We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft shell crab, yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafood World Market & Restaurant

Seafood World Market & Restaurant
4602 N Federal Hwy, Lighthouse Point, FL 33064-6511
(954) 942-0740
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
SANIBEL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Soft shell crab, yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch, we both ordered Soft Shell Crab Sandwich and Clam Chowder. The service was good and waitress delightful. Our crab was nicely cleaned and fried. (Not all places know how to clean a soft shell crab). The Clam Chowder had Clams in every bite and it tasted good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A tucked away Hideaway!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stumbled on this place and it is great!!! Not large, but homey and friendly. The freshest fish. It is a market and restaurant . Good bread and crackers. My husband and I shared the hognose snapper. It comes in fresh from the Keys and is wonderful. A little eggwash batter and good to go!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best seafood in South Fl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Seafood world has the freshest, most delicious seafood, me and my family go at least once a week. You must try the Tom Greene’s Blackened Trio, it is out of this world.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unreasonable price for average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We are very upset today to have tried to go to that restaurant. We would never come back. We have ordered a soup and a main course each ( a snapper and crab) with a very low wine the cheaper. At the end they come with a bill of 120 $ for only two people. This is the highest bill we had those days and unfortunately for the worse food we had. I definetely don't suggest to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS, IN FRESH INGREDIENTS, MEALS, AND SERVICE...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

i have been around the world, several times, and
consumed meals in hundreds of restaurants...without
doubt, SEAFOOD WORLD in LIGHTHOUSE POINT,
FLORIDA, is right there, at the top of the list.
numbers don't lie!!! the average restaurant has
a life of FIVE YEARS... just from my own memory, i
can recall 'papa hughie' the owner, and his restau-
rant, as a well-established and popular entity, all the
way back in the 1970's. it's probably been longer.
what's more...some of the same employees have
been with him since then!!! this is quite a founda-
tion...and we haven't even gotten to the food.
you enter the restaurant through the retail sea-
food part of the business. this of course, gives you
a great advantage over most restaurant goers...you
can 'scope-out' the delicacies in the beautifully dis-
played cases, before you place your order back in
the restaurant. no flying blind here, like in most
spots.
i fished the waters of the florida straits here for
many years, and cleaned thousands of fish. so, i
can spot something that's not fresh, or, that's not
what they label it as--you'll NEVER see anything
in seafood worlds cases that isn't a perfect product,
or, that's been misidentified. that's a common ploy
in seafood restaurants these days. this IS the
first-class section--and there is no 'coach' here.
service is efficient, carried out by friendly, and
knowledgeable servers...and food, is cooked to
perfection...never overdone, the common killer of
a good seafood meal.
the overall theme here is 'bahamian,' so you'll
also find conch, and other island goodies...and it's
prepared by bahamian staff...seafood veterans.
now...if you're looking for something cheap...
this is not your place. on the other hand, to get
something this good...it shouldn't be 'cheap.' sea-
food world offers VALUE!!! you just won't go
wrong eating a meal here...and if you happen to
be on vacation, you'll end up with a story to take
home with you.

NOTE: with reference to the 'special occasions'
question below... the storefront next to seafood
world is now vacant, after being a thai restaurant
for many years. it is going to become an exten-
sion of the restaurant, and will be available for
special events, weddings, and the like. there is
also a dedicated 'raw bar' being added.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood World Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
Lighthouse Point, FL
Lighthouse Point, FL
 

Been to Seafood World Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafood World Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.