We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Palm Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Little Palm Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   28500 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 resort credit
nc
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Little Palm Island Resort In January. We had decided to treat each other with a mini-vacation for just the two of us as our Christmas present to each other. We could not have picked a better place! Neither of us had ever been to the Florida Keys but we picked it due to the average January temperatures, east coast US location and reviews on Trip Advisor. We flew into Key West International airport (which is tiny!) and our driver was waiting on us(round trip driver service cost 250 which is a bit expensive but we had no need for a rental car other than the thirty to forty minute trip to the ferry.) We were greeted at a little welcome area that had a gift shop, bathrooms, sitting area and outdoor dock. The boats on the mainland leave on the half hour and we had an enjoyable trip to the lush and private island of Little Palm Island Resort.
Pros:
1.The food is exceptional. We had one meal that was okay (cobb salad and a ceasar salad) but the rest of the meals were THE BEST WE HAVE EVER EATEN. We were shocked! gazpacho, braised short ribs, creamy cauliflower, omelets, burgers, lettuce wraps, asparagus gratin...simple foods which were transformed into something not so simple. I would recommend going over for the day if you live in the area just to eat at the restaurant.
2. Attentive staff...they were attentive without being obtrusive. I can't think of a single instance where our service was lacking. I would love to know the ratio of staff people to guests. It has to be high. We had friendly, highly competent service at the beach, bar, restaurant, spa, transportation and housekeeping.
3. Location.. the secluded, private nature of the island is a definite plus in my book.
We do not want to see or be seen when we are on vacation. We enjoy quiet, elegant surroundings without hustle or bustle. There are only THIRTY VILLAS on the island so we often felt we had the island to ourselves.
4. Size of the accommodations... The villa has a large bedroom with king size bed, adequate bath with outdoor shower and large sitting area. There are no TVs in the rooms.
5.Water toys are available without extra charge: kayaks, paddle boards etc ..we enjoyed paddle boarding around the 5 acre property.

Cons: There are very few cons but....
1. It is very expensive (both the accommodations, food and spa ...truthfully though I do not know how they provide all of the services that they do for just thirty villas). I would say yes it is expensive, but, yes you can see the value.
2. When we received the final bill on check out, there was one discrepancy that I noted. I called the front desk and left a voice mail and have yet to hear back from them. I trust it will be resolved shortly.
All in all, we loved it and are hoping to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear buttercup16,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful and detailed review. We could not be happier that you enjoyed so many aspects of your trip, including the great food, privacy, and location. We hope to have you and your husband back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    49
    33
    27
    15
See reviews for
13
376
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

In 2010 my wife and I spent Thanksgiving on Little Palm Island. We enjoyed our visit enough to want to come back the following year, if we could get the same room (the only one on the island we liked). So prior to leaving, on November 29, 2010 we reserved our $1100 per night suite for Thanksgiving (Nov 23-26, 2011). To hold the reservation we paid a non-refundable $2200 deposit.

On November 14, 2011, that is, 9 days prior to our arrival, the hotel notified us that our reserved suite was going to be renovated during the time of our stay and it would not be available. A week before one of the busiest holidays, a resort with which we’ve had a reservation for a year told us we had nothing, giving us no time to make alternative plans for the holiday. Our long-standing reservation and deposit meant nothing.

I have a difficult time imagining anything dumber or more ridiculous than to plan a room renovation over a major holiday and not informing the in-coming guests of that little fact until 9 days prior to arrival. Not very smart management. Worse, in my communications with the resort, I never got any assurance that such a thing could not happen again. In fact the opposite is true: the resort managers did not plan to change any procedures in light of this fiasco. For them it is business as usual. That means this could happen to you. We have been treated better and with more respect in hotels charging a fraction of the nightly cost at Little Palm. There are plenty of great resorts with excellent service; go to one that has a strong reputation for customer service. Little Palm Island markets itself as a luxury destination; they have proven themselves unworthy of catering to this market.

My strong recommendation is to avoid this resort at all costs. My wife and I will certainly never return. How could we? We could never be confident that our reservation was anything other than a joke to management there. You could be the next victim.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Jeff S,

We thank you for taking your time to write us this review. We apologize that your reservation request was interrupted by this untimely renovation. We assure you that your deposit and reservation meant a great deal to us, and we would like to extend an apology for making you feel otherwise. We can only reiterate that important renovations had to be conducted and we hope you choose to stay with us again, knowing we will do what we can to make up for your unfortunate experience. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My hsuband and I got a great deal on jetsetter.com. It was still expensive, but fabulous. I loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear barryjparker,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We were so excited to read that you loved every minute you spent with us. We hope to see you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Phemomenal service and great food and amenities make this expensive getaway well worth it. The island is so private and the service is so personal that you feel like royalty. We spent 3 days as guests and will return again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Russ M,

Thank you for writing us a review! We are touched by your kinds words. We're glad the food, service, and amenities were to your liking. We can't wait until your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 days in Key West and then 2 days on Little Palm Island over Thanksgiving weekend. This is a great strategy in that we had 2 days to rest and relax after all the hoopla on Key West.

We had a wonderful experience on Little Palm Island. The resort/island is very romantic and very quiet. It felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time. There are lounge chairs and hammocks scattered all about the island and it is very easy to find a quiet secluded spot to relax or to get some sun.

I read some negative comments posted about Lillte Palm before our trip but fortunately our experience was exactly the opposite. Our room was very clean and well kept. There was no odor as reported by some people. And the service was very good. All of the staff was very friendly to us. The place was absolutely exquisite.

The only downside to our visit was the no-see-ums. So long as a breeze is blowing, they were no problem. However, the breeze died down the last evening, my wife was wearing shorts and she got chewed alive. Three days later, she has dozens of bites all over her legs. Since I was wearing long pants, I only have a couple of bites on my arms. My suggestion is, if the no-see-ums are out, either wear long sleeves/pants or put on deet, or both. If you start getting bitten, move to a breezy section of the beach or move indoors. Don't tough it out.

Some highlights of our trip; sunset dinners on the beach, the whole luxurious experience of the resort, the exisite suite and dining area, petting the Key Deer, kayaking around the island, feeding the Tarpin, resting/relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 8 which is next to the quarterdeck (a large housekeeping area). We have no compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear MidwestAlpinist,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so happy you found your stay to be quiet and relaxing. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the sunset dinners, Key Deer, and overall resort experience. We hope to see you again soon for another restful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Possibly the most romantic resort we have been to. Many places are romantic and offer great scenery, etc. (think Rome, Hawaii) but this is like being shipwrecked on a tropical island with a full staff to wait on you. Their motto is "Do Nothing" and you can do exactly that. Sit on the groomed beach, by the lush pool area, secluded spot with hammocks or double lounge chairs, No cell phones, or other distractions. The food was terrific with a different menu every night. Eat dinner by the water. Watch the sunset over the horizon. Sit by the fire pit. I will caution you, you should take someone that you really, really like. You will be spending the entire time with them. If you are on a honeymoon or are reconnecting with your spouse, this is the place.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the Concierge hut as it seems to get people coming and going here but the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPI-noblehouse, Public Relations Manager at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear DeadEyeACE,

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review! We are ecstatic that you had such a romantic and relaxing experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the scenery, food, and pool area. We hope to have you back for another romantic retreat at the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke pines, fl
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I was invited to the spa for a very expensive margarita mani-pedi, the person was pleasant but the manicure and pedicure were terrible. I came home to have a real mani-pedi plus the margaritas were not served in a proper glass as shown on the advertising, instead they gave me a hard plastic cup with a yellowish piece of lime. we were promissed a tour, that never happenned. I did not enjoyed the experience may be I need to stary the night to have the great service everyone else writes about.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmarkey_LPI, Management Representative at Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Rina R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience at the spa. We take pride in our remarkable spa services, and it is very unfortunate that you did not receive the amazing service we are known for. We hope this does not deter you from coming back to stay with us for the true Little Palm Island experience. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Palm Island Resort & Spa

Address: 28500 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Torch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Little Palm Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Palm Island has been the escape of choice for presidents, high profile celebrities and savvy travelers alike. The magic of this island is its exclusive location where a captivating view exists in every direction. All Bungalow Suite are housed in thatched roof bungalows, with custom-made beds so plush some guests never want to leave; outdoor showers and all the requisite luxe amenities. There are no telephones or televisions, or guests under the age of 16 - the only distractions are the outdoors and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Little Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Palm Island Resort And Spa
Little Palm Island Hotel Little Torch Key
Little Palm Island Fl
Hotel Little Palm Island
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa Little Torch Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.