We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise in Sleepy Citrus County” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty Duck Restaurant

Rusty Duck Restaurant
2924 W Gulf To Lake Hwy, Lecanto, FL 34461-9206
352-746-6691
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Lecanto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
BeccaSmith_79
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in Sleepy Citrus County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Rusty Duck. The prices were a little higher than we are used to for the area, but the food was good and service was impeccable. The restaurant is small, so make sure you get a reservation! I was hesitant after reading reviews of the dingy interior, but while it wasn't overly impressive, it wasn't bad either. The duck was done well, although I would have liked to see better descriptions of the flavors on the menu. Sticky Duck was BBQ duck. It was still tasty none the less. I would skip the cheese crock and duck fingers, but the brie was awesome and the desserts were great as well. We would go back for another special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    8
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Seafood & Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The prime rib served at the Rusty Duck is about 32 oz and 3" thick. I didn't have it but 2 in my party did and they loved it. To order prime rib, you have to make reservations in advance - unsure how far, but we had them a week or more ahead. Reservations (2 seatings in evening) are required well in advance. Although not fresh (of course), the salmon in dill sauce was delicious. My stuffed shrimp was good but not delicious; I think the stuffing could've used some onion or something - I knew ahead of time it was stuffed with tiny shrimp and fake crab so I should've known it wouldn't be the very best because of lack of real crab. Another member of our party had coquilles, a scallop dish kind of like a potpie. He thought it was wonderful. They don't serve alcoholic beverages, but we could bring our own wine and the decanting fee is nominal. Most dishes we chose were in $16 range including soup, salad and potato or rice. I can't remember prime rib price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First visit, not our last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Small easy-to-miss restaurant. The food is amazing. Service was perfect. I had the seafood pasta. The seafood was fresh, perfectly cooked and so delicious. My husband had the shrimp alfredo. It was also very good. Portions are large. We did not have room for dessert. We tried to go back the following week since it was so good but we couldn't get a reservation. Be sure to call ahead. From the outside, you'd never think it is as good as it is. Don't be fooled by the appearance of the exterior.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Been going to The Rusty Duck for a number of years. Always a good experience. Every time we go, we try something different. Our friends like it as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Amazing experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been the Rusty Duck several times and each time it is the same experience. A wonderful dining experience. Don't let the outside of the building fool you. A must do dining experience.

BWB in Homosassa

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Duck Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rusty Duck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty Duck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.