We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but not happy w/ food/value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Palm Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Little Palm Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   28500 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 resort credit
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but not happy w/ food/value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife were looking for a nice secluded beach getaway and we decided on Little Palm due to how easy it was to get to as opposed to somewhere in the Caribbean. I must admit, after booking our plans I was nervous about going after reading reviews. Particularly, we wanted a beach vacation and we did not realize there is no swimming beach on the property to speak of (apparently common in the Keys). However, it ended not being an issue. We enjoyed our lazy days lounging on the beach, plus the pool is essentially beachside and we enjoyed it immensely. If you are looking for an exclusive, quiet getaway this place fits the bill. Yes, it is expensive but what I am learning as I stay at more properties in this price point is that you are paying for lack of lot of guests. We stayed in a Romance Suite (#20) and we have no complaints. Some of the best sleep of my life. The staff was as you would expect them to be: superb. Overall, it was an extremely relaxing trip. The only complaint I have is that I thought the food was not the best value for a resort like this.....The food is expensive and I am okay with that if I feel like the quality is excellent. For instance, the last night my wife and I decided to order steak (NY Strip). It was obvious that the steaks had been frozen. We sent them back once and they came back the same. That meal w/ minimum alcohol was $377. They should just not offer it if the quality is this bad. For 4 nights we spent well over $2000.00 on food and again w/ minimal alcohol consumption. We ordered room service one night and for 2 soups (broccoli and cheddar), 2 salads, shrimp cocktail and 1 key lime pie was $142.00. Again, I hate to complain because the property is a great property but the value for the food is not a strong point. To be sure, we had some great meals: Lobster risotto, short ribs, desserts, etc. The Sunday brunch was good as well. So, we are a house divided: I am not sure I would recommend this place to someone BUT my wife is sure she would. Over the property was just what we wanted: Quiet and exclusive.

Room Tip: We stayed in a romance island suite (#20) and it was quiet and roomy with lots of outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed our Romantic Suites and had the best sleep of your life! We also appreciate your feedback and will pass it along to management. We hope you will have another vacation with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    56
    35
    27
    15
See reviews for
13
414
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Been here many times and while it certainly is expensive, once you arrive on the island you are transported to paradise. This is truly a resort like no other. The new chef did not disappoint, the food was delicious. Loved the concept of a tasting menu- enables you to taste many items. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing. We’re delighted to know that you had an incredible stay at our resort once again. We truly value our loyal customers and we’re happy to read that we exceed your expectations every time. We can’t wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently spent 5 days here for our honeymoon in June of 2013. The island is fantastic, beautiful water and nice but small beach. The pool was a great place to cool off after laying on the beach or paddling around the flats. Our room was gorgeous, as were all the buildings on the island. Super easy and efficient check in, just show up and they whisk you away to the island. Nothing to worry about, no schedule to follow, no place to be, just moving from the beach to the pool to the beach to the bar... Can't beat the relaxation we found here. We loved paddling around the island also, I liked the stand up paddleboards but we took the kayaks out once or twice too.

However, as beautiful and relaxing as it was, we felt they fell a little short on service. For the price, we just expected more. Of the three full days we were there, we had to ask for our room to be serviced on two of them. The mini bar, with complementary non-alcholic drinks, was stocked maybe twice, once at our request. Food and drinks were great, but pricey. Portion sizes were overwhelming, especially since you can't exactly get a take home bag. Servings were easily enough for three people each. The dinner menu was confusing, it only shows the tasting menu, and the staff seemed reluctant to tell you that you can order individual items from the tasting menu. I really wish their inclusive package was reasonable, even the staff told us it wasn't when we inquired about it, especially since it doesn't include drinks. Quite frankly, we would have preferred to order dinner of the lunch menu at the pool bar. That said, all the staff we met while we were there were exceptionally nice and friendly. All seemed to enjoy working there.

I'd look into anothe roption before we went back here, which is a shame because the facilities are amazing, and the scene was so relaxing. It was just what we needed to unwind after our wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such an extensive review of your time on our property. We are glad you and your wife were able to enjoy your honeymoon on our island. We apologize that our service did not meet your expectations and we will work hard to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. We hope you will come back with your wife again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Little Palm Island back in 1988 just after they opened and loved it so during our recent trip to the Keys we decided to stop and have lunch. You need to make a reservation because a boat takes you out there only at specified times and guys need to wear a collared shirt. It was a beautiful day and lunch was absolutely fantastic. I would highly recommend eating here and staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that after 25 years you still have such fond memories of your trip to our island. It’s wonderful that you were able to return, even if it was only for lunch. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although we only made the trip to LPI for an extended brunch, it was incredible. The crab legs were so big and the French toast.... To die for! The buffet is like an foodies fantasy and we were in HEAVEN. We were treated so well by Gabby and Lauren and can't wait to come back for a longer stay!

Although we didn't catch her name, we met an awesome woman who seemed to be in upper management. Younger, blonde. She absolutely did not have to stop on her way (to wherever she was going), but she really took to time to meet the guests of her property. Kudos to you, younger blonde!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear that you were able to have a heavenly time on our island, even though you were only there for brunch. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your review! We hope that you will return for a more extended stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend Paul is currently working on a project at LPI and suggested we come visit to experience luxury at its finest. The service blew me away from the minute we stepped off the dock onto the island. The fireplace and tiki torches lit up at night on the beach is a nice touch. You really feel like you are on your own private island. We really enjoyed the food and really got a chance to unwind. I wish it was closer so I could come more often! If you are into diving, the diving is spectacular around LPI.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you found your personal paradise on our island! Our staff is there to make you as comfortable as possible so we are glad to hear that they did just that. We can’t wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

just show up with a collared shirt if your a guy, or you will get stuck buying one in the gift shop on shore. But excellent afternoon eating out on a veranda there. Very gentile, and special place, walk the private beach after lunch. Never stayed there, but have family that has and they loved it. Worth the time and effort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are glad to hear you were able to stop by for the afternoon and that you felt your experience, short as it was, was excellent! We hope next time you will join your family and stay with us longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Little Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Palm Island Resort & Spa

Address: 28500 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Torch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Little Palm Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Palm Island has been the escape of choice for presidents, high profile celebrities and savvy travelers alike. The magic of this island is its exclusive location where a captivating view exists in every direction. All Bungalow Suite are housed in thatched roof bungalows, with custom-made beds so plush some guests never want to leave; outdoor showers and all the requisite luxe amenities. There are no telephones or televisions, or guests under the age of 16 - the only distractions are the outdoors and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Little Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Palm Island Resort And Spa
Little Palm Island Hotel Little Torch Key
Little Palm Island Fl
Hotel Little Palm Island
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa Little Torch Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.