We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Sea Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A Sea Garden Resort to your Saves list
A Sea Garden Resort
4625 Ocean Drive (A1A), Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
MaywoodTender
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would Return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The owners are fabulous! On St. Patrick's Day they hosted a BBQ for all their guests, just BYOB. They made pasta, chicken, salad, sausage and more! Very hospital.
The hotel is a very short walk to the beach and many restaurants, shops and grocery store and CVS!
Nice sized heated built in pool too!
Very affordable rates and I would most definitely stay again!
Thank you Gino and Margerite for a truly relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaywoodTender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stay at a sea garden when ever I visit florida..love the location , rooms are great , clean and very close to the beach. The hotel owner Gino and his wife make you feel welcome and will go out of their way make your stay as comfortable as possible......wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Great rates rooms and very nice people...Try it ...you'll like it !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The grounds are very nice! Parking is a bit tight though and I was worried my car would get dinged by another car. Location is outstanding! Close to town and the beach. On to the room. The door lock was loose, scuffs on the walls, beat-up floor, lumpy pillow/mattress, stains on sheets and towels, power cords running everywhere, and I don't think the fridge worked. most of the stuff did smell clean but after using the same things for probably 20 years, they are going to become weathered. I would not stay here again in season, nor would I recommend it to anyone but a budget traveler. I am not sure if other rooms have seen more love, but the one I stayed in had not. If the owners renovate these rooms, this place would be great! Do not think they have seen a make-over since the 80s.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 341ChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
345 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed a night at this place when my motel across the street had a problem with the room. I had a nice little room with its own kitchenette, complete with full sized fridge, stove and coffee maker. Slept well. It was quiet despite being on the first floor (though in the back of the pool.) The pool is heated and pleasant. Beach is not far away (this is on A1A.) Shopping center with groceries, etc. only a block away. Cable TV in the room. Overall, very well situated and no complaints whatsoever. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: This is on the main north-south road along the coast so best to get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decoamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Good location, clean, comfortable beds at a good price. Stayed one in route to Bahamas. Nice staff.
This is an older style motel, with exterior doors. Would have liked a better lock on the door, but did not experience any problems.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our family of seven enjoyed this hotel immensely, we rented the one bedroom apartment and two hotel rooms. Perfect location for groceries, shopping, restaurants and beach. The pier is also nearby for early morning fishing. The hotel had everything we needed.

Room Tip: If you need a kitchen, the apartments are perfect. Everything you could need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. Another of dozens in a long list of tourist 'attractions' in Florida.

The town is small, quaint and has a great feel. But as the USSR was once described by a Soviet leader:

It's all painted rust. It looks pretty until you look closely

Sea Garden Resort is maybe a step up from other motels in the area just because the owners are also the managers - so they are not robots. If you ask, you can negotiate a decent deal whereas the other motels in the area are run by random employees.

The hotel/motels in this town were built in the 50s/60s/70s and have not been renovated. Some on the Ocean have been updated, but only because hurricanes tore the buildings down.

The point is, this town is 'quaint' because its buildings are old. Dingy. Dirty.

There is *no* incentive for any of these business owners to update their properties, because every other one in the area isn't updated either.

Also, Canadians come down from November through March/April. They pay Manhattan prices ($3000.00+ per month) for these studio or 1 bed rooms. This is an additional incentive for these businesses to not upgrade...they know that no matter how bad the rooms are, the Canadians will head down in droves...willing to pay premium prices for what would be a ghetto in other parts of America.

Conclusion: The Sea Garden Motel is perhaps a step up from the other 3 or 4 dozen motels in the area, only because it's run by the owners. With that being said, decide if LBTS (abbreviation for this town) is where you want to be.

ALSO**** - BE CAREFUL in this area...just like every other sea-side town in Florida, there are felons hiding out in cheap motels...You'll see a well dressed group of people and their set of nice cars on one side of the street, and the other side will include questionable people with tattoos across their faces. Looking for ways to loosen the wallets of anyone.

You've been warned .

Room Tip: Call and talk to the owners, they are personable. If they have a room available, you may be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firewall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Harbor Inn
Dolphin Harbor Inn
#29 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#10 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#15 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#18 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sea Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sea Garden Resort

Address: 4625 Ocean Drive (A1A), Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Sea Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Sea Garden Hotel
A Sea Garden Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing