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Marina & Cottages

Address: 28530 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Little Torch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Marina & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider Dolphin Marina and Cottages your home while fishing, boating or diving in the Florida Keys. You are sure to catch the time of your life at this Lower Keys lodging and fishing venue. Located at mile marker 28.5 On the picturesque Overseas Highway, Dolphin Marina and Cottages is close to Key West, just south of Big Pine Key and is the gateway to the picturesque Little Palm Island and Looe Key National Marine Sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Dolphin Marina & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Marina Hotel Little Torch Key
Dolphin Marina & Cottages Little Torch Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Marina & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.